Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 110 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.9
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Jean-Christophe R. from France
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Do not book with agoda
A clean haven in a central location. Wifi.
I have been staying regularly at the Jyoti Mahal for several years. Because of new visa regulations, I had to provide a copy of my hotel booking. Booking directly through the hotel would have been too slow, so I used Agoda whose services we have used in the past in other countries without problems. However, this time I was charged 50% above the published hotel price (over Rs 3,000 instead of Rs 2,000 on the hotel site. I in fact paid Rs 1,800 on my last 2 nights not booked through Agoda). Agoda's lower price guarantee is a lie. I met Agoda’s local agent twice after complaining to the hotel management with no result so far. Also, the hotel doesn’t have a taxi service despite this offer published by Agoda.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

arianne A. from Mexico
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2013
A great place.
great quiet place
Reviewed June 11, 2013

arianne A. from Mexico
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2013
A great place.
clean, quiet and beautiful
excellent
Reviewed June 06, 2013

Mikael B. from Sweden
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Nice middle class hotel, clean and nice
Location, good and affordable restau
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Pascale S. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in March 2013
Always nice to come back to this hotel
Clean rooms
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pascale S. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Great rooftop restaurant with good food.
Some of the rooms are beautifully furnished. The lobby has a collection of fantastic old prints. The rooftop restaurant is worth a visit. The hotel is quite clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.
I booked a double room for the third time in 4 or 5 months. I was glad to see that everything was as nice as I remembered. The old framed prints scattered throughout the 4 floors of the hotel are a delight. The rooms are clean and spatious although only about half the advertised size! Some rooms are more noisy than others, it's always possible to ask to see another room if you're not convinced. Some rooms around the second courtyard at the back are not as well furnished and the entire feel around that back part is not as nice as they are still slowly renovating it. All the beds were comfortab.le and generally quite big, but beware, they're hard (I like that) So why do I go back there? Because of the decor! And the rooftop !!!
Reviewed March 05, 2013

Michael L. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2013
Great Budget Hotel in Expensive Delhi
Unappealing street
Excellent return visit to this wonderful hotel. My taxi at the airport arrived as planned and the room was large, clean and comfortable. The excellent breakfast was served promptly. I look forward to staying here again on my next visit.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

haolu Z. from China
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
beautiful hotel
the decoration
overall decoration is nice, but ask for big window room, our room has very samll window, but quite the aread is very dirty outside, and egg of breakfast was routend... luckily I didn't eat it, then sick for sure!
Reviewed February 04, 2013

D C. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Noisy street, unclean, but friend staff
Staff very friendly
noisy street; dirty area; nasty shower heads. for a westerner, the indian style showers and bathrooms are not welcome. the staff are very friendly and helpful, however. and the value for the money is there; it's not expensive, and it's a place to stay with friendly staff. but i'd rather pay more money for a cleaner and quieter place.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

loretta W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
Hotel Jyoti Mahal,
restauarant has nice view
The JYOTI MAHAL is not like the pictures on the Agoda website! Perhaps 20 years ago it looked great... but not in its current condition. The hotel is run down,neglected & very dirty For this price range this hotel is by far the worst i have EVER stayed in. we booked the double deluxe room...on the booking it was written that it was 75 sq, meters .....but was more like 40 sq meters..maximum after taking our bags to the room the staff realised that the TV wasn't working...the cable was broken...(probably chewed by rats on refection)....it became annoying having people in our room for around 45 mins trying & fix it ... being exhausted after a long journey we just wanted to have a shower & relax i asked reception if we could be moved to another room. which was not a problem.... although the other room was not a double deluxe as i had booked & payed for in advance... we were moved to a much smaller room with a filthy, stained bed cover,& the bathrooms were also absolutely filthy... the filthiest i have had to stay in the restaurant has a great ambiance in the evening ...although the food is expensive with very small servings i was happy i had only booked for one night & couldn't wait to leave. for the past 15 years i have traveled throughout Asia & staying each year for at least 6 months..and stay in many hotels...this hotel is the WORST i would definitely NOT recommend this hotel
Reviewed January 17, 2013


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: