arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 95 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 95 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.7

10 Martina C.
United Kingdom
December 12, 2014
Fantastic Food
The food was great, brilliant room and private onsen bath
A great stay at this brilliant hotel ryokan, I was worried eating in a dining room would spoil the Japanese experience but it was lovely (glad I didn't have to prepare room for dinner and breakfast) the food great and lovely to have the private bath as well as different mineral public bath. The walk from the station is easy - go under the little underpass and go straight on until you have to go up a steep hill on your left (steep for all of 10-15mtrs) then it's the first place on your right, or just ask the helpful information station outside the station.

6 Jasmine L.
Singapore
December 11, 2014
Reasonable price for private outdoor onsen
Private Outdoor Onsen
This is not an authentic ryokan, it is a ryokan style hotel. I chose this mainly for its private outdoor onsen but the shower could do with a little touch up. It's tucked away from Gora station among other onsen stays. I'd recommend you to take a cab in and but when returning to Gora stn, walk out for the fresh air in the morning. Food is nothing to rave about but definitely a good experience.

7.7 Rochus B.
Germany
October 06, 2014
excellent and relaxing. ... private onzen snd good
private bath
Pleasant

7.3 Tham F.
Malaysia
September 30, 2014
Nice onsen
Food, cosy, quiet
15mins walk from Gora station. Quiet area nothing nearby. Nice food although it's held in the restaurant and not in room. The private bath though small, is quite nice. Overall good value.

9.3 chen G.
Singapore
August 18, 2014
Japanese style room with private hot spring bath
Good breakfast and dinner and private hot spring bath
We booked two Japanese style room for two nights at Gora Ichinoya hotel in Hakone. My family enjoyed the stay, nice, healthy breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed the private hot spring bath in room. Thank you to all staff that served us. They are and friendly and polite.

8 Kai G.
Singapore
June 22, 2014
Quiet, convenient, close to major attractions.
Breakfast is wholesome and good! Hotel is relatively near to Gora Station.
Generally, Gora Ichinoyu Hotel is a good ryokan style hotel whereby the location is near to the Gora Station. The breakfast that comes together with the hotel stay is nice too. Attached onsen bath in the room is definitely a plus. However, in summer, whereby it's hot and everything else is alive, bugs will come flying in.. which I was not quite prepared for. But if I am returning in winter / autumn, it will be a hotel where I will definitely stay at.

9.3 Wai T.
Canada
June 20, 2014
I love the place and very relaxing.
I love the private open air onsen, washroom and big size room. Can access Internet from room. Near the Gora station and can take cable car and rope car from the same station.
I am so please with the stay. The only thing is to walk up the steep slop to the hotel. When it rain, it is diff to walk down at the short steep slop part. Rec. to buy day pass for traveling around for sightseeing. Taking the taxi ulto the hotel is not that expensive. Only about 730 yen. But when we asked the hotel to call the taxi in advance to go down to the station, thee is an extra 500 yen charge on top of the 730 yen. If you don't have much luggage, I rec to walk down the hill with your luggage.

8.3 wing C.
China
June 18, 2014
nice place to stay
good location, clean, polite staff

9.3 Jill G.
United States
June 18, 2014
Super relaxing
privater hot springs tub in my room on the patio, view of the mountains, breakfast
I enjoyed my stay and wish I could have stayed two more days.

7 Christie S.
Australia
June 14, 2014
Great way to wind down after a busy stay in Tokyo.
Size of room; private onsen; location.
Our stay was very relaxing overall. We booked a traditional Japanese room with tatami and private onsen. The room was huge, especially in comparison to Tokyo's tiny shoe box,sized rooms. Private onsen was great and overlooked a lush valley. Since we weren't prepared to bathe Japanese,style in the public baths, the private onsen was a great alternative. The set dinner menu is definitely worth a try. Though staff's English is limited, they were very friendly and helpful. I would also recommend taking a taxi upon reaching the station as the 15 minute uphill walk to the hotel is a little tricky with bags.