arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.4
Based on 164 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 164 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

8.7 Kozy A.
United States
February 24, 2016
Nice hotel in a great location
(1) Great location - within a walking distance to the great park and temples, (2) good ambience, and (3) courteous staff.
I stayed at this hotel 19 years ago and loved it, so I wanted to stay here again. The best part is its location. Both times I stayed at the "New" wing, but this time I felt the room, especially the bathroom, was quite dated and could use some renovation. Restaurants were pricy, including the breakfast. I will stay at this hotel again for its location, in spite of the outdated bathroom, but will not eat here.

9.3 Laurenske L.
Netherlands
January 06, 2016
amazing views
luxurious, historical, ambiance
Our stay at the Nara Hotel was great, such ambiance, a hotel with a great history. If walls could talk. Deer run by in the evening so be sure to have a drink in the bar to see them

9 KO-WEI L.
Taiwan
December 14, 2015
Beautiful scenery and perfect staffs service
location, history, service

9 Valerie I.
Philippines
December 08, 2015
Loving Nara Hotel
Hotel architecture, environment, staff
very restful. i loved the hotel architecture, surroundings and also, the historical artifacts around (einstein piano, silverware). the staff were also delightful, they're very courteous.

7 Anne B.
Australia
November 16, 2015
Iconic Hotel but...............
Lovely period feel. large rooms, attentive staff
There is a lot to like about Nara Hotel (although like many good hotels in Japan it is a struggle to see value for money) which are fulsomely addressed in other reviews. Just a couple of points to bear in mind - the condition of the rooms is a little tired (which may contribute to the period feel!), the in room dining menu is really quite limited (given it's restaurants are well rated) and the key point of concern is that the rooms (we had two) and the building generally were very over heated. The primary job of any hotel is to deliver a good nights rest and we certainly did not get that on our first night. We tried fiddling with the heating/air con, window opening (limited periods - we couldn't sleep with road noise) and taking quilts out of covers (why do hotels provide thick quilts and no sheets, then heat rooms to over 26 c? ) to no avail. To be fair, the next day after we spoke to the front desk, the heating was turned down to something nearer bearable. I find hotels are often very overheated - I think there is an opportunity for the hotel industry to strike a blow against global warming which might be way more effective then the little notices saying you have the option to re use your towels (which in my experience is routinely ignored by housekeeping in the better hotels!.

5.7 Stoeckel V.
Germany
November 15, 2015
Nara hotel
Close to deer park
The hotel is in urgent need of renovation

9.3 Dorcas R.
United States
November 12, 2015
Exceptional services received
Location is best! Excellent services received. Very accommodating staff! Beautiful hotel!
The best stay we've had in Japan so far!

9 Wipawee P.
Thailand
October 28, 2015
Nice hotel
Hotel decoration, location, food
It was a pleasant stay. The room is very well decorated. The view from the hotel is very nice. The location is close to Nara park and in a walking distance to Todaiji temple.

7.7 Clemann W.
Singapore
September 25, 2015
Nice hotel, good location
Architecture and location

10 Zhongwei Z.
China
September 09, 2015
Nice legend hotel in Nara
Location, History, Satff
In the center of the old town Nara, 15-min walk to most places you wanna go in Nara :-) Like it, will stay there again ~