arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 279 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 279 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.7
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.7

svetlana P.
Australia
September 23, 2012
Beautiful hotel with great food
beautiful gardens, great restaurants
A friend and I booked in to Arma for two nights. We loved the grounds, and the Thai restaurant. The staff were very helpful - I needed to use their computer and printer, and this was accommodated. Internet available in public areas, however a bit patchy. We had a lovely room overlooking the rice paddy, which was not in the direct line of people walking to their rooms, which was great. We hardly saw any other residents, despite the hotel being fully booked. Food at the Thai restaurant was fantastic. Room was huge and the only bad thing about the place was the bathroom, which was a little musty and dark (but huge! and you could close off the door to the room, so wasn't a problem). We also did a batik course at the hotel, which was set up in a nice spot, and we could choose what time we wanted to do the class. Not the cheapest class, but good for the fact we didn't have to go anywhere! I would recommend this place as a base for exploring the nearby monkey forest and shopping strips, but guests would definitely benefit from more than two nights here.

Kirsty H.
Australia
September 18, 2012
Beautiful resort
Stunning gardens, excellent service, friendly and happy staff, beautiful rooms
i stayed here on a whirlwind trip to bali and found it to be absolutely beautiful. there was a problem with my booking, i had booked a hotel room but when my friend arrived to check in before me the rooms were fully booked so we were upgraded to one of the private villas! absolutely stunning and so glad for the room mix up!

TAESOO H.
South Korea
September 10, 2012
Recommend!
location,service and manythings
ubud, i didn't know much. but during staying in arma resort, i could understand much with my family. i can walk and go many nice place. even shopping area, we can go. hotel itself is very nature. it seems like in the heavy forest. very clean/quite/spacious room. i can recommend

Patrick R.
Poland
August 29, 2012
Wonderful and magic place! Made us speachless...
Amazing setting on the stream and with a view on the rice fields. Beautifully arranged rooms and villas in a splendid garden.
Arma Museum and Resort is heaven on earth. It has magic and authentic feel, not like all those modern anonymous hotels all over the world. The buildings are picturesquely set on a small stream cutting through rice fields. It feels very private and still luxurious, and the villas (we will take one next time :) are just magic. Good location - 5 minutes walk to the Monkey Forest Road, a little further from Ubud's central point, but offers scheduled bus service. Staff very friendly and helpful, speaking perfect English, always at your request. Very good food in a Thai restaurant (we have not tried the second one -italian). Breakfast nice, but a little limited choice. Laundry, ATMs and Mini Mart are just round the corner. Place worth every penny! If we come back to Bali and I hope we will, we will not miss Ubud and Arma. We are not very keen on hotels and prefer trekking, non-touristy places and homestays. But this place... we fell in love with it.

Hannah C.
Canada
August 26, 2012
Welcoming staff with lots to offer
The resort grounds, location, workshops offered
we stayed here for part of our honeymoon. we booked just a standard room and it was just that: standard. we looked at some of the villas and they looked great inside! the grounds of this resort are absolutely stunning. there are carvings and ponds and bridges everywhere, it's so lush and green. they offer many workshops there including silver crafting, wood working etc. it's about a 15 minute stroll to monkey forest which is at the end of monkey forest road (shopping and eating strip). very accommodating staff, always smiling. the breakfast is standard, but the restaurant in the resort, just past the open stage near the main road has a lot to offer.

Feng S.
China
August 26, 2012
Hotel management needs to be improved
beautiful garden, free entry to the Arma Museum
We stayed in this hotel for our last 2 nights in Bali, this was also the first hotel we've ever stayed in Ubud, we thought this might be a great stay in our 6-day trip in Bali, but we were wrong. During check-in we received warm welcome from the reception staff and we were served with hot tea, the garden was very beautiful that we were quite impressed; but things began to go wrong since we arrived our room: 3 out of 5 dome lights in our room were not working; our bathroom had bad smell and the shower curtain had stains and bad smell too; the drain hole of the bathtub was somehow blocked and draining was very slow so we had to stand in a water filled bathtub to take our shower.... the phone in our room could not dial international numbers(yes we did follow the instructions on the service menu), local calls did work but not clear at all. We called the reception trying to explain the problems we had but the guy picked up the call didn't even want to listen and simply told us that "he will tell his manager tomorrow", later until we left the hotel nobody had ever showed up or ever tried to assist us. Also, there was no WI-FI internet near the pool area as advertised, when we asked we were told the server was down, we then had to go to local internet cafe to make contacts with our driver. Breakfast was poor with very few choices available, it shouldn't be even called as "buffet" in my opinion, after all, this is a $100+ hotel with 4-star standard. I believe all these problems could have been avoided if the hotel management ever tried to make some efforts to take care its guests, I mean, is that so hard to manage a small hotel with only 16 rooms in total? We have stayed in some cheaper 3.5-star hotels but rather had much better staying experience than this one. Will not come back again and will not recommend to anyone.

Natalie G.
Australia
August 17, 2012
Amazing setting!
Peaceful
Grounds beautifully landscaped. Museum worth a visit. Comfortable beds.

Yue Y.
China
August 12, 2012
Good choice in peak season.
Free WIFI, Activities
We chose a peak season to visit Bali, even we are planning one month ahead, it is still difficult to get an ideal place to stay in Ubud. I give up the idea to look for those top rated hotels in Tripadvisor and those highly popular one turn it's name in LP, the chance of getting them is almost equals to zero. Among those available choices, I snapped the last room in ARMA.  The lush garden is beautiful with rice field at the back. The location is good, within walking distance to monkey forest road, and the hotel is providing free shuttle to main road as well. They are trying their best to make your life not so boring in ubud if you are staying longer, eg. special tour, classes, performance, free entrance to museum, etc. I am staying in deluxe room and I can enjoy a powerless 70" TV with only one channel, Oops, it is a water feature! and now you will understand why the hotel workin so hard to make your life not so boring as there is no entertainment in room, maybe this can let you truly feel the real village life.  The breakfast is a bit boring and not much varieties, the swimming pool is not impressive also. But the good thing is, Ubud is quite cool even in summer time, so you might don't have the mood to jump into the pool. Free wifi available around pool area.  Overall it is still a good choice in peak season. 

Andrea T.
Italy
August 08, 2012
Nice area but awful hotel
The area
I booked a deluxe room and I discovered 2 type of deluxe rooms A traditional one and a modern one. The difference? The modern one has been renouveled in 2004, the traditional one never, that means, humidity, infiltration, bad furnitured, dirty, an insalubral room Breakfast is included, but what to say?? Not so much to eat.. Don't go there!!

Sarah W.
Australia
August 06, 2012
Perfect location, stunning resort
Close to Monkey Forest but secluded enough to feel revived
We arrived to an oversized, private villa set amongst the most beautiful grounds of the Arma resort. The staff could not do enough to help you not matter what the request was. We received the best restaurant tips from the staff, activities booked and warm welcoming smiles all day long. Felt like you were amongst nature, with the ducks and rice paddies just outside your door. The outdoor shower was also tranquil. Cannot fault this resort for cleanliness, peacefulness and friendliness. Thank you everyone at the Arma Resort for a memorable stay.