Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 75 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.2
  • Service 5.8
  • Value for Money 5.5
  • Food/Dining 5.8
Sort by

Renee A. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2012
Wonderful service, excellent food and clean.
Great location.
We stayed at Hotel Alka and were most impressed with the staff and the accommodation. We enjoyed our first night in Delhi in the modern hotel bar watching the IPL final. The staff most accommodating for our every request, and there is a great restaurant downstairs.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

PIA E. from Italy
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
good rooms but few light and air in common spaces
very goog position in Delhi
It was all good except for the taxi for the airport which should have been free(we arrived by a taxi paied from us) so while we're going to the airport the hotel manager called the taxi man to tell him we had to pay! Just crazy
Reviewed May 09, 2012

Sugato C. from India
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in April 2012
Awesome Location
Location, Accessiblity to transport and shopping hubs
Its a very pleasent stay, wifi was not working though
Reviewed May 02, 2012

Sugato C. from India
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Great Location @ the heart of the city
Location
rooms are of decent size w.r.t. to room tariff.wifi did'nt work though. i would reccomend this hotel to solo or group travellers. hitel alka is located at the heart of the city in cp, which is a great advantage for a solo traveller like me...
Reviewed May 01, 2012

Paul B. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2012
great location
the hotel was very good great location not far from the very good metro service and made it very easy to get to see the rest of delhi ! hotel good and clean rooms and good food ! the manager was really helpful and helped me with my trip to agra to see the taj mahel i would use this hotel again if i was in delhi a very good base
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Albert B. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Great Location with absurd service
Location, quite good restaurant
Small, dark rooms with no on off or any high low of air conditioner. Service of once upon a time in incredible India, not so smart people. The once so famous restaurant is not so special as it once was but still good. Even if this is a bit of a strange corner, it is still on connaught place which is my favorite area in Delhi. That is also still in rehab but looking very promising. Great for shopping and getting the feel of the English- Indian style.
Reviewed April 08, 2012

Nicky L. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in March 2012
Good location, not too pricey
location
We stayed there for 3 nights in Dehli. It is a good location as it is near Connaught place which is good for shopping. The hotel rooms are small, but nice, and clean. The hotel atrium had a foul smell when you first walked in, I am not sure what it was? Also the hot water in our room too about 10 to 15 mins of running the water full blast before it heated up. This is such a waste of water! And the room service people just told us we had to run it full blast for 15 mins to get hot water, rather than letting us change rooms, which I thought was a bit budget. The buffet breakfast which was included in our stay was nothing special but it was ok.
Reviewed April 07, 2012

Yinan H. from China
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in March 2012
Okay hotel in a perfect location
Location, location, location
There was no free airport pickup. I had to call the hotel upon arrival for one - only to be notified after an hour and a half that it wasn't coming and that I'd best get a prepaid cab myself. I paid for a luxury classic room - i.e., a room with a window. But that wasn't what I got the first night. I had to fight for it the next day. The Internet connection was shaky at best. The staff were okay. The facilities were, well, like they were in 1968 when the hotel opened. At least it was next to a McDonald's.
Reviewed April 05, 2012

Ashish S. from India
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
A budget Hotel in Nice location
Location, Food
It was a comfortable stay overall. The staff and management was polite. Complimentary Indian breakfast was great to relish on.The major problem was air conditioning at the room. We have to constantly call reception to rectify it. But apart from A/C, it was a nice place to stay. Would recommend this place to all.
Reviewed April 05, 2012

Rosie U. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
good location
good location, small but comfortable
good nice small rooms although slightly over priced. great location on P court in the main touristy shopping area. didnt try the food in the vegetarian restaurant below but did try the food in the bar and was pretty bad and over priced. solo women beware of the creepy manager, who hit on me.
Reviewed April 01, 2012