Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.7
Based on 1977 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1977 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.3

Tomoko N.
Japan
November 19, 2013
3 nights with my mother at a gorgeous hotel
Great staff, atmosphere and clean room
I stayed for three nights with my mother from Japan. I was hoping the hotel would be as nice as the reviews here since this whole trip was supposed to be a present to mom. It turns out to be one great holiday and Phoenix Yogyakarta has definitely been one of the main reasons. The staff are very professional yet warm and always welcoming which we found already worth what we paid. Breakfasts and dinner (both buffet and a la carte) are worth the money as well, though I would not say 5 stars. But they're good enough and we liked all. Thank you so much for letting us have a great experience.

ODILE M.
France
November 18, 2013
Beautiful heritage hotel but noisy
Style, Location, Food
Good stay, Nice hotel but noisy bedroom located in front so to close from the busy street, certainly due to the good offered price. For these bedrooms ear pluggs recommended.

Risa H.
United States
November 18, 2013
An oasis in the middle of the city
Staff, beautiful property, clean rooms
From the moment we walked in, the staff made our stay enjoyable. This is a beautiful, quiet hotel in the middle of the Jogjakarta chaos.

Roman R.
Philippines
November 14, 2013
Awesome. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Good location, nice hotel design, friendly staff
We had a good stay at this hotel. The place was clean and nice. Good location, room was big. Value for money. Although the restaurant staff may need more service training. But overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Finella S.
Indonesia
November 13, 2013
Clean & Comfy
Clean, Comfy, Nice Design

Karen A.
Philippines
November 09, 2013
Rich in history, full of character
Location, Service, Interiors
We stayed here for three nights and we really had a grand time. The hotel has an old-world charm with an abundance of cultural elements--carved wood wall mosaics, batik displays, antique furnitures--fused with modern touches. We stayed in one of the rooms on the 2nd floor at the old building. Very cozy with just enough space for two. The bathroom fixtures are quite old, though, but they work perfectly fine so it's not really an issue. The hotel also provides tour packages so you really don't have to plan anything. The staff are very helpful and friendly, too! Totally the best place to stay in Yogyakarta, no doubt.

Peiling L.
Singapore
November 08, 2013
A wonderful hotel
Old british colonel style design, attentive staffs and nice pool
This hotel is great. There's really nothing to pick on. The design of the hotel is of an old british colonel style feel and it has a very nice yard with water fountain which gives you a very peaceful feeling when dinning or having a coffee there. At night, there's even someone playing piano at the restaurant so the ambience is really great. The staffs are very attentive and professional. They are friendly, attentive and very efficient. The pool is also very nice for a swim. If I really want to pick on something about the hotel, I guess it's the food. We had dinner for both nights at the hotel as it was raining and we were a little disappointed with the food. It's just ok. So I'd recommend you to head out for the food if you've a chance. Though the buffet breakfast is great with wide variety.

Kian T.
Malaysia
November 08, 2013
Comfort
nice breakfast, nice room, nice environment

Meiyana S.
Indonesia
November 07, 2013
The Phoenix Hotel is a classic hotel
friendly staff, clean room, nice interior
We enjoy this hotel very much, there are lots of nice spot for photography, rooms are clean and staff are very polite - we love their politeness

Derek M.
United Kingdom
November 05, 2013
Great colonial hotel
Service, location, facilities
Wonderful colonial hotel, in the style of a mini Raffles Hotel from Singapore, offering great rooms, pool, food, drinks, everything really. Great city for a weekend break, with Borobudur, Prambanan and the volcano all easily visited in a day trip, which the hotel can help organise. Start at Borobudur at sunset and you won't be disappointed.