arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 687 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 687 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Staff Performance 7.9
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.3

7.3 Yong N.
Singapore
May 26, 2012
Living in tropical house
Surrounding Environment
hotel is located near a small river surrounded by trees which makes one feel very near to nature. upon check in, we were greeted warmly by the staff who also help to bring our bags to the room. the room is very unlike usual hotel but is more like an individual hut with unique room name like sawah 1. you can hear sound of the nature as the room is right in the middle of it. there are two pools with one using spring water. pools are not big but environment is good. there is no tv or internet access in the room but available in lobby which force one to relax totally when back in the room. hotel provide shutter service to shopping area which is a plus point because the walk may not be long but still tiring.

9 richard W.
Australia
May 24, 2012
Amazing experience, highly recommended
Location, beautiful bungalows, breakfast, pool,.....
Just a beautiful, relaxing stay all round, happy, friendly staff.

7.3 Catherine R.
Australia
May 21, 2012
Stunning setting and a wonderful, peaceful place
Privacy and views of the rainforest
THe hotel is fantastic and we have stayed there a few times now. Each roon is very private, it is quiet and the pools are lovely. The spa is in a special situation right on the river, with the treatment rooms open to the river and view.

8.7 Michele K.
Australia
May 19, 2012
Beautiful tropical forest setting with large rooms
The location setting
Lovely large room with verandah and large windows facing tropical jungle and river setting. Staff very friendly and always helpful. Spa and their treatments are to die for. Walking distance to centre of Ubud with hourly shuttle bus. Second visit for me and I would definitely stay again. The only drawback for some people would be the number of stairs to get to and fro most rooms the hotel is built on a steep hillside.

9.3 Hazel L.
Australia
May 19, 2012
Beautiful hotel, great character, good service.
Balinese house type setting, Beautiful landscaping 7 swimming pools. Gorgeous spa - graet stone carvings, lovely outlook.
Tjampuhan Hotel has great character. We loved the fact that all of the rooms were in Balinese style houses. Lots of paths and steps between rooms meant that you needed to be reasonably fit! Service was excellent. Pools and spa beautiful. Good shuttle bus service to and from town centre, though only a 10 minute walk. The restaurant was beautiful with an abundance of stone carvings. Breakfasts were good. Nice selection on dinner menu. we would stay there again!

8 patricia C.
United States
May 18, 2012
Exquisite surroundings, lovely staff
Views, cleanliness, staff smiles
Thought the hotel would be far from Ubud center, but one could walk in 10 minutes. I completely fell in love with this hotel for its style and gorgeous setting. the lovely terraced gardens with two pools are awesome and the lush vegetation and gush of the river make you feel you have arrived in paradise.

7 Vivienne D.
Australia
May 02, 2012
Old but absolutely a must stay
The history of the place, the views, the gardens.
We felt priveleged to stay in a place that was built for royalty. The workmanship and grandness of the buildings are worth the stay. There was no TV or mini-bar, but there was a serenity, quality staff and quality environment which we really enjoyed. Breakfasts were tasty and plentiful, made better by the stateliness of the building and the ponderings about who stayed here originally and their lifestyle. Highly recommended as long as you don't want all mod-cons.

8.3 Veronika F.
Austria
April 21, 2012
balinese classic hotel with nice staff
large rooms, great settings
we had a great stay at the hotel, wonderful restaurant setting - food was good too. friendly staff.you can take excursions within the compound and visit the river at the base of the valley or hike over an old bamboo bridge and visit the nearby temple. this is a history filled space and fun to live in the jungle

9 Daniel G.
Canada
April 17, 2012
Amazing location and surrounding.
Best features,, all of it if you like nature.
the hotel is well located at the end of the village. it offers a free shuttle up to the monkey forest, so no need to worry about being in the middle of ubud. the hotel is in the rain forest, the view is amazing and the sound of the waterfall brings you deep into the nature. there is no aircon in the rooms but fresh air from the spring water and the fans is plenty to keep you fresh. the pools are beautiful and the spa is out of this world!!! i will return with my friends in may for a girls trip in bali. service is good, breakfast was ok, nothing extravagant but all you need. i highly recommend this hotel.

8 Anthony W.
Australia
April 15, 2012
Great location not too noisy,large rooms
Traditional balinese style with lovely garden surrounds
The staff were very helpful,we loved the traditional balinese style rooms and surrounds.Although an older hotel the room was clean and fresh.The shuttle to central Ubud made the position perfect,not too noisy or busy.The pool is set in a lovely balinese garden that is surrounded by garden art.At breakfast I expected there to be be a better variety of fruit being in the tropics.