Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 626 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 626 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.5

Joseph R. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2012
Highly recommended
Atmosphere and Service
The Mansion is a lovely property with many good features. The settings and appointments are very good, both in the room and in the property in general. Room service is superior and the breakfast is great. The grounds are are peaceful and perfect for relaxation. Recommended for anyone from families to couples looking for a nice place to unwind and enjoy the area.
Reviewed September 09, 2012

Paul H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Excellent location
Very romantic settings around the grounds. The rooms were big and romantic.
Loved the hotel as it was big enough not to feel crowded. Some times we felt like we were there on our own.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

Trishma B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Simply Beautiful
Amazing grounds
the hotel and grounds are beautiful. as soon as you enter your are smacked in the face with so many colours and so much to look at. it is a real feast for the eyes. i did feel like a bit of a princess when walking around the pool area. we managed to get an upgrade at this hotel to a honeymoon suite, which was excellent. we stayed in a villa and it was lovely. giant bed and bathtub..full of rose pettles. however when in the room it didn't really feel five star. you could not fill the bathtub up since the water would go cold after ten minutes and showering was akward and messy. the tv was small and old and the lighting wasn't great. so although it was beautiful it wasn't necessarily the most confortable. also the water and tea etc was not always replaced in the room and the food served in the restaurant was not fantastic. not what you would expect from a five star anyway. the hotel was far away from the main town area but there is a regular shuttle which we used often. at night the grounds are full of frogs, toads and gekos which is nice at first but them a little annoying when you are trying to relax.
Reviewed September 03, 2012

Jennifer G. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Lovely and peaceful and friendly
gardens, pools and lots of areas to relax
a great place to relax during the day.night time was a little noisy with all the frogs croaking in the variuos water features. room not very soundproof but had a lot of character. could have been a little more variety for breakfast. only cornflakes and cocoa pops to choose from. yogurt would have been good on the menu too. good idea if the staff standing around to clear plates from tables could come and offer more tea nad coffee instead of having to get up each time to refill your cup. a few more english speaking staff at breakfast time too would be much better. food in restaurant at night was delicious. lovely setting for breakfast. over all staff very friendly and helpful. a couple of great little eating places within a few minutes walk down the hill.
Reviewed September 02, 2012

Lisa T. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Nice staff but rooms run down
Shuttle, breakfast, staff
I didn't hav extraordinary expectations for the hotel as I read reviews. Th grounds were beautiful, staff were very friendly, and shuttle bus inti town was very convienient. Our room was very small and we could hear every word that was spoken or mumbled in the room next to us, thnksmto a shared door with a very large slit at the bottom! Room was a bit dingy, there was mouse droppings on our bed after the first day and a few other places around th room. Food on site Was very overpriced, but served with a smile. When we checked out, they tried to bill us for drinks that we didn't have, and were dated the day before we even checked in. It took some serious convincing that it wasn't correct which was a bit frustrating to leave on that note. Overall a pleasant stay for a reasonable price.
Reviewed September 01, 2012

Carrie G. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Gorgeous grounds and amazing service
Amazing service upon arrival and throughout, many pools, comfortable, beautiful
We had a great time at the Mansion. My mom was super impressed by our treatment upon arrival. The service was impeccable. The room was unique and comfortable. The only annoying thing was that the AC directly pointed at the bed, so it made one person super cold or everyone a bit hot (if you turned the AC up). Overall, great time! They had a shuttle service to the center of Ubud, so it was okay that the hotel was outside the main area. Delicious breakfast! But pretty expensive if you eat other meals there.
Reviewed September 01, 2012

Warren M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Excellent hotel with beautiful Balanese gardens
Beautiful modern rooms in a lovely Balanese garden setting
A beautiful and well planned hotel with lovely Balanes gardens and 3swimming pools, we were very happy with our stay at this hotel and would come again.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Philip N. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Grand Character Hotel
Friendly and helpful staff
We stayed here for 2 nights. We were not happy with our booked room (deluxe) and was upgraded to a suite in the main building. The hotel is large and has big grounds although its located far from the town centre (ubud). Good points: 1) Good shuttle service for drop off and pick up 2) Friendly and helpful staff 3) Reasonable selection of asian and western food 4) Quiet and relaxing hotel grounds 5) Traditional character of Balinese with feeling of grandiose. Bad points: 1) Bad sewerage system (esp after breakfast time) in the bathroom 2) Expensive restaurant prices for lunch and dinners 3) Hotel needs a refurb 4) Location is far from the town centre although walkable (30 mins) 5) Limited things to do in the evenings
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Daniel D. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
A Beautiful Facility, for a discount rate
Gardens and pool area is lovely. Staff is delightfully attentive
With a management commitment to excellence, good maintenance staff and a decent chief this could be a fantastic facility. But sadly it has none of the above. It is hard to find a truly bad meal in Ubud, but after the sorry breakfast I was not eager to try the restaurant. The gardens are not well maintained...a Coke can floated in the the water just next to a pool for 4 days. On my first morning, the pipes in my bathroom exploded and a flood of water completely flooding the room. The manager, who seem like he was really trying, upgraded me to a much larger room. Still, the shower mirrors had not really been cleaned for a while. The bed was too soft, the pillows were lumpy. If I had been in a 2-3 star hotel I would expect this sort of facility. This is a relatively new place (opened in 2008) and it has won all sorts of awards, but it seems that it is resting on its laurels and old reviews.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Roy H. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in August 2012
Beautiful hotel but our room has old smell
Beautiful ponds, swimming pool, awesome spa
We travelled with a 2 year old, this place took us longer to reach from the airport due to the traffic - 4 hours from the usual 2 hours. When we were there, we were exhausted, lucky it didn't take long for the staffs to help us get inside. The guide who took us in appeared friendly and talked a lot about the facilities. We stayed in a standalone hut called the "Metal room". It looked awesome initially, but it's got old furniture smell emanating from it - we are pretty sensitive to this kind of smell, and was terrified that the mosquito net above our bed also had this smell. The lighting was dim but acceptable, and the restroom was spacious with an open roof and stone bath tub. Another thing we don't like about the room was the wooden floor. It creates a lot of noise when you walk around, plus it was quite slippery when I had my socks on. It's got a Dvd player that you can use with pirated dvds, but why would you want to watch dvds when you are in a beautiful resort. Unfortunately the staffs failed to clean the tv cabinet, we saw some dust and spider net just inside it. Toilet door had a lock, but impossible to lock due to a poor craftmanship. Fortunately the scenery outside the room was much better, really beautiful I should say. The swimming pool was very inviting, but too cold for a 2years old. My wife had a spa and she said that it was awesome albeit quite pricey, almost Rp400.000 This place is a bit further from the Ubud square, but should only take you 20minutes to it.
Reviewed August 21, 2012