arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 689 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 689 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.3

Anthony W.
Australia
April 15, 2012
Great location not too noisy,large rooms
Traditional balinese style with lovely garden surrounds
The staff were very helpful,we loved the traditional balinese style rooms and surrounds.Although an older hotel the room was clean and fresh.The shuttle to central Ubud made the position perfect,not too noisy or busy.The pool is set in a lovely balinese garden that is surrounded by garden art.At breakfast I expected there to be be a better variety of fruit being in the tropics.

Stephen M.
Australia
April 10, 2012
Different location experience and great rooms.
exceptional spa area and river front visa
Stayed 3 days in upgraded renovated rooms of excellent standard. service was polite and courteous. Overall an enjoyable experience. As the hotel is on a steep river bank steps need to used with care.

Marta O.
United States
April 06, 2012
a gracious hotel in lovely historic setting
setting & staff - both wonderful
My daughter and I were absolutely charmed by Tjampuhan hotel aand staff. We found the accommodations very clean comfortable, and the staff attentive and helpful. We will definitewly return to the Tjampuhan Hotel & Spa on our next visit to Ubud.

Despina C.
Australia
April 02, 2012
Lovely hotel & service with a smile
Traditional Bali style in a spectacular setting
I thought l had landed in Paradise. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was exceptional beautiful Balinese people with great smiles . Though some areas have room for improvement eg new fresh bath and pool towels. Would highly recommend reviewing menu especially breakfast menu, in a place like Bali where fruit is so plentiful and exotic , fruit platters with variation a must. I have visited Bali for the last 20 years, This stay was one of my most memorable. The environment so relaxing, so close to nature and it's elements. Highly recommend. I will be back !

HOI Y.
Hong Kong
March 26, 2012
Very nice hotel with peaceful nature setting
the hotel setting is perfect to match with the nature
we love this hotel very much. very green, silent, peaceful and relaxing. you can spend a day there without doing anything special. we just spent a day there and feel it is too short. we would love to go back again. the spa environment is perfect and we love. it has free shuttle to ubud centre and ubud is such a nice to itself and convenient as a basepoint to travel to other surrounding places.

jennifer S.
Australia
March 25, 2012
excellent hotel in every way
location, jungle setting, staff, rooms,
excellent hotel, staff, location in the jungle, beautiful swimming pools, great ambience and i loved every second of being there. thank you. recommend to all travellers.

Amie K.
United States
March 23, 2012
Completely Awesome
The location, the atomosphere, the staff, spa
We loved everything about this hotel. I mean everything. I cannot say enough good things about it. The windows in the room look out over a river into the jungle. The way the rooms are carved out of the rocks is awesome and the pool is amazing. The breakfast and room service is excellent. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We got in very late at night and the restaurant had closed, we were starving and they opened the kitchen back up and made us food. The spa is absolutely amazing, getting a massage next to river with the sounds of the river and wildlife was spectacular. The lady doing my massage pointed out some iguanas on the river bank and the hot and cold pools are so beautiful to sit in. I recommended it to other friends that were traveling to Bali and they loved it just as much as I did. The only minor thing is the bathroom could be updated a bit, but for the price it was fine.

loc D.
United States
March 17, 2012
beautiful located hotel
big roomy room with nice bedding
The hotel is located not too far from Ubud town. They even have free shuttle bus to town, although at certain times only. It will take about 15 minutes to walk but it can be quite hot. The hotel is built on the side of the mountain with beautiful swimming pool. The room is very big with nice, clean bathroom. Bed is nice with fluffy pillows. The room also has a nice patio terrace for sitting with a view of the jungle and valley. The walk from the reception desk to the room can be difficult and long for the handicapped. Overall, the hotel is very nice. I would stay here again.

veronique B.
France
March 12, 2012
fantastic location & romantic spot
great view and spa close to the river
the location is great with a nice view on the river, rooms are excellent. the spa is fantastic!

Edward P.
Australia
March 06, 2012
Historic hotel, stunning setting
Large decks overlooking the tropical gardens and the ravine down to the river and up the other side, lovely staff.
our first stay at this hotel was 42 years ago, before there was running water or electricity. it was gorgeous then, and despite the developments and more bungalows constructed it is still a very atmospheric place that we continue to love. though now with all mod cons,a spa and a couple of lovely swimming pools, it maintains a simplicity and connectedness with nature and culture. rooms are simple, cool and rather dark, but the huge decks, which feel quite private, are wonderful for enjoying the noises and beauty of the jungle. the dining room with its traditional architecture and views over the valley is stunning, but the menu could do with updating!