Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 78 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 7.5

CHIANG E. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2013
NICE , CLEAN AND COMFORT
NICE CLEAN AND COMFORT
NICE ENVIROMENT , COMFORT PLACE AND NICE STAFF , I WILL BE BACK
Reviewed January 06, 2014

yung F. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2013
Comfort
Comfort room with free hot spring
Good
Reviewed August 05, 2013

Daniel H. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in June 2013
Amazing Onsen! Great Japanese stlye rooms.
2 great Onsens, Wonderful breakfast and dinner buffet, Big Japanese style rooms
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Christopher B. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2012
Great ryokan and onsen.
Beautiful environment, great service, large rooms and onsens.
Was there with a friend for a night, as we wanted to try onsen on a mountain during our time in Japan. The hotel might look a bit old and modest looking, but still had enough features for us to enjoy. Checking in was simple enough. The staff at the reception spoke decent English and had no problems with my Agoda print out. The room we booked was a half board one, where we have a choice to either sleep on the beds or in futons on tatami. There was no air con, we had to open the window and enjoy the natural mountain breeze. There was no wifi or lan cable as well, we would have to head down to the lobby to enjoy wifi. The large room coupled with good view of the mountain was really relaxing. The toilet was of decent size but well segmented into different compartments. The staff also pointed out that we have to lock the room when leaving the room. Dinner for us was buffet styled. While the food was not notably fantastic, the wide variety well make up for it. My only complain is that the sashimi was bad consider we were in Japan. Onsen was a real highlight. We had a choice of either trying out the one within the hotel, or another at a partner building, 5 mins walk away. The hotel's version was a simple pool indoors and another outdoors, but the temperature of the water was much higher. The partner building on the other hand had many varieties, including a sauna room. Soaking in the onsen while enjoying the cold breeze was just too enjoyable. To end things off, there are also foot spa and milk vending machines. Breakfast was also buffet styled. Lastly, I would like to point out on their customer service efforts. One example was when we had return to the hotel after taking a slow walk down to explore and shopping for souvenirs. As we previously deposited our key at the reception counter, we had to queue up among a group waiting to check in. The staff who had earlier brought us to our room, saw us and immediately handed us our key.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Zhen T. from Australia
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2012
Tranditional style hotel
Great free dinner
This is tranditional style hotel. I have experienced Japanese style room and dress. Hotel offers free dinner with more than 20 dishes, which were really great. Hotel is quite far away from station. There is shuttle bus to hotel but you need pay 100 Yen for each trip. Hotel is tranditional but quite old, need upgrade. No air-con. No wifi. Wifi is only avaiable in lobby.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Yossapol S. from Thailand
Families with older children
Stayed one night in November 2012
Good hot spring with great service
Japanese - Western style room and comfortable hot spring facility.
The room is big, the meal serving at the room is very good. There is some information you need to know before you going to the public bath. You can walk to another hot spring or can stay in the hotel and use hotel hot spring. The staff are very nice and can communicate in English a little. Even though there are some comments say that we can walk to the hotel from the station, I'd recommend to use the shuttle bus instead. It costs 100 yen each but it's a bit too far walking there through some slopes with our backpacks.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Surachai T. from Thailand
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2012
Great onsen
Old
Great onsen with convenient location by shuttle bus every 20 minutes. It provides breakfast with japanese traditional style. Good to stay here for your relaxation holidays.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Surachai T. from Thailand
Families with young children
Stayed one night in October 2012
Great onsen
No
Great onsen with convenient location by shuttle bus every 20 minutes. It provides breakfast with japanese traditional style. Good to stay here for your relaxation holidays.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Savvas L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2012
Great Location, excellent surroundings
Excellent baths and springs, great service. Hotel seemed a little tired but clean. Great service.
problem with communiction, not sure of protocol with public baths etc
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Nicholas I. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2012
Very traditional quiet hotel with great service
Includes bath and hot spring
Nice hotel in Hakone. A lot of open space and nature in the surrounding area. Although hotel seems a bit dated, everything was neat and clean. Service was great and it just gives a very traditional feeling. The public bath and hot spring was included and makes the stay in this hotel well worth it.
Reviewed May 27, 2012


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: