Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1671 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 7.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 6.2
Sort by

Mohd T. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Hotel near to airport
Clean, Friendly Staff
Staff friendly. There is a small kitchen for cooking. Lift a bit slow and internet sometimes patchy.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sucipto A. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2014
Nice Hotel Apartment Near University
Close to University, Easy access to airport, and Clean
Reviewed February 10, 2014

LISE F. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2014
Good location to bus terminal and airport
Location opposite university, friendly staff, many students to talk to.
I was there only in transit to Gunung Bromo and before flying to Lombok. Convenient location, spotless well-appointed room, food court downstairs. The traffic is mad, I could not face going downtown.
Reviewed February 09, 2014

obed C. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Nice for Budget Hotel
cheap, clean, quiet
I go for business things, need place just for sleep. With moderate budget, using net I got Agoda offering. So I took Agoda offer & got best value & good room.
Reviewed February 07, 2014

Norman W. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Nice large rooms and no frills, I do not need.
Large room, No frills I do not need and Good locality to Uni and Airport.
2 nd time I am staying at the Square. Like the large room with just the basics like boiling water for tea and coffee supplied. Not crowded with people as I checked in late and checked out early. Wish they will provide a few more power points. Reception was basic and efficient. Would stay there again, if just for a day or a night. Possibly will chose a hotel in the City proper if staying longer. Price is very resonable, for transit stay to catch early flight.
Reviewed February 07, 2014

Matthew B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
The hard rock cafe was amazing
Hard Rock Cafe, ironing board, and plants.
Walked and really enjoye the hard rock cafe here. They had ironing boards in the room. Two per room, really useful. Potted plants in every room and hallway make it feel fresh.
Reviewed February 06, 2014

Matthew B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2014
Wow, much greatness, big rice
Great location, near transport, and nice staff
They were really attentive as always in terms of getting me a room. The price was cheap for the value and I enjoyed the starbucks.
Reviewed February 06, 2014

Linus H. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Nice modern design
Cleanliness, Good water pressure and good size room
We joined the Bromo Marathon and on our returned leg of the journey, stayed back at The Square again. Among other hotels in the city, there are probably many more hotels better than this one but for a tight budget, we couldn't ask for more as it is a clean modern room with everything we needed.
Reviewed February 04, 2014

Linus H. from Sweden
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2013
A clean and nice hotel
Design, Shower and comfy bed
There were not many selection in Surabaya within our small budget and this one was what we believed to be the best in the below USD50 range. It has good strong water pressure, clean sheets and all the basic things you can think of. The design of the room is modern and location is near to other amenities.
Reviewed February 03, 2014

Theo M. from Indonesia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
“Good for a night close to airport”
Clean room, close to the airport
That's right, thirty bucks (AU$30) a night - and with that you get nice/clean, air-conditioned rooms, all the necessary facilities and amenities. They even have a fitness centre on site. Close to the airport, plenty of food in the downstairs arcade. Yes I can complain about the small parking spaces and the location, but at thirty bucks a night I'm willing to overlook them.
Reviewed February 03, 2014