arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 845 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 845 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Martin S.
Germany
July 09, 2015
Not recommended
Location, laundry service
The Granbell Hotel is located in an ok area of Shibuya. It is close to the west exit of Shibuya station. The rooms are extremely small. I fell on the bed when i tried to walk around it. It is clean and has a big shower area with a tub. Everything else is tiny. The large curtain suggests a big window. But it's only a tiny window behind the curtain. There is no view. You are literally looking at a wall 4 feet away. This room is very depressing. But it encourages you to leave as soon as possible and to stay out as long as possible. The neighborhood has a lot of small eateries. Do not have the breakfast at the first floor pizza place. It is awful. The Japanese breakfast on the second floor is slightly better, but still should be avoided. No way, that this is a 4-star hotel. It's a 2-star hotel due to its cleanliness and laundry service. The laundry service is expensive but it is good. I have no clue, how people would rate this place above a six. This is a hotel I would not want to stay again.

WAI C.
Hong Kong
July 05, 2015
Nice hotel
Good location, nice staff, comfortable room
Pretty good, nice staff with good explanation. On time Check-in. Location is good that convenient to train station.

Robin G.
Philippines
July 05, 2015
Good
Location
Good

Sam N.
Australia
July 03, 2015
Great stay
Staff, location, room
Excellent stay, friendly staff who were always willing to accommodate our every need. Would definetly stay again!

Chan Y.
Singapore
July 03, 2015
Good but customer service can be improved
(1) Acccesbility; within walking distance to subway (2) Clean room with modern amenities (3) Japanese breakfast served is nutritious and tasty
Customer service can be improved to be more prompt and sincere as we were expecting our much-anticipated Gibli Museum admission tickets to be delivered to our hotel by courier. However, eventually when the tickets were delivered after a hiccup, the hotel staff did not check thoroughly and informed that there was no mail such that the itinerary on the actual day of visit was changed with the disappointing intention that we would not be able to visit the attraction after all. Fortunately, my husband went back to the reception to check on it after breakfast. Then it was discovered that the tickets had been delivered the night before. This was upsetting and it could have been averted if the staff had been more meticulous.

Yuliana D.
United States
June 30, 2015
great place for a short stay
best things about this hotel: rate, decor, cleanliness, and staff
My stay was short therefore location and daily rate were ideal. However the hotel was difficult to find at first especially if you're moving around via metro. The complimentary breakfast was a win-over perk and it was delicious. The hotel staff were courteous and very helpful like every other resident of this great country. I would recommend it to those who need a place to crash or city hopping.

Ricky C.
Hong Kong
June 29, 2015
Cozy room, conveniently located
The room is nice with everything meeting my expectation, the location is almost perfect, within 5min walk from the Shibuya JR station and lots of restaurants around that open till late night

Colin S.
United States
June 26, 2015
You're paying for the location
Location, Cleanliness, Location
If you keep in mind you're paying for the location and not the size or quality of the room, or the quality of the service, then you'll have a great stay. Keep your expectations low for this one! The staff were very nice and the room was very clean. On the other hand, the staff were not very knowledgeable about the area and my Single Non-smoking Room was was tiny, I mean, really, really tiny! Aside from a capsule hotel, it's the tiniest room I've ever stayed in--there was hardly enough space to lay my suitcase open. I didn't have a bad stay--I have to say it was actually pleasant--but I think it's a bit over-priced for what you get. You are paying for the location, as I mentioned, but it's not the only hotel in the location in the same price range . . . .

Kevin C.
United States
June 24, 2015
Good business hotel
Location, room
Nice little business hotel in Shibuya. Great location. The room was pretty small but this is Tokyo. It was a decent setup though, so no complaints. Would stay here again!

ANG A.
Indonesia
June 22, 2015
thin wall
Location
Bad, I knew its kinda hotel when found out that the room can be rent per hour for daily use. There are people non stop at night and in the morning, the wall is so thin, really drives you crazy. Breakfast at the cafe , choose the breakfast at restaurant on the 2nd floor