Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 268 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Lolla S. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in July 2011
Reasonable Value for money
location ot of the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk to the main drag, typical Balinese garden, friendly
penestanan, the road where the hotel is located, has some good shops and excellent cheap eating places. sar bamboo in perticular has the best meals and service. the walk into central ubud takes about 15 minutes but there are good stores along the route to browse in. don't pay more than for a transport either way.this is not the friendliest hotel i have stayed in but everything is done with a smile and efficinetly. the massages are not so expensive if you get a package, and have the benefit of being able to just float back to your room without having to counter traffic and hawkers. the pool is small and they don't have enough lounging chairs to lie on - only 4 in total when i was there!
Reviewed July 30, 2011

john G. from
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011
Great hotel, friendly and excellent room.
Lovely outside bathroom, great pool and friendly staff.
we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at de munut cottages. good food and friendly service. great pool. handy location.
Reviewed June 02, 2011

Judith G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2011
Fantastic Hotel
Peace and quiet...friendly staff
the hotel was great and we loved the open air bathroom. we had a renovated twin room and could not fault it. breakfast was included and was adequate. pool area nice. centrally located and taxis about 100m from the hotel. would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again on our next visit.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Thorn S. from Thailand
Groups
Stayed one night in April 2011
Beautiful hotel, stylish with service-minded staff
service-minded staffs, beautiful decor
staffs speak good english, are very friendly, polite, and service-minded--which I would say is not easy to find. I spent 14 days in this country (traveling but NOT backpacking), in Java and Bali. I will say this hotel has the best service staffs from my whole trip. hotel is nicely decorated. modern blend of balinese style. clean and spacious room. nice bed sheets, firm bed & pillow. has garden & pool, free-wifi, open-air bathroom, nice furniture pieces. hotel location is about 5-10 min pleasant walk from city center. Ubud is very small so this is not a problem. The walk is nice as there are antique/art shops all the way. If there is any cons, that would be that the hotel is kind of up hill. You need to walk 2 min up the steep road. Many good restaurants that open till 10pm. near the hotel. No clubs/bars so it is calm and good for resting & relaxing.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Henry T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in April 2011
Clean and comfortable room. Polite, helpful staff
Quiet location,nice gardens and tasty fresh breakfast
We were met at airport by driver. Good breakfast included.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Antti B. from Finland
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011
Nice hotel and area
Nice location of the deluxe rooms
the location was good, although one has to climb at least one hill on the way to ubud centre. it was fine for us, though. the deluxe room area was separated by a field from the other cottage area, and it was very quiet and nice. the rooms were clean and cozy, and the nights on the terrace just worked for us. much recommended!
Reviewed March 31, 2011

qian X. from China
Families with older children
Stayed one night in March 2011
balinese hotel
nature and tradition
De Munut Cottages is a typical of Balinese accommodation. Built in area where tradition and nature still in virgin, sub village's view in traditional atmosphere. Munut is a choice for who to may concern with culture and harmonies feeling. The location is not convenience. It takes 15 mins to walk to the centre.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Ai C. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
Quiet place but room has lizards
Friendly and helpful staff
a quiet location with lovely garden. a good place if you just want to get away from the city. other than this, i can't find any pros. the room and toilet definitely need revamp. there are lizards in the room and toilet. takes 15-20 mins to walk to the nearby shops/market area. definitely need a taxi to travel back to hotel at night cos' there is no street light along the slope leading to the hotel.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

RALPH P. from
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011
lovely place to stay chilled out
massive rooms backs onto a rice field
realy nice place to relax loads of shops in town nice pool good breakfast. monkey forest is not far down the road good dry cleaners round the corner.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

kymberley B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011
out of the busy centre but walkable..
interesting stone appearance architeture, nice staff and pool
no fridge, no fixed safe in room, actually none at all, no kettle in room...only old style tv with all none english channels... enjoyed watching the over acted soaps..he he...wifi was unreliabale but it is Bali.. the staff were nice and helpful..good value for money though taking into account the quality of the building and fairly good if you know how hectic Ubud is and want to be out of the way a little...
Reviewed March 03, 2011