Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 49 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.9
  • Service 6.4
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Cosmin C. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
Nice location, but very small rooms.
Convenient location
The location of this hotel is really convenient, located near the subway station - Asakusa Station and the Sensou-ji Temple. The front desk is open for 24 hours. If you are traveling just for sightseeing, and an inexpensive place to rest, it's a good choice. The rooms are clean, but too small and old.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Csaba J. from Hungary
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in July 2010
Great place for sightseeing
Very easy access by subway
A bit noisy, due to its central location
I had a nice stay in the hotel. Its in the very close vicinity of the old part of Tokyo Asakusa. Really good and low cost noodle restaurants in the area. Through the subway system any part of the city can be reached in a relatively short time.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

nattavee I. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2010
Kawase Hotel
price and location
nothing
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Zivko M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010
Cheap and cheerful
Good location, cheap
Poor room size and layout
I needed a quick find with good location and this fitted the bill perfectly. Close to train station and when you are sightseeing you don't worry too much about the room - at least I don't. Staff was very helpfull. They spoek good english which in Japan can be a hit and miss. It was particularly cold April and the room was drafty somewhat so thankfully air-con managed to keep me warm. Overall very satisfied for what it was. I would recomend thsi to a selo traveller or people on the budget. Nto romantic by any stretch of imagination.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Narawan T. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2010
The hotel is very close to Asakusa subway station
The hotel is close to subway station and temple.
No wireless in the room,If we need to use internet,we must deposit 1000 yen to get the LAN connector.The hotel check out is very early 10:00.If we check out late ,the hotel will charge per hour.And if we need to keep the baggage in the hotel after check out,the hotel will charge 1800 yen per day.
Old and very small room.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Amlan D. from India
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in April 2010
pleasant stay
Location & transport accessibility
Look, feel & style. Lack of space to keep luggage.
Good for low budget traveller, small rooms but just comfortable for a short stay. The location of the hotel is superb. One minute from Tokyo metro and waterbus stations makes transport accessibility very easy and convenient. Friendly host if you are patient enough to communicate with slow n easy english. In a word we had a pleasant stay.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Amlan D. from India
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
value for money
location, accessibility of transport
style & look
Can not say that it was particularly a very pleasurable stay but comfortable and definitely value for money. Reception & hotel service is not very professional but homely. If one can communicate in a friendly way they're nice & helpful people. The key feature of the hotel is it's location and ease of communication.
Reviewed April 09, 2010

Benjamin B. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in March 2010
Kawase Hotel review (Ben, 19, Aus)
- Convenient location (within walking distance from both Asakusa station and Asakusa subway station) - Within walking distance of one of the major tourist spots in Japan (Sensō-ji) - Very polite staff. Willing to help a hand wherever possible. Will treat good customers with great respect. I repaid my respects by purchasing some fruit as a gift. They were VERY appreciative. - Private rooms are well worth the bargain price. - Close by to many eateries and food outlets (including some traditional eateries as well as Western fast food places such as KFC and McDonalds) - Free Internet. VERY useful for letting loved ones know about things - Plenty of English signing. Was fantastic for someone like me who speaks little Japanese and needs to know what things mean.
Water runs from the same source in the single rooms. You cannot shower and have the basin running at the same time. Granted though, why would anyone want both running? Apart from that, there weren't any downsides.
Although it took a while to find where I was staying, as I had just come from the airport and feeling very disoriented about my location and whereabouts, I felt straight at home once I checked in. It turns out that the location was perfect for everything. Only a two minute walk to the subways, or a minute walk to the train station. Sensō-ji was nearby, which made for a convenient attraction nearby. I cannot praise the staff as much as I want to. They were fantastic! Very polite, generous and greatful. They all speak fairly okay English. And one of the older ladies would occasionally offer a cup of coffee or tea to people using the computers in the lobby. In comparison, I doubt I can find the same hospitality from another hotel anywhere else. The room was small, but spacious enough. All the signs for the heater and other objects had an English translation, which really did help alot. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Although I did not stay in the hostel capsules, I heard many good things from the people who did.
Reviewed April 07, 2010

Jonathan K. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in March 2010
Good location but depressing hotel
Half block from Asakusa metro stop; very inexpensive hotel for Tokyo; many shops and restaurants nearby
Tired rooms; tiny lobby with no other common area; worn mattresses; LAN line too far to use computer on desk; generally depressing hotel
If you insist on a private hotel room with ensuite bathroom, you probably cannot do better for the price. However, for a similar price I had a much better experience at Sakura Hotel--the downside being no bathroom in the room.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Daniel M. from France
Groups
Stayed one night in June 2010
séjour à tokyo; quartier asakusa et sumida river
Ce petit hôtel est très bien situé pour visiter le quartier typique d'asakusa; à 2 pas de la station de métro; les chambres sont très petites mais rien ne manque et le personnel est très sympatique.
Il n'y a pas de faiblesse compte tenu du prix modeste et je ne vois pas ce qui peut être amélioré.
On ne séjournera pas très longtemps dans cet hôtel qui est idéalement placé pour visiter à faible prix le quartier d'asakusa et de la sumida river. Je recommande sans hésiter cet hôtel dans ce contexte.
Reviewed July 14, 2010