arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 145 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 145 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Lee A.
Hong Kong
November 11, 2015
Friendly staff
location, friendly staff and clean
Nice and friendly staff. 5 mins walk to the train and bus station.

Ro B.
Australia
November 02, 2015
Over rated.
The location, comfortable beds, quiet.
We were quite disappointed in this accommodation. It looks much better on the website than in actuality. We were given a room on the third floor with no lift so had to walk up and down steep and uncomfortable stairs all the time in our socks. They do have the Japanese slippers that you can use but I found them hard to walk in, especially going up and down the stairs and I was worried that they made it unsafe. They did carry our cases up when we arrived but made no offer to carry them down when we left and neither of us is young. We did not eat there so cannot rate the food. The room had the bare necessities although they did provide Yakatas, Japanese style house coats, which was good, and there was a fridge and TV in the room. They also have a hot spring bath which Keith enjoyed. I don't like them so didn't use it. The position is good, easy walking distance to the station and most of the main attractions.

To Y.
Hong Kong
October 27, 2015
convenient, food, clean
convenient location, delicious dinner, clean and nice room

TG K.
Australia
October 26, 2015
Basic comfort
Location, comfortable bed, air conditioning
For the price, the minshuku is good value because of its location. The rooms are on the first and second floors but the men's bath and toilet are on the ground floor. There is no lift so it's a trudge up and down the stairs if you have to go in the middle of the night!

Glenn C.
Australia
October 06, 2015
Great Family Stay
Location of the hotel to train station was excellent. They have large rooms which catered for our Family of 5. Proximity to main areas and restaurants is fantastic.
The Minshuku Kuwataniya Ryokan really suited our family of 5 (3 daughters aged 13, 10 and 6). It was by far the most economical accommodation we could find for the 5 of us in Takayama. The girls really enjoyed the Kimonos and Onsen. As a bonus, the location of the Ryokan is excellent, 5 mins walk from train station and 5-10 mins walk from most of the city attractions in Takayama and the best restaurant in Takayama is just around the corner. Although the English of the hosts was not very good they did everything to help us enjoy our stay. I would highly recommend for large families to stay here.

Jenny L.
Australia
September 27, 2015
Small and quiet ryokan in takayama
Close to station, quiet as not in the Main Street where shops are, and easy to find
I think it's not a bad place to stay for couples as the place is quiet. However, as we had young kids I was rather worried that they would break something in there or run down stairs and wonder off in the streets as the main door is open most of the time. The lady who greeted us was very polite and pleasant to deal with.

Chia L.
Singapore
September 14, 2015
Close to JR station within walking distant
Hotel location is within walking distance frm JR station about 5-10 mins walk. Many food options and great location for exploring
Great location. Close to JR and food and near the old town. Room was clean, comfy and spacious for 2 person

RUJIREK C.
Thailand
July 14, 2015
Great!
location, onsen, cleanliness
Great location near the station. Great service with very helpful staffs. The room is very clean. Great!

Maggie S.
Taiwan
July 12, 2015
very clean
clean, confortable living, tranditional Japanese style
we will visit this stay again.

wasamon T.
Thailand
May 22, 2015
Nice location. Clean facility
Location. Cleanliness. Convenient
Stayed with my mom and the futon is soft and there r every basic thing u need