arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 493 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 493 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.5
  • Location 7.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 6.2

roni E.
Indonesia
July 13, 2013
a hotel near the sea to see dolphins up close
a dolphin pool, pictured with various animals, see and catch the dolphins at sea
a clean and friendly place with a concept for nature conservation because there are some very good animals treated

LEW K.
Malaysia
July 11, 2013
nearby beach. so loving dol phin.
attractive
lovely dolphin and its show. nearby the beach and have fun for chasing dolphin.

Conny R.
Indonesia
July 11, 2013
An unique dolphin hotel
Amazing dolphins show, awesome little zoo, near to beach
It was unforgettable moment for kids to stay with dolphins, kids can swim and play together with the dolphins. Nice and humble staffs. Hotel is too old with Balinese decoration. No refrigerator inside the room.

Lily W.
Indonesia
July 10, 2013
Good hotel but a little bit dirty and smelly
Good staff, swim with dolphin activity
My kids enjoyed the activity with dolphin, however the hotel room facility was not so good. There was no hot water for bath tub!

juliana T.
Indonesia
July 08, 2013
very nice because the kids can swim with dolphins
nice design, fast chek in and fast chek out, fast room service
very quiet and very nice for relax

Eryani Y.
Singapore
July 07, 2013
Best budget hotel in Lovina.
Dophin show, swimming with dolphins, mini zoo. Excellent for families with children.
The hotel environment, facilities and services have improved significantly compared to our last stay there in 2008. The hotel is much cleaner now and well maintained. It's the only hotel in Lovina which offers the dolphin show, mini zoo & animal circus and is especially great for those with children. The breakfast was quite good. The restaurant serves varieties of dishes and our meals overall were great. The staff were very friendly. We had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at Melka Excelsior and its definitely value for money.

Chan C.
Hong Kong
July 07, 2013
Build-in mini zoo & pool to swim with dolphins
In-house guests has priority to swim with dolphins, build-in mini zoo with some interesting animals to see, 5 mins walk from Lovina beach
Melka is an interesting hotel with its build-in mini zoo, you can see lizards, crocodile, peacocks, owls etc. inside the hotel, it has a dolphin pool where guests can book & swim with dolphins. It was the best part, we could touch, shake hands, kiss, hold fins & swim together with dolphins, the experience was amazing. The only complain was the turbid water, it was green & not clear at all, wondering if the hotel change water frequently to keep it clean. For those don't want to pay extra for dolphin swim, there're 2 dolphin shows for free every day at 10am & 4pm. We were staying at the Sunset Suite on the 2nd floor, it has a small but nice balcony where we can see the beautiful sunset. Room was clean & tidy with comfortable bed & air-conditioning. Whole room was decorated by lots of art pieces, wood carved figures, stone sculptures, paintings collected by the owner from various part of the world, they were nice but the display was old-fashioned, it just felt like putting lots of stuff together, lack of style. Internet signal was bad in the room, we'd suggest you to stay close to lobby or swimming pool for internet access. Food was awful in Melka, but there're some really nice restaurants around, on the way to Lovina beach, or just walk outside the front door & turn right. Afternoon tea was a tiny piece of super sweet & tough cake with tea/coffee. Buffet breakfast was a nightmare, we arrived at 8:30am & all food trays were emptied, no egg, no ham, no milk, basically nothing! There were lots of hungry guests sweeping every piece of food they found to their plates, the only thing left was bread, but sorry there're only 1 toaster for 2 toasts each time, I end up waiting for 15-20 minutes to toast my bread. After a long wait, the staff refill 8-10 pieces of fried eggs & they were gone in seconds, if you want food, you've to fight as if during the famine. There're better hotel options in the area, but worth a night for the dolphin swims.

James B.
Australia
July 01, 2013
Surprisingly good considering others reviews
The Dolphins, the pool and the room
I really enjoyed our stay here...we had read somany others reviews (and many of them are not so good) that although I wanted to seethe Dolphions ansd give my partner a chance to seim with them...that I actually bookedanother hotel for the night as a fall back...no need whatsoever...I was really pleasantly surprised...and after 39 trips toBali andmany different hotels, I thought that the room was well furnished and clean, the A/.C worked well, the pool was great, the breakfast one of the best buffets I have had in Bali, and for value for money, was very impressed.Despite comments fromAnimal do-gooders, the Hotel may seem a bit gimmicky, but I enjoyed the small zoo, and the families I saw and other couples also seemed to equally enjoy it.Maybe we Austrlaians forgetwhat having open plains Zoos is all about, but for small islands with large populations, any zoo is an asset, and the animals do seem well cared for, etc. The dolphinsa are a highlight...and the chance to swim with them is also right up there. Don't believe all the bad stuff...surely it is worth a ni9ght of "lets suck it and see" for the money...what have you got to lose anyway...where else can you swim with the dolphins....nowhere in Bali that I am aware of...so judge accordingly....remember that the more people that stay the better the treatment for all concerned...and I am booking back into this really nice Larger Hotel in December when we bring the Kids (to swim with the dolphins too)...can't have been that bad then. I thought the staff were really great (as like in many Bali hotels, yetstill retained the personal touch...).

Yoseph W.
Indonesia
July 01, 2013
Poor enough for my family
dolfin, dolfin and dolfin
poor room for suite type, poor bad, poor bath room, ac is poor too.

Yoseph W.
Indonesia
July 01, 2013
Standard Hotel. the advantage only in dolfin pool.
nature style,dolfin atraction,swim with dolfin
not to satisfied because of room condition is poor for me.bad quality is poor too. bath room poor.