Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.8
Based on 1266 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1266 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.4
  • Service 9.0
  • Value for Money 9.0
  • Food/Dining 8.6

Alex H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Amazing amazing amazing
Boutique, treated like royalty, stunning location
this place is perfect. siwi is the manager and she is adorable. so so sweet and helpful. they all learn your name so they greet you personally every time they see you. afternoon tea included in the price with amazing cake! breakfast in their lovely restaurant was great and you order the night before. the rooms are beautiful with balconies out over the rice fields. amazing ace, you must visit. best place i've ever stayed. thank you junjungan
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Andrew M. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in April 2011
Best service we have ever had
Price, quality of food and service, great view
We have travelled all over the world, and this was our favourite hotel ever! With only about 10 rooms, the staff all learned our names. The breakfast that was included was excellent and the serving sizes were huge. We raced back to the hotel for complementary afternoon tea with the best, homemade cakes. As the hotel was just outside of town, they provided free transportation between 9am-10pm to the town (whenever we wanted and always arrived within 5 minutes of our request). Dinner was not only underpriced, the quality of the food was excellent. For seeing more of Bali, they had private tours to take. The guide was friendly and knowledgable. While the selection of spa services was limited, the services themself were excellent. Our room had a lot of character with high ceilings and a great view of the rice fields. The bathtub that you could completely lay down in, was a dream.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Wan C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Romantic and comfortable room
good service ^^
The day i checked into Junjungan Ubud is a very bad weather day. Therefore, our driver sent us to hotel about 330pm. The staffs of Junjungan are friendly as well as good service. You are become king or queen when you are there. Compliment with Hi-tea (3-6pm) and breakfast as well as welcomed drinks. I like the breakfast and Hi-tea very much.. yummy ^^ The room is clean and romantic as well as good view. The hotel management upgrade us to deluxe studio finally due to certain reason. The room is very lovely, i miss the comfortable bed =) Although the location is quite rural, Junjungan provide free shuttle from 9am to 6pm. Overall, nice hotel and worth to stay. Strongly recommend =)
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Alex H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2011
Amazing amazing amazing
Boutique beautiful 10 bedrooms. Treated like royalty.
This hotel was the most amazing place I've ever stayed. From the moment we got there we were treated like royalty. Siwi is the manager and she is just the most adorable. They strive to learn everyone's name as soon as you get there and make sure they greet you by your name every time they see you. Breakfast is amazing, you order the night before and they make sure they know who ordered what so they don't have to ask when they are serving you. There is also afternoon tea included in the price and the yummiest cake to go with it. The bedrooms are beautiful, four poster beds with a balcony looking out over the rice paddy fields. They come in and clean your room in the day and come back in at night to turn the bed and change more towels if needed. There's dvd's to borrow for the room and a Lovely pool although very small, we didn't really go to ubud for sunbathing so was fine. There is also a stream running through the little resort which is such a beautiful feature and a lovely sound of fresh running water cascading through the contours of the land. They have a shuttle service into Ubud any time you like up to 10pm. This place is not in Ubud and definitely not walking distance, but it really doesnt matter in fact it's just even more perfect because you really do get the best of both worlds, the feeling that you're really experiencing Bali in a local village north of Ubud, but the shuttle service means you can be in Ubud within a 10 min drive for the lovely restaurants. I wish we didn't live so far away, I'd go back here in a second.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Gautam M. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2011
Fantastic Romantic Secluded Peaceful hotel
Room, Ambience, Hospitality, View
For our 4 day-5 nights honeymoon, we booked three hotels - Bali Kuta resort, Junjungan Ubud Hotel, and Melia Benoa Nusa Dua. Junjugan Ubud hotel was the second hotel after staying 2 nights in Bali Kuta resort. Although too far from Ubud place, this is perhaps the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Hospitality was great, and the staff were very helpful. The studio room was out of the world - I would say a perfect place for honeymooners. The bathtub in the bathroom was perfect for two people ;-) Cons: The swimming pool was small and the breakfast is limited since we have to order it, although it is free.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Shobha V. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Best value for money
5 star service at a 3 star price
Junjungan ubud is a small lovely hotel with an excellent service. The staff here take the effort to remember ur name and address u with it all the time. Always pleasant n smiling, it was such a joy to stay there. I really wished our stay was longer than the 3 days we spent. The mee goreng for breakfast is a must try. One of the best I have ever had! ( and I have tried a lot of mee gorengs coming from Singapore) all in all, the next time I'm back in ubud, I'll choose junjungan for sure!
Reviewed April 12, 2011

stefano F. from Italy
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
I can only reccomend it.
Location and service.
it is a really lovely place to stay in order to visit the centre of the island.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

martijn S. from Netherlands
Families with young children
Stayed one night in March 2011
Not a great hotel.
personal attentive service, no other Pros.
We were looking to stay here for 4 nights, we checked out after 1. There is nothing great about this hotel. In their price range there are better places in and near Ubud. The only reason we stayed the night was because my pregnant wife needed to rest. I did hesitate writing this review as the service is very attentive and friendly. However this is just not enough to describe this as a good or even a great hotel. The hotel is far out, although there is a free shuttle to Ubud, there is nothing much to see or do near the hotel. The hotel itself is old and run-down (leakage stains everywhere, old furniture, old bathroom). The rooms are very dark with almost no natural light and cold. There are limited facilities outside room, a pool next to road with no space around it, a small lobby and parking lot. The hotel is build on top of a small river and next to rice paddies. The restaurant of the hotel is underneath the hotel and there isn't much view from there, except a smelly toilet, the stairs, road and and some forest next to the small river. On the smelly toilet, we could smell the restaurant toilet in our hotel room, after mentioning this the toilet was cleaned thoroughly. Unfortunately the smell came back slowly as it has more to do with the sewerage than a clean toilet. During the night we were visited by multiple and numerous little bugs and ants. They were everywhere. I took pictures the next morning of all the dead squashed bugs on my bed. We felt itchy all night and had almost no rest at all. And the last thing which I would like to share is that the hotel is not suitable for small children. As it is build on top of a river it has stairs everywhere and the fences are not secure which makes this hotel even dangerous for kids. So outside of their friendly service there is absolutely no need to stay at this hotel. A very disappointing and unwelcome experience.
Reviewed April 08, 2011

Astrid Y. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
feels like home
the room, the hotel, the location, the view, and the food is fabulous
i had an amazing two days stay. the first time i arrived at this hotel, feels like i am home. the staffs were very helpful to sign me up for rafting tour. the food was very nice, we love the green tea and choco they have, thou you can order it to your room. they have free bikes to ride and other facilities such as tv cable and wifi. definitely will come back to Junjungan Ubud
Reviewed April 07, 2011

Craig G. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed 7 nights in March 2011
Great Hotel - very friendly staff - great food
Everything about the hotel was excellent!
this has to be the best hotel i have ever stayed in. very small but very unique! teh staff are very friendly and make a point to knowing your name. they feed you until you drop! free afternoon tea and fresh cakes every day. fresh cooked breakfast and fruit when every you need it. if you leave your room for more than 5 minutes the staff will run in and turn down the bed or tidy up! free unlimited shuttle into ubud at your beck and call! nothing is too much of a problem for the staff. a fantastic stay!
Reviewed April 06, 2011