Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 89 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.1

Gautam S. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Wonderful stay, helpful staff, great location
Staff, Location, ambiance
2 ladies with two children stayed for 2 nights in 2 rooms and it was a wonderful experience. The staff went out of their way to make the experience a memorable one. The rooms were very comfortable and the location was perfect. Will recommend this strongly to anyone going on work or pleasure to Cochin/ Fort Kochi.
Reviewed January 30, 2015

Natalia M. from Belarus
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
Charming place with the wonderful view
Very charming old house, with beautiful sea view, very nice personnel
It's a charming place, very good location, the only hotel in town with such a wonderful sea view. personnel was very supportive, friendly. The room is beautiful, with very nice furniture, very nicely decorated. Highly recommended.
Reviewed October 07, 2014

Krishnan R. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Mozzi Holiday
The rooms ,the locatin and
This hotel has the charms of a foregone era.However lots of effort must be made to wipe out the mosquito infested area. After 6pm....you cannot sit outside in the open .Some insect repellent application helps but the buzzing doesn't stop
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Christine K. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in July 2014
Enjoyed Kerala ver much indeed
Location, character of old house, near to centre.
The location by the beach was lovely, however this lovely old house is now looking tired. The paintwork needs refreshing particularly upstairs. The pool area although clean looked shabby and the lounges were old and dirty and the pool bar was in disrepair. The blind was broken in our room adding to the feeling of neglect. The staff although friendly lacked any management and constantly needed to be reminded to replace toilet rolls, tissues etc. The reception staff also friendly , but we're unable to be able to obtain taxis in the evenings or didn't have any contacts. The table cloths in the dining room were sometimes dirty, so put us off eating there and linen from previous functions was not cleared for several days. Dirty linen was piled high in full view of the entrance area to the garden/pool area. We dined at the Braydon Boatyard hotel and although not much more expensive this was of a much better standard which we would have expected from the Old Lighthouse as this was a similar building.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Katie M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
colonial feel
the decor, the bed, the location
Lots of attention has been given to the decor and feel of the hotel. It has a colonial feel with lots of Keralan antiques in the rooms and around the hotel itself. The rooms are lovely and the beds are big and some of the best we had in India. Only problem is that it can be a little noisey at night if u are in the rooms downstairs but otherwise a fantastic hotel.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Linda D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Relaxing and convenient
The swimming pool, the ambience, the complimentary foot massage
We loved our room, it was close to being the most beautiful hotel room we've stayed in. The staff were good and it was lovely to get a free foot massage in the on site spa. The open air dining area facing the ocean is beautiful (just don't stay in a room above as it is a bit noisy). Unfortunately the air conditioning maintenance is not up to scratch ( we were warned before our stay). In the first room they gave us, we settled in for the night with the air con blasting away. After a while I noticed water on the floor and discovered it was from the air con and the water had poured in to my suitcase, saturating all of my clothes. We were moved to another room ( me in my nightie because it was the only thing not wet) at 10 o' clock at night. Another beautiful room but towards the end of our stay 2 days later, the air con in that room starting leaking as well. Such a shame because so much trouble has gone into the interior design of the rooms. Apparently because it faces the sea the operation of the conditioners is affected by the sea air and should be flushed out with fresh water regularly and it isn't being done. (Or so we were told). The swimming pool was lovely and such a blissful relief from the heat.
Reviewed March 06, 2014

Da J. from South Korea
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
A beautiful hotel
Location, Hotel interior and quiet ambience
The hotel is beautiful and located just in front of a beach. The breakfast is little bit poor, which was served by order. Also, its spa looks very small.
Reviewed March 06, 2014

Amy M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great location and friendly staff
location, garden, friendly staff
My stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. I was on my own and the staff really looked after me. The hotel was right next to the beach and had a lovely garden and pool.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Monica S. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
Excellent hotel. Would highly recommend.
Comfortable. Clean. Attentive staff.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Kiran A. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
calm, relaxing
Quiet, close to ocean, close to tourist center but far enough away
We stayed at Old Bristow Lighthouse for 4 days . The room was large and comfortable with nice amenities (desk, mini fridge, kettle).But the plugs were in odd locations so not so convenient to use the desk. The windows in the room faced the front (they are called "garden view" but there isn't much of a garden). Still it was nice and would have been better if the windows had mosquito netting on it. As it was we could not keep the windows open or really appreciate the lovely ocean breeze as there were no windows on the ocean side. The bathroom is large also with lots of amenities (toiletries including toothbrush and paste). But several things were missing (the belt to the bathroom) or broken (the soap dispenser pump), and so one had to ask for them from the hotel staff. The latter were happy to oblige but my spouse says the hotel is a kind of "you have to ask for it" kind of place. The sofas and tables in the area overlooking the ocean were a lovely place to sit. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would stay there again if we returned to Fort Kochi. The hotel needs a little more TLC and perhaps some better management of space so that one does not have to see the house keeping areas at all times. But then I think the hotel rates would go up.
Reviewed January 12, 2014