arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 43 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 43 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 9.2
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 8.1

Frank G.
Switzerland
January 12, 2014
Relaxing, beautiful atmosphere, perfect hide away
Perfect, big pool, beautiful garden, exceptional staff
Very good resort, excellent facilities, friendly staff, good food, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The resort is well managed, staff is recruited from the neighbourhood, local people do supply fish, vegetables etc. directly. Never met staff friendlier than here. Facilities are extremely well maintained. The garden is a beauty, with hundreds of birds. It's a little paradise on earth, very well suited for a relaxing time.

iain C.
United Kingdom
January 09, 2014
Beautiful place, great rooms, relaxed atmosphere
The rooms and the gardens
Perfect, and the surrounding area is wonderful for excursions or renting a bike and getting lost. A beautiful part of Bali

Nicole L.
United States
November 25, 2013
What's not to love about Bali???
staff, the views/garden, proximity to amazing diving
This place was paradise! Truly breath taking views, tranquil and staff was spectacular. Great diving and snorkeling available on Menjangan Island which is just a quick boat ride away. Not as rainy here as the rest of the island either. If you're looking for bars, nightlife and shopping, this is not the place for you. While by American standards, the accomodations, food, spa charges were less, it's quite expensive for Bali. My opinion, worth every penny!

Lucas W.
South Africa
November 12, 2013
Best hotel we stayed at during our stay in Bali
Gardens, Staff and quiet
This was the second hotel out of 4 total we stayed at during our stay in Bali and by far the best. It is a smallish resort thus a bit quiet, which was exactly what we looked for. Can’t rate the staff highly enough. When we had a small technical issue with the AC in our room we were quickly moved to another without any delay or discussion. My two year old daughter had a great time during breakfast every morning messing around with the hotel musician on his gambang (local xylophone like instrument), which the other guests did not seem to mind…too much! This is a hotel we would go back to in a heartbeat.

Per F.
United States
June 01, 2013
Hidden gem in rural Pemuteran
Beautiful room, gardens and pool
It's an exceptional place on the black sand beach of Pemuteran. Service was great and we didn't hear anything from our room, despite sharing a wall with another room. We didn't use their dive shop because the prices were a little high and we didn't get a very welcoming vibe from the staff.

Cheryl S.
Australia
May 06, 2013
Pleasant and quiet.
Professional massage with excellent staff. Friendly, helpful and professional staff. Peaceful setting in great gardens.
Very peaceful and relaxing. One serious issue: The beds are ridiculously high off the floor. This is very dangerous especially for elderly guests. My wife(60 years old), early in the morning fell off the step from the bed onto the floor. I got a fright and in my haste to help her also stumbled off the step but did not fall. Fortunately, neither of us sustained any injuries. We did not report this to management.

Michael P.
United Kingdom
April 20, 2013
great. super hotel, great staff
the gardens pool and dive centre
we really enjoyed our stay. The gardens are truely lovely and the cottages set amoung the nice trees and flowers. The staff were attentive and the servive good. food was excellent. we dived every day and although we do not date the local dives the trips to Menjangan island were fantastic

Irene M.
Italy
January 18, 2013
Beautiful resort but overpriced
Room with amazing furniture and 2 swimming pools
We are a family with a 3 y child and the room was spacious but no television. Bathroom with a large bathtube where the baby could splash in the afternoon while was raining ( all the 4 days of our staying in january). Breakfast was ok but not that fabulous and the price requested for half board was too high for what you get. We booked on internet a beautiful restaurant nearby with free pick up at the hotel. We ate really good food with less than half the price and big portions. Once we tried the tea time menu at the beach restaurant. After 30 mins after we asked they said that they will need time. After 45 minutes arrives delicious food, salted and sweet. There is no place in the resort such as a piano bar or a place to relax and chat with other guests. The location is perfect for a dive in menjangan island. The best snorkeling with corals and all kind of fishes. We organized the trip with an agency 50 mt from the resort that allow to bring our 3y daughter while the resort didn't. From and to the airport in Denpasar could be really a 6 hours drive depending on the traffic and the weather. On the 1st january at the 9 pm to get out the airport we spent 3 hours for 3 km!!!

Bruce C.
Australia
January 07, 2013
Very relaxing stay
The team - helpful, natural, genuinely welcoming - and the food (top notch)
this place is isolated and given the 4-5 hour journey too and from the airport (traffic is now horrendous in bali), you really need to value the peace and quiet and stay for at least 5 days. whilst in many ways this resort is showing it's 17 year age (decor/style), it is still a gem. the grounds are beautiful, the food outstanding at all restaurants (and reasonable value) and the service (bar the front desk) is top notch (apparently 75% of staff have been there since the beginning). the range of spa treatments was extensive and relatively inexpensive. the gym is small and has only an elliptical (not working), stationary bike, and two treadmills (one not working). there is a "cheap" all-purpose weight machine and a few light hand weights (max 5kg). if you're a fitness freak, it would be tough to get a decent work out. the beach (black sand and pebbles) is not particularly attractive, but the pool is large and has plenty of space. even with the 34 rooms filled, it never seems busy. yes, we would go back, but would look harder for a better deal. at $450 usd per night, it seemed only fair value you for money (it was the xmas/ny break, so maybe it has better pricing off-peak).

Arunie C.
United States
September 28, 2012
Fantastic stay with wonderful service
The service is fantastic, the hotel is gorgeous.
A group of 10 of us stayed at the Matahari in September. The service was fantastic and the hotel is just beautiful. The breakfast was very good with a great selection of items both Balinese and Western...the dinners were just okay.. only because we felt the food could of been more spicier to please our "ethnic" palette; however, we all loved our desserts. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. The spa services here are wonderful as well..gorgeous spa, great staff, great services. I had to contact the hotel via email to make sure our reservations were correct and each time they responded very quickly. Given the chance I would definitely visit again. The rooms are really beautiful here with an outside shower and carved beds and doors. This is a special place, definitely worth the cost. This place is so much better than your generic hotel room stay. They did offer free yoga in the morning; however, only a few spots were available as the location they held the session could not accommodate a group larger than 7 people. The salt water pool was very warm and very very relaxing in the evening.