arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.4
Based on 517 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 517 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.3

Lillian W.
New Zealand
January 23, 2016
Great location and grounds
Garden, pool, loation
This is our second time at Matahari and I find it great for everything. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The only issue I had here was on checkout - the girl on the front desk tried to add 200 000 rupiah to my bill. When I questioned the amount she recalculated and got an amount 100 000 less and gave me money back, when I told her it was still not the correct amount she finally calculated it correctly and gave me back another 100 000. Just something to be aware of!

Adam L.
Australia
January 21, 2016
convenient, quiet and relaxing
close to the nightlife and beaches of Kuta, without the noise. great garden and pool and easy access to the rest of the island
Working and relaxing all in one place, love this hotel and the staff that make every effort to make sure you are made welcome and comfortable

Adam L.
Australia
January 21, 2016
comfortable and quiet, with no street noise
location, comfort and staff
Another short stay at one of the best value for money hotels in Bali, as usual the staff were great and the room was comfortable. Will continue to return.

Adam L.
Australia
January 21, 2016
comfortable, quiet and easily accessed
We keep coming back to Matahari, the staff are excellent, the location is walking distance to most places, as well as being comfortable and quiet, with no street noise
Relaxing as usual, upgraded to a deluxe room, which made our stay even better. Love the staff and their helpful attitude.

janet D.
Australia
January 10, 2016
Oh dear
location,
l have been waiting for you to ask for my review, or l would be ringing you..this hotel needs to drop a star to two for the rooms we had yes twice we had to move due to air con..this is the first time l have had anything bad to say about the hotels l have stopped in on holiday in Bali...but you do need to send someone to look at this hotel we had a standard room..but this is the one thing that l will tell you about my experience and not happy about it we only went in the POOL ONCE and this is what l paid for 14 days and no pool first day pool looked cloudy second day was GREEN and l mean GREEN ..Management told us it was ok to swim in "l don't think so " what a shame when you do not get what you paid for will be a bit more careful when l book for August l would like a reply from you on the matter of cost for this hotel..

Amanda H.
Australia
December 30, 2015
Quiet and excellent location - A bit scruffy.
location price & burgers
Stayed for 2 nights with group of 6, booked at short notice (2 weeks out from xmas) & got good value (not stayed here before but I was aware it wasn't going to be the four seasons!!) for money with breakfast included (sadly if that wasn't free you wouldn't want to pay for it - the breakfasts were awful) but we all agreed the hamburgers where pretty darn good. Pool was nice but the sun lounges where tatty old n tired. The grounds where nice and well looked after. Found all the staff to be friendly, polite & helpful. Rooms were tidy & clean, but shower rooms not cleaned properly, the toilet flush handle kept coming off in 2 of our rooms and my niece really took an aversion to what ever was living int he roof space in our room. If you are expecting luxury then you may be disappointed, but if want location for Kuta, helpful staff, air con & a clean bed and a great price then this is the place for you. I would stay here again.

adriaanes B.
Australia
December 18, 2015
value for money
staff pool location
great quiet hotel considering the buzzy location

Muhammad J.
Malaysia
December 16, 2015
Nice hotel, strategic & comfortable
calm & quiet, friendly staffs
3 days & 3 nights...comfortable, calm, away from stress

Jacob T.
New Zealand
December 09, 2015
Matahari is pleasant
Location, price, good value
Pleasant!

Adam F.
Australia
November 10, 2015
Great value for money
Close to shops and clean rooms.
Great stay as very friendly people were staying here.