Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 730 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 730 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.6
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.6

Carsten T. from Germany
Business travelers
Stayed 8 nights in July 2012
Good Hotel
All is there what you want, very close to one of the best areas in Tokyo (Akasaka)
As always a pleasure. Used this hotel couple of times over the years and it is very convenient but very big in size (hotel city) The Garden Tower doesnt offer any wifi :-(
Reviewed August 02, 2012

Simon M. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Large rooms and easy location
The rooms were very big for Japanese standards, amenities in room were great, subway station was close
We stayed at the New Otani for 4 nights in July. The hotel is very big, as are the rooms. This was a nice surprise after staying in other Japanese hotels with very small rooms. The hotel has many restaurants to choose from, if you want to stay-in for the odd meal. However, it is very close to the Akasaka subway station. From here Shibuya and other main centres are easily accessible. Akasaka itself also has some great restaurants, which are a short walk from the hotel. The hotel has a pool, which is available for hotel guests and the public. There is an entry fee of around 3,000Yen for guests and much more for outsiders. It's a shame that you can't just pop to the pool for a swim each morning without paying. But the one afternoon we spent at the pool provided a welcome respite from the July heat. I seemed everyone else had the same idea: it was packed! The buffet breakfast was pricey, but very good. There were loads of Asian and European options to choose from. We would definitely stay here again!
Reviewed August 01, 2012

man C. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great main tower , but poor garden tower
All the thing in main tower is fine , room , bed , everything
I book the otani, after arrive found that the garden tower room is terrible for me and my family , I can't accept the bed without quilt, only with blanket , and all the furniture looks so old. Then I ask the help from staff , I want to change to main tower, coz it looks much more newer then tower garden. Staff is helpful , after I paid extra 27000 yen . We move to the room located in main tower. Just for 2 nights. And no breakfast. The staff are friendly. But I won't stay there again, not valuable .
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Sara C. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2012
Great view and comfortable bed
Amazing pool and garden
This was the last hotel during a very long traveling week. The staff was extremely friendly and very prompt in delivering our luggage to our room. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The pool and garden were beautiful but there was alot of children so I would not recommend it for couples looking for a quite get away.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Supicha K. from Thailand
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Beautiful hotel, great service
Great service
The room is a good size, the service was amazing, the hotel itself is grand and beautiful. I like how close it is to the Japanese garden, and the dining room looks great.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

John S. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in July 2012
Good location to get MRT .but room are small
Good access to MRT.
Good price as 5 star hotel. Nice access to any down town area. But room are small and old. We did up grade ro main tower. Garden tower who want to stay higher floor ,will be good. But room are small and very old. Main tower is nice. Not big room but nice size and clean. Hotel has beautiful Japanese garden . Nice to walking . Fitness room and pool charge 60 usd per time. Which is too expensive . Restaurant is nice but quite expensive. There are a lots of restraint around hotel. Overall ok. Staff are friendly.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Judith H. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Cold, expensive hotel
Friendly staff, nice surroundings
I purchased this hotel with the idea of staying in a really nice hotel with a pool so we could relax after walking Tokyo's busy streets. When we arrived I was impressed with the hotel's opulance but its lack of atmosphere is glaringly obvious. All of the staff expressed their desire for us to enjoy out stay but it was given without any real warmth or authenticity. The room was clean but smaller than the apartment (which cost half the price) we had left. The restaurants were grossly overpriced and the swimming pool was closed!! You could swim in the spa but that was outrageously expensive (even with the discount because I was staying in the hotel) and it cost 100Yen to use the internet for 5 minutes (but it took 1.5 minutes to even get connected) when everywhere else we stayed it was either free or 100Yen for 15 minutes. The hotel seems to think its guests are actually cash cows. I would never stay here again
Reviewed July 10, 2012

paul S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Old hotel, but still nice
hotel restaurants
This hotel is showing its age. Our guest room definitely could have done with a new rug!! However, the elegance of the hotel as a whole somewhat made up for it. There were a variety of lovely restaurants (very expensive!)in the hotel and also down the street. The location not as central as we would have liked it, but all-in-all, a good experience.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

JAY M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Perfect for Tokyo central. Lovely hotel.
Easy access to train, bus etc. Walking distance to many, many places.
Excellent service and attention to detail. VERY friendly and helpful stall from the bell boys to the concierge. Rooms serviced daily and perfection everytime. Will stay again everytime in Tokyo. Easy to move around the city from here.
Reviewed July 07, 2012

Edmundo P. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed 7 nights in June 2012
Big Hotel
Nice garden. Near subway stations
The triple room is very nice and spacious. The room was renovated.
Reviewed July 06, 2012