arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 380 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 380 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Staff Performance 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 7.8

9 Tawat H.
Thailand
February 26, 2013
Nice hotel and great location
Service is the best
This hotel is super nice, They gave us the welcome drink after we go to the hotel. This room is great , clean and good service. For the location is ideal, it's just 3 mins walk to the beach. We will be back again.

2 Simon H.
Australia
February 25, 2013
Awesome Hotel. Awesome Staff
Staff will do anything for guests
I had a wonderful 4 days here. Best hotel experience I've ever had. The owners John and Susan were so helpful with everything. Food cooked by the hotel kitchen was the best I've had in Bali, and that's saying something. Morton Bay Bugs to die for. Plus there are many excellent places to eat in the local area. The hotel was visited by local children learning balinise dancing. We were entertained by local musicians at night. Lastly the sight seeing around Lovina is fantastic. So much to see, and the hotel staff can help you get anywhere. Can't wait to go back here.

8 Christina N.
United States
February 22, 2013
Great place & lovely owners
Fantastic pool & garden, great staff & management
we had a very nice stay at hotel melamun. the rooms are nice, and the owners made us feel so at home. the first day, we had a steady dripping coming from our ac, so that night we told the front desk and the lovely owners happened to be there, so they told us they would switch us to a different room. to our amazement, they moved us to the family room which was huge and said we could stay there for the next couple days as long as no one else booked it which was so nice of them! thanks so much for your generosity and for going above and beyond!

8 Christina N.
United States
February 22, 2013
Charming hotel with tons of heart
Nice garden, friendly Aussie owners
our stay at melamun was very nice! the amazingly sweet owners upgraded us to the huge and comfy family room when we were having issues with our other room. the owners love children and are big supporters of local dance. it was such a surprise and treat to get to see about adorable girls practicing traditional dance in the cafe of the hotel. our only tiny issue was that the housekeeping threw away a huge pile of receipts that were sitting on our table and we were keeping them to track business expenses. i'm not sure why they took it upon themselves to decide that these were garbage when they weren't in the garbage bin. luckily we asked the front desk if we could got through the trash and we found our pile of 30+ receipts in a bag on their own and it didn't get too messy. other than that, our stay was awesome!

8 Christina N.
United States
February 22, 2013
Friendly hotel, beautiful grounds
Cozy room, free shuttle service, kind owners
the rooms here have all of the amenities that you could want - wifi, ac, hot showers, comfortable beds, etc. what really makes this place stand out is the very sweet owners that go above and beyond to make guests feel comfortable and happy. the garden is also lush and gorgeous with a pool that has the perfect temp for a hot day in bali. the free shuttle service into town was convenient, especially since it was pouring on two of the three days we were in lovina. thanks for a very nice stay!

10 Haojie C.
China
February 16, 2013
Great hotel with a lovely cat
Food is fantastic and the owners are so good!
it is about 5 mins walk to the lovina beach. you can book about everything here, watch dolphins, massage, cars to somewhere.... the owners of the hotel are great! they came from australia and helping local children to learn english, math and art! the owner's cat is so cute and sweet!

10 BRYAN G.
Australia
January 29, 2013
Personal touches make all the difference
Friendly staff, personal service,value for money, community focus
I know people say things like "it's our home away from home" often in reviews, but in this case it is 100% applicable. We love staying at the Melamun, mainly because of the staff and the quiet, relaxed atmosphere. While the rooms are clean (no mold!) and kept to a high standard (no sheets sewn together) and the grounds are beautifully maintained, it is the friendly, helpful staff that make it. Nothing is too much bother and they are also an endless font of information about the local scene, which local tours are good, which ones to look out for. The owner and staff are very involved in the local community and any mention of the Melamun or Suzy brings a smile and a story from locals. There is always at hand to give you advice or fix a problem and my wife loves the complimentary tea and coffee service, which is available anytime you like. The only negative I have about the Melamun is the attitude of the occasional guest who thinks that staff are subservient clones - try treating them as people and see how much this place can be a friendly, relaxing place to plan your adventures in North Bali. As a final note, this is our third stay here, and we actually have come to know some of the other guests as they are all returnees as well - which says something about the standard of this wonderful place.

9.7 robert W.
Canada
January 26, 2013
Cozy and relaxing!
Large rooms and good pool!
The hotel was quite small but very comfortable - the staff were very helpful and catered to your needs - it was low season yet all 10 rooms were full which is an indication of the hotel's popularity - it was about 100 meters from the beach but it's not a swimming or tanning type beach - it is quiet in the north of Bali but still there are some temples and museums to see - an early morning dolphin trip is also available - the breakfast was quite good and so is the rest of the menu- we had lunch there several times -tasty and inexpensive!

8 Kwai C.
Malaysia
January 21, 2013
Best location & Clean Room
Great location
Service is good. Grounds are quite well maintained and pool area is very relaxing and quiet. Breakfast quite substantial and served promptly.

9 VIrginia S.
United States
December 26, 2012
Very lovely setting and great service.
Very comfortable, pretty setting, and very helpful staff.
We only stayed one night, unfortunately, as the stay was delightful. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful and the setting is lovely. The rooms are large and although basic in furniture, they are quite comfortable.