arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 54 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 54 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Staff Performance 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.5

8 John G.
United States
August 30, 2014
Classy place
Food, Location, Decor
This is a very nice place, withing easy walking (15 minutes or less) of most the attractions of this attractive city. The food was quite good and not too expensive, and much of the furnature was made locally and is of very high quality.

9.3 Kevin C.
United States
June 02, 2014
Beautiful Japanese room and great breakfast!
The breakfast was amazing, the room was very large and just a few minutes walk to the castle.
I loved staying here and will definitely return. Their set breakfast ($12usd) was one of the highlights of our trip.

7.7 GARY G.
Australia
April 17, 2014
relaxed and friendly
staff,public bath withih 20 minutes walk of train station and castle
very relaxed.5 minutes to castle(main attraction) 20 minutes walk to railway/bus station.Quiet location.

10 Robert B.
United States
April 08, 2014
Best hotel we stayed in during our time in Japan!
Very close to Matsumoto Castle, good restaurant on site and a city taxi stand was right next door
Hotel staff was amazing! So friendly and helpful!

8.7 DAVID U.
United States
January 01, 2014
Clean, comfortable and very close to Matsumoto Cas
Close proximity to Matsumoto Castle, very friendly and attentive staff, large family room up to 8 people
A very comfortable hotel. Not fancy and a bit dated, but to us, was its' biggest charm. Very close to Matsumoto Castle (an absolute must-see). Basic but good restaurant and the friendliest and most helpful staff imaginable. Men's and Women's furo (large segregated bath areas) to soak in after a day's sight seeing. Not to miss (if you are an adult) is the "Standing Bar" across the street from the entrance to the hotel. It is as it's name implies....there is just enough room to stand up in and are no seats at all. But a small but thriving bar and an absolute taste of local flavor. Great sake and whiskeys to warm your cold bones (especially if it is winter). Many local soba-ya and ramen shops and numerous souvenir shops within strolling distance.

9 Kee O.
Malaysia
December 16, 2013
Comfort and value for money
Location, cleanliness, friendly staff

8.7 Elise H.
Australia
November 05, 2013
Central tourist Location
Location, close to sightseeing and food areas
Having stayed In. The Japanese Room we were very pleased with it's size and cleanliness. The rooms are definately better value mid week. Ou room was attended to each day which was good. It would have been good to have one extra towel in room for the onsen. Japanese room had an English guide to Japanese ways such as onsen, meals etc. this was very helpful.

5.7 Hafizah S.
Malaysia
November 02, 2013
Hotel is far from the station.
n/a

8.3 Ka C.
Hong Kong
August 17, 2013
Good location and room is large
Close to Matsumoto castle, JR station and the down town area
The hotel is a good location for sightseeing. Very close to Matsumoto castle and downtown area. Recommends for sightseeing and vacation tourists. The staff can speak English and very helpful. We staryed in a Japanese style room, it is large and very comfortable.

8.7 Douglas J.
United States
June 14, 2013
A great hotel with ambiance
They have a great bath open all night, wifi and beautiful furniture in the lobby.
Great! If I go to Matsumoto, I'll definitely stay there again.