arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.6
Based on 378 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 378 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 2.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 6.2

Valencia T.
Indonesia
February 14, 2014
Fantastic
Great view, value for money, quiet and peaceful
Recommended for people who like traditional room, peaceful surrounding, and great view just in front of your room. The hidden gem in ubud. Will be back and stay there again in the future.

Diana B.
Malaysia
January 20, 2014
Low budget... bad upkeeping
Friendly staff but not necessary efficient
Our stay would classify as average in this gueat house. They had a beautiful garden, a pool that was so small, good enough forma dip only. The surrounding wood structures were badly maintained. There were wood that wqs almost falling off and wood that needed a coat of varnish to let it look good. We were surprise by a american breakfast served just with egg, frruits and coffee with no bread. After breakfast in the hotel, we needed another breakfast. To be fair, one of the staffs tried his best to help us get a fare rate driver but overall not entertaining. I ask this staff if he could help us buy dinner, he said yes but later never return to ask if we would like him to get ua dinner. You can't find any shops in the surroundings and have to pay 100k just to get to town. This guest house is not suitable for tourist. Maybe local people passing by only with cars.

firman S.
Indonesia
January 04, 2014
most rejuvenating close to nature sleep ever!!
close to nature, comfortable room, best value for money

OW L.
Singapore
December 31, 2013
Nice & really relax yourself
Nice view, friendly staffs & good location to all attraction places

CHONG W.
Malaysia
December 27, 2013
Nice environment with magnificent views.
Nice mountain views from rooms and nice swimming pool, with quiet environment
Love the quiet ambiance and also with the lovely mountain view from room definitely a good place for relaxation. However, the location of this hotel is a bit far from the UBUD Center,thus transportation would be one of the problem. The staffs are friendly and they really tried their best to fulfill all your needs and requirement.

Afiq R.
Malaysia
December 05, 2013
Beautiful trip to Ubud
Comfort. Location. Friendliness.
If I were to go to Ubud once again, which I will, Umah Gran will definitely be my choice. The view outside my room was mind blowing. I enjoyed the sound of the river at night and early morning. Beautiful surrounding is indeed a plus point for Umah Gran besides their comfortable bed and very clean bathroom. Breakfast was included. Expect simple breakfast. But better than nothing. Overall, Umah Gran Guesthouse is definitely a place to look for when in Ubud.

Rosa F.
United States
November 15, 2013
Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Far from Town
Fast Internet, Clean Room
Please note that as of Nov 2013, there is construction next door. Sawing and hammering noise breaks up the probable and usual very quiet and calming surroundings. I really wanted to love this guesthouse. It received good reviews, but now that we've experienced it we have to say that it is too far from town to walk and there is nearly nothing surrounding it. The Good: Very clean room & bathroom. Cold Air Conditioning. Strong water pressure. The staff was nice and polite. They even let us use their fridge to keep our Bingtang Beers cold until dinner. A nearby restaurant can deliver dinner and the hotel staff will serve it in your room with nice plates and silverware. Another good thing is the small pool, and the very pretty view facing a green hill. The pool is small, but very nice! The wifi is strong. The price was very good on low season. So why the low rating? It's WAY too far from town. The actual walk from Umah Gran to the Palace is nearly 1 hour (add 15-20 minutes if you're like me and taking pictures of everything). The BIG concern is that the guesthouse is directly on a strip of main road that has nearly no sidewalk and the closest restaurant is east bound (left as you're leaving hotel) with a very tight bend with heavy traffic and no sidewalk. Simply not safe with the traffic here. We cannot give another star because even on their own website, it feels like the location / distance wasn’t well described. They do have a taksi service that will pick you up and drop you off near the Ubud Palace for 55k IDR. If you only need a place to lay your head and have a daily driver and aren't interested in anything around your hotel, then this place might work. It is so far from anything at all that we decided to eat the cost of our "no cancel option pre book" and booked much closer in town after the first night. Our recommendation is: stay closer to Ubud! There are SO many affordable options so much closer in town!

Jason C.
Canada
November 06, 2013
Great Value, Quiet Location Guesthouse
Quiet, Beautiful View, Attentive Staff
The guesthouse is 5km+ out of Ubud, so you'll need wheels (they can easily help arrange a motorbike), and because of this it's got a stunning ravine location that is exceptionally quiet (despite the busy road out front - you'd never know there was an oasis of peace inside!). Breakfast is fine - not exceptional - but the staff are well-meaning and friendly, and the place is well-managed. Clean room, great a/c (necessary in Indonesia!) and reliable fast internet. Excellent value for money, and worth travelling out of town away from the busy streets.

Aphanchanok O.
Thailand
October 26, 2013
Beautiful place
Good good and very good
I recommend this hotel very nice, good view, natural, inexpensive but they didn't have restaurant.

Audia I.
Indonesia
October 13, 2013
Umah Gran is really quite.
quite, cool, calm