Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 97 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 97 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.7
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 6.2
Sort by

JING W.
China
October 08, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smi
great lacation
we saw hair on the sheets. so we used our sleep bag. The staff are good and helfful. Room is not perfect but ok for its price. Near the railway station by walking 5 mins.

Richard B.
United States
September 30, 2012
Good value for price
Clean rooms, large bathrooms, sleek upstairs indoor restaurant for breakfast
We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast selections and by the copious breakfast buffet laid out our second day. The staff is large and does its best, but there are occasional coordination problems among its members. Nonetheless, the managers stay on top of things, and they efficiently arranged a very reasonably priced taxi transfer to the Delhi airport. Laundry service was quick and inexpensive. In our eyes, the major drawback of this hotel is that it is on a street that feels very much like chaotic Old Delhi, with folks sleeping in doorways and outdoor cookery next to the entry door. My wife, who has a supersensitive nose, thought the smell of the street was creeping into the room, although I did not notice. Comfortable beds. Overall this is a good base if you will be spending most of your time sightseeing, since a key metro station is very close by.

Frederic L.
France
September 11, 2012
Correct but not exceptional
Not too far from the railway stattion
We booked a standard room in this hotel for our first night in Delhi, arriving by plane from Europe in the night. After a short trip from the airport in a pre-paid taxi, we reached Hotel Shivdev where our room was well ready and registered for three nights, but the welcoming at the reception was quite cold, as though we disturbed. The room, with a window opening on a little back street, was conform as announced, with AC, fridge and kettle. All was clean at the very least, but not too much : the sheets were ok, like the bathroom. If we should reproach something it would be the shower with its (only) cold water leaking all around, and the disgusting "breakfast" served the top roof restaurant. After the firt morning we took the next breakfasts outside not to be ill... This hotel is not the best place to be, but after a six weeks trip in India, and all the hotel we stayed in, Hotel Shivdev doesn't look too bad. Arakhasan road is also a good location, above all you plan to move by train. Just one last word. As I was using the very very slow internet connection in the hall, a rat, coming from the street, crossed the place and disappeared under a door.

Bodrul H.
Canada
September 05, 2012
A cheter and froud hetel. Worst service .
Very dirty . Employee are very bad
They said it three star but in that hotel if we would known we wouldn't stay in our worst time.

Carl S.
United Kingdom
August 29, 2012
Good overall
Rooms, location
I stayed here only 1 night and arrived quite late, so pretty much only slept here. I was here with a group of 6 (3 UK, 3 Indians) and had a good stay. Rooms are quite big, clean and comfortable. My wife and I even had a swing chair in the room which was a nice surprise. Location is quite good, though in a busy area of Delhi. A week earlier I had previously stayed in another hotel in Delhi and would say in comparison to that, the Shiv Dev was much better. The only down side is the breakfast was nothing special. Since I stayed here only one night it's hard to give the hotel a higher rating than I have, however I would recommend this hotel.

Sandeep J.
India
August 26, 2012
Worst is the word..
None
Being a Delhite wd be your -ve point to stay in a hotel in delhi is what i got to know frm the staff of this hotel. Hv checked in more than 10 hotels before this in delhi but it was this time with this hotel only which has set this kind of stupid rules with them.. was the worst check-in ever..

Gareth A.
United Kingdom
August 24, 2012
Average at best
Location and price
From check-in I was short changed although I noticed immediately and the mistake was rectified. This may have been a genuine error however after experiencing India I am more inclined to believe it was deliberate. This was my fourth hotel in India and by far the worst quality. The overall feel was pretty grubby and I was quite disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. The bed linen had hairs on it that were obviously from a previous guest. No hot water available from the shower however this didn't bother me so much and no housekeeping that I was aware of. The air conditioning unit was noisy and there was a gap underneath it were mosquitoes could easily enter the room - I was bitten several times. The room did have a TV with several English channels which was a comfort. The 3 previous hotels I stayed in were excellent by comparison. The pictures of this hotel are in no way representative of what you actually receive.

kuldeep C.
India
August 11, 2012
great staff with gr8 support
value for money in every instant
it was very comfortable,newly added restaurant also a gr8 advantage...price of every thingh is under budget

Kin L.
Hong Kong
July 17, 2012
Great Location around a busiest streets
Near the railway station
it is great in the new delhi area. great location, near the railway station. it is useful if you need take the train. it located in busy streets but compared "poor" area in new delhi. many hotels on same street so many travel related business around. it could be easy live there but careful on the streets. the room is great if comapre the other hotels i stay in india but don't expect too much. safe, with air-con, tv but no towel and toilet paper. wi-fi not fast enough.

Alvina C.
Canada
July 08, 2012
Good location, but room had leaking A/C
Location very close to New Delhi Railway Station, clean, efficient staff
check in was very efficient which i was grateful for as i arrived late evening and was very tired from a delayed train ride. unfortunately, the a/c began leaking profusely, but i was too tired to call someone up or to try change rooms so i just turned it off and slept. breakfast was served at the rooftop which is small, but comfortable. simple breakfast buffet, bananas, curry, eggs, chapatis and tea. the chapatis were a bit cold otherwise fine. would have been nice to have some juice. the owner of the hotel came by to chat with me as i finished my breakfast which was nice of him. i told him about my leaking a/c unit and it sounded like he told a member of his staff so hopefully they've fixed it. i was able to keep my bag in the coat room for the day after my checkout as i had a late night flight out of delhi and they gave me a bag tag. unfortunately, my water bottle slipped out of the side pocket and we couldn't find it in the messy coat room when i returned to claim my bag. not a big loss, but the staff also didn't try very hard to help me look for it.