Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 1140 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 5.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.4
  • Service 6.1
  • Value for money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 5.7
Sort by

Brok L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2015
A perfect backpacker hangout
Swimming pool, location, helpful and friendly staff.
On arrival the most noticeable thing is that the hotel is rather old and could do with a little spruce up. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. We stayed in a garden view room which was very simple, which although it suited us, seemed to displease other guests. We extended our stay at the reception due to hospitalisation and they happily matched the price we found on Agoda. Breakfast was offered with the continental option being free. All in all, taking into consideration value for money, I would stay again if passing through Kuta.
Reviewed November 02, 2015

maxwell T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Maxwell and Pamela
Staff, location, clean
Very pleasant and relaxing
Reviewed October 24, 2015

Stephen C. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 9 nights in October 2015
Just great value you will not be disappointed
Meeting people, staff and value
Many times I have stayed here a d always feel safe and homely never in a hurry to leave and I can't believe how many of the same people I keep seeing
Reviewed October 22, 2015

Gary H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Disappointing, very run down
Price, location, leaving
Very disappointed considering that we booked a deluxe room. It was at the very back of the complex, not overlooking the pool as I requested. Lots of mossies, no hot water, no English tv channels. Pool is very unappealing. Staff are mostly young trainees that don't understand English. If you're budget doesn't stretch too far or you just need a bed for 1 or 2 nights then it's probably ok. Never again for us.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

miranda B. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 12 nights in October 2015
Close to everything and clean
Close to everything, clean, friendly/ helpful staff
Had a great stay as usual.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Brock L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in September 2015
Sayang Maha Mertha review Brock
Staff, Fun open environment, price
I've stayed at Sayang Maha Mertha twice now and both times planned to stay elsewhere after the first week but both times extended my stay for the duration of my trip. After viewing other hotels I didn't want to move from such a social, open air and friendly environment. The casual interaction with staff and other guests, the food and the price are all fantastic for the budget traveler who likes to meet other people.
Reviewed September 29, 2015

jackie G. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Value for money
Pool, staff, locastion
Have stayed there several times. Some rooms can be a bit dark and need updating but great pool. Good location to the beach and local amenities. staff very helpful especially tourist information staff. Great value for money.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Glen E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2015
Sewage pit
Walk to beach
You get what you pay for room basic which is ok for the cheap price but room was seriously disgusting sheets were ancient dirty grey cover on bed was same but with holes only one old towel was provided but the smell of plumbing and sewage coming up through pipes in bathroom that was seriously mouldy was stomach turning the whole set up in bathroom was dangerous with slippery tiles that couldn't be avoided if you want to shower door to verandah did not lock staff were rude and unhelpful when asked for 2 cups or glasses to brush teeth with couldn't wait to get out of there booked this hotel 2 more times for during our stay in Bali but will be forfeiting money and taking the loss definitely not going back there
Reviewed September 16, 2015

James M. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in August 2015
Feel of old shoe
The repeat guest, the Gardiner and size of the. Rooms
The Kuta bar scene and lack of a smoke free zones; made my stay less pleasant. There was a great choice in restraints a lots live music was a big plus.
Reviewed September 07, 2015

jackie G. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Sayang
Value for money, location to beach, fantastic tourist information staff
Have stayed several times. Does not have the peace and serenity that many Bali hotels do but close to beach and other population areas. Tourist information go out of their way to be helpful.
Reviewed September 07, 2015