Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 106 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 106 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Matthew A. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Noisy, dirty, cheap, staff looking for a handout
Close to train station, free wifi, rooftop restaurant
The Hotel Lal's Haveli is a hotel confused about what it's trying to be. It would be a fine budget backpacker hotel if they got rid of some of the pomp and staff and instead focused on cleanliness. Or if they fixed the sloped floors, installed nicer lighting (our floor hallway only had light coming from the stairwell and I had to use a flashlight to find my lock), and made the restaurant much nicer they could charge more money and be more of an upscale hotel, but that wouldn't work well in Pahar Ganj. The restaurant was average with well below average ambience at the top of the building. The staff were helpful, but almost in an overtly asking-for-money way. In fact on the way into our tuk-tuk after I carried my own bags the bellhop asked "I may have tip?" I say look elsewhere if staying in Pahar Ganj. There are nicer places for less money in this backpacker's ghetto.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Charles B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
Wonderful service, straight shooters, good locatio
Wonderful Staff
Stayed three times with these folks now, always they are accommodating and helpful, trustworthy. Very highly recommended. The rooms are clean, not large but good size, older building so the floors are not 100% straight lol... but for the price I cannot imagine better in Delhi, will stay with them whenever I'm there!
Reviewed February 16, 2013

ESTELAMARE S. from Brazil
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Staff very friendly! Good super delux room!
Super delux room is far better then the delux room and the difference of price is very low.
first i have booked a delux room but the room was quiet durty and no windows. i spoke with the manager a very gentle and he meved me to a super delux room which was far much better, very with nice hot water! its better to book straight away a super delux room and the diference of prices is very low. i found the owner, the manager and staff very helpful, caring and professional! at the begining i felt unsafe in the area but because the staff are so helpful i trust that nothing will happen with me! they give feee internet that is just beside of the hotel and works very well! i stayed there 2 nigths and if i come again to delhi as solo lady traveler would stay there again!
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Graham O. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
nice Hotel in a not-so-nice area
Accommodations, room service
the hotel is located about 2 kilometers from the nearest metro, which is a plus. the room was nice, staff was helpful and service was very quick. however, the street it is on is loud and dirty. multiple indians warned my wife and i not to be on the street after dark and not, under any circumstance, go down an alley. i stayed here to see what indian culture was all about, and i did learn quickly. food in the area is great, too.
Reviewed January 05, 2013

conor M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Decent Hotel
Price
The hotel itself is decent for what you pay. We had a double bed and hot water. It is in Pahar Ganj, which is fine by us but a bit seedy for some. It is close to the New Delhi Train station, a 5 min walk to the Metro and an easy walk or short tuk-tuk ride to Connaught Place. However, we cannot recommend the hotel.
Reviewed January 03, 2013

Andrew H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good service, interesting location!
Exceptional service!
The service here is excellent. We were picke up at 5in the morning from the airport and they provided a place for us to sleep for the morning til our room was ready for no charge! Food was really good and available any time of day or night. Nawal looked after us so well!! Intense location, very poor and dirty and not close to Connaught place beta real experience of India!
Reviewed January 02, 2013

Steven K. from Ireland
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great service and great location
Service, rooftop resteraunt, location
I will be staying at Lals Havelli next time I am in Delhi for sure. Amazing staff, especially Hawell Kashore. He catered to my every need. The food at the restaurant is excellent and the location is great (about 20 minute walk to New Delhi train station). The rooms are basic, but very adequate and suited my needs. Great hotel and great staff.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sonia A. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2011
Interesting interiors
Right in the hustle and bustle of pahar ganj.
a short rickshaw ride from the ndls station. i think it was 100 rupees, which was fine considering i had a mountain of baggage. complete with the basic amenities - tootbrush, soap, toothpaste. they provide internet at the neighbor internet cafe. the boys would go out of their way to please - help in carrying your bags and even assistance in booking tours, although there would probably be 100 various travel agents outside. the interior was also a very interesting traditional design. a welcome contrast to more modern facilities in the area.
Reviewed December 05, 2012

Cynthia M. from United States
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Decent budget hotel
Friendly staff, clean rooms
This is a decent budget hotel. The rooms are clean and reasonably attractive for rooms in this price range in India. The beds are comfortable and the sheets are clean. The Indian breakfast is good and filling. The staff is friendly and helpful and they will assist you with taxis, tuk-tuks, and tickets. The location is not great...its far from tourist attractions and Old Delhi, but the staff will help you get a taxi.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Rachel C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2012
The essence of New Delhi
Very retro rooms. Long way from the station.
Free airport pick up arrived, only to be troubled for a tip on arrival by the driver. They served us food at 1am and brought us some beer at a high price, even though it wasn't on the menu. We were again pressured by the hotel to book tours and flights through them, which didn't leave a nice impression.
Reviewed September 04, 2012