arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 293 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.7
  • Service 6.2
  • Value for Money 6.2
  • Food/Dining 6.4

Sunita A.
Cameroon
March 08, 2014
very uncomfortable, old beddings , mould on the wa
its location, breakfst was good
my stay was very uncomfortable, very old beddings on the bed,the room was dirty, mould on the walls,the shower was blocked.it didn't look to me like a hotel. I was deceived by the beautiful pictures I saw online,but on reaching there it was something else.

Peter G.
Australia
March 03, 2014
comfortable and much better than expected
location, comfortable bed, helpful staff
Having read mixed reviews of Sea Palace I was expecting very little. In fact, the hotel is very pleasant and, in my opinion, underrated. I was given an upgrade to a sea-facing room on my first night, and enjoyed the view and people-watching on the esplanade so much that I elected to pay more and keep the room for my ten nights here during the Kala Ghoda festival. The room had evidently been partly renovated, and bed was comfortable, bathroom acceptable, size of room bigger than expected, and position surprisingly quiet (the aircon noise at night probably blocked much of the sound). Other guests were friendly and I met several people over breakfast, which is available either in the dining room or on the small shaded garden terrace. Breakfast is basic but quite adequate, with different dishes on offer most days. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Zahidhussein A.
Kenya
March 03, 2014
Very nice and comfortable
God location, comfortable room and and good transport
The hotel was in a good location and rooms were comfortable with good breakfast and a good in house restaurant. The added attraction of the sea frontage certainly added to the plus point of this hotel. The only thing that was a bit on the negative side was the cleaning of the rooms which should be inproved. Our stay was for 8 nights and as such we ere quite pleased with the overall quality of staff etc.

sanmugaselvi R.
Malaysia
February 23, 2014
bad service ... need to look up at the cleaneness
beach
i would stay in this hotel again. services is very very bad . the staff are not very helpful... room is bad condition... tv is not working if there is card systems they should let us know about it. overall bad expreance

FLORENCE D.
France
February 05, 2014
Well placed hotel, in front of the ocean
Room with a view of the sea spacious, clean. Nice welcome

Andrew M.
United Kingdom
February 04, 2014
Dirty hotel in an excellent location
Central location, nice rooftop bar
You cannot fault the location of this hotel on the waterfront next to the Gate to India. Hotel itself is aged, rooms are basic and not very clean. Nice rooftop bar.

Vera M.
Australia
January 26, 2014
Excellent location. Good value for money.
As above and good standard bathrooms.
Our stay was pleasant, location is excellent being a walking distance to a number of major sites and restaurants.

Simone W.
Germany
January 24, 2014
good location but disappointing hotel
location, rooftop bar, seaview
good: location, seaview, nice rooftop bar, good bathroom bad: grumpy unhelpful staff, dirty cutlery, pigeons living in air condition making noise and dirt, strong food smell in room

Malcolm R.
Australia
January 24, 2014
Would consider staying again
Right next to Gateway of India, Great ocean view, Tasty restaurant menu
Sea Palace is not a 5 star hotel, but it never claimed to be, so don't expect gaming rooms and gyms etc. For a mid-range hotel it represents excellent value. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We were staying on the sea facing side, so had a lovely view as the sun rose each morning. Air-con worked fine and all basic necessities were provided. We did not have any issues with mosquitoes or any other insects. The highlight of the hotel was probably the restaurant downstairs. The food is slightly more expensive compared with eating outside, but every dish we ordered was VERY tasty and the prices are within reason. Buffet breakfast was different each day, and there was enough variety to keep my wife and I happy. They also have a rooftop bar, where we sat to watch the new years fireworks at Gateway of India. We stayed there in January 2014 and they were renovating probably half of the rooms in the whole hotel, so should be some updated rooms for anyone staying there in the near future.

Philip H.
United Kingdom
January 20, 2014
The position was ideal for enjoying old Mumbai
sea view, close to Colaba, the grandure of Mumbai
Very pleasant. We also found the staff friendly and helpful.