arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 621 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 621 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.5

8.3 LEE K.
Malaysia
December 26, 2012
Very nice hotel
Relaxing atmosphere
It's 1hr+ drive from airport. But definitely worth your stay! The hotel decoration is nice and breakfast selection was good. Room is big and staffs are great! Definitely will be back with my children agin!

6 andrew G.
Australia
December 14, 2012
Great location.
Pool by the side of the breakfast area
No doubt top end facility but we were in the cheap seats, did not realise when booking. Aircondition average, particulalrly at night time. Cloth hanging space consisted of a small rail in a bamboo cupboard no draws in which to put stuff. Bathroom nice but word of warning shell shaped bath, very very slippery, went for a sixer like glass. Grounds need some attention rear pool very cloudy. In general would have been very nice in its hayday but run down and needing maintance. But enjoyed the stay

9.3 becky R.
United States
December 04, 2012
Beautiful surprise
Ambience, staff, gorgeous grounds and room.
I couldn't believe how this place overtook me. I've worked as a travel agent for 30 years and own my own travel adventure company. This place blew me away. Nothing on trip advisors or Agoda gave this place the credit it deserves. It has been written up in Travelers Nast Condo twice and has other rewards such as the Worlds Top 100 Spa resorts. The pools, room, staff was all top notch. The beautiful grounds and colourful decor was very much appreciated as well as its location and shuttle service.

6.7 Masako F.
Japan
December 03, 2012
Wonderful hotel-Seacret Area-
Relax with quiet pool
we had a wonderful stay at the mansion with large spacious rooms, ac, free wireless internet, gorgeous bathrooms some with attached outdoor gardens. it seems each room is unique. although watch out for the occasional mosquitos…the cost of living and being close to the nature of tropical luxury. no worries as the staff are very helpful in providing mosquito coils, electric diffusers and potpourri burners. the traditional costumed staff are also very sweet, friendly, courteous and helpful regardless of monetary reimbursement. the all you can eat breakfast buffet is a delightful event with all the stops in a tranquil location by the infinity pool. indoor or out you are always 1 step or more from the outdoors with cabana style or umbrella dining around the pool and garden. delicious custom made omelets with all the accoutrements plus an assortment of delicious local and european choices including various protein sources ….from fresh, non-processed pork or chicken breakfast links, tempeh, tofu, congee, fresh juices, homemade carrot and banana desert pastries, mochi, tea, coffee milk and various cereals. a dental clinic and shopping are available right on the premises and you are only a 5 -8 minute walk from penestana kajar where there are local restaurants, laundry service, “vespa restaurant” for internet with a health food and fresh pastry selection, and left and up around the corner is the “naughty gecko” for local produce at very reasonable prices. sometimes the local dogs, a breed found only in bali will politely escort you or protect you on your way. in addition free & frequent shuttle service is provided to downtown ubud for even greater variety. the mansion is beautifully landscaped throughout where swimming pools are intertwined with the tropical gardens as if you are swimming through the tropical rainforest in a natural pond or stream. all the conveniences of luxury combined with local culture and nature!

9.7 Sharon H.
United States
December 02, 2012
Garden of Eden
This place is fabulous! Such comfortable rooms, beautfiul grounds and the food is amazing!
This place feels like a haven for movie stars. It is private, cozy and very romantic. The breakfast (included in our stay) was very good. However, the dinner menu was out of this world! It was so good that we dined there twice for dinner and once for lunch. The air conditioning was more than adequate to keep our suite comfortable which made it a nice oasis from the heat of the day. The spa was excellent, too. My only complaint is that there was no mirror in our room and the bathroom mirror needed a light above it. I would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

8.7 keith J.
Australia
November 29, 2012
character hotel loads atmosphere set in rural ubud
quality rooms and service
glad the hotel provided a shuttle into ubud town as its too far to walk, taxi back isn't expensive, we paid about Rp 20,000 after staying out late at the jazz cafe ( Ubud's greatest music venue). main restaurant has great style , breakfast is more than adequate, staff are friendly and pools clean and nice.

5 cameron W.
Australia
November 27, 2012
exotic marigold hotel
This has been a beautiful hotel in it's day. The room was clean but maintenance is poor.
There seemed to be a lot of staff not doing much. The pool hadn't been cleaned, the china needed to be bleached of tea stains. Table clothes hadn't been changed and umbrellas had mould on them. I think a good manager could have the hotel in top class order in no time. Almost but not quite.

8.7 Alan L.
Malaysia
November 25, 2012
Wonderful hotel and friendly staff
Beautiful chalet with lush garden
We stayed in a chalet within the lush garden behind the hotel. Serene and quiet surrounding. Not too far from Ubud city centre and free shuttle provided. First time stay in Ubud and greatly satisfied staying at The Mansion.

5.3 nicola N.
United Kingdom
November 25, 2012
Smiling staff but tired rooms
Smiling staff, lovely grounds, peaceful location
We stayed as a couple in one of the outside rooms... Big room with walk in wardrobe space which was excellent bit the bathroom was a disappointment... Small with chipped bath and when we used the shower it flooded the bathroom. This meant all our towels were soaked which unfortunately weren't replaced when the nightly turn down happened... In fact all they seemed to do was turn the sheets down, leaving empty glasses outside on the veranda. The setting was beautiful and quiet but a 10 min ride to ubud. The hotel bus doesn't go every hour as we found out on day 2... The hotel organised a 'taxi' which was in fact the hotel bus and charged us 50,000 idr for the journey.... Disappointing for a supposed 5 star hotel. Breakfast was ok... Tea, coffee, juice, some fruit and omelettes with fried noodles as the Indonesian breakfast....served in pretty setting by the pool.

8.7 Love C.
Philippines
November 24, 2012
superb hotel in Bali, Indonesia
lovely rooms, friendly and helpful staffs
one of the best hotels i ever stayed...it has its own charm... the rooms are nice and clean a bit old...the staffs are very friendly and helpful...the spa is excellent too... the only downside is the breakfast not too much of variety and it is the same everyday...but i still recommend this if u will stay in ubud,bali