Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 847 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 847 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

Tjung K. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in July 2015
Location, value for money
Location, clealiness and cooperatif staff
It is fine to stay here and get a surprise that we were given breakfast coupon, where as our booking is a non breakfast package. Interior is modern and will stay here again
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Pauline T. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Great location
Location. Cleanliness. Convenient.
Location is great, only 5min walk to Shibuya subway station across the bridge, which does have an elevator for those with a luggage. Room size is very small but that is typical for tokyo. Room is clean and has all the basic amenities. 3 convenient stores are close by.
Reviewed July 26, 2015

Martin S. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Not recommended
Location, laundry service
The Granbell Hotel is located in an ok area of Shibuya. It is close to the west exit of Shibuya station. The rooms are extremely small. I fell on the bed when i tried to walk around it. It is clean and has a big shower area with a tub. Everything else is tiny. The large curtain suggests a big window. But it's only a tiny window behind the curtain. There is no view. You are literally looking at a wall 4 feet away. This room is very depressing. But it encourages you to leave as soon as possible and to stay out as long as possible. The neighborhood has a lot of small eateries. Do not have the breakfast at the first floor pizza place. It is awful. The Japanese breakfast on the second floor is slightly better, but still should be avoided. No way, that this is a 4-star hotel. It's a 2-star hotel due to its cleanliness and laundry service. The laundry service is expensive but it is good. I have no clue, how people would rate this place above a six. This is a hotel I would not want to stay again.
Reviewed July 09, 2015

WAI C. from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2015
Nice hotel
Good location, nice staff, comfortable room
Pretty good, nice staff with good explanation. On time Check-in. Location is good that convenient to train station.
Reviewed July 05, 2015

Robin G. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Good
Location
Good
Reviewed July 05, 2015

Sam N. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015
Great stay
Staff, location, room
Excellent stay, friendly staff who were always willing to accommodate our every need. Would definetly stay again!
Reviewed July 03, 2015

Chan Y. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Good but customer service can be improved
(1) Acccesbility; within walking distance to subway (2) Clean room with modern amenities (3) Japanese breakfast served is nutritious and tasty
Customer service can be improved to be more prompt and sincere as we were expecting our much-anticipated Gibli Museum admission tickets to be delivered to our hotel by courier. However, eventually when the tickets were delivered after a hiccup, the hotel staff did not check thoroughly and informed that there was no mail such that the itinerary on the actual day of visit was changed with the disappointing intention that we would not be able to visit the attraction after all. Fortunately, my husband went back to the reception to check on it after breakfast. Then it was discovered that the tickets had been delivered the night before. This was upsetting and it could have been averted if the staff had been more meticulous.
Reviewed July 03, 2015

Yuliana D. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2015
great place for a short stay
best things about this hotel: rate, decor, cleanliness, and staff
My stay was short therefore location and daily rate were ideal. However the hotel was difficult to find at first especially if you're moving around via metro. The complimentary breakfast was a win-over perk and it was delicious. The hotel staff were courteous and very helpful like every other resident of this great country. I would recommend it to those who need a place to crash or city hopping.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Ricky C. from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Cozy room, conveniently located
The room is nice with everything meeting my expectation, the location is almost perfect, within 5min walk from the Shibuya JR station and lots of restaurants around that open till late night
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Colin S. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2015
You're paying for the location
Location, Cleanliness, Location
If you keep in mind you're paying for the location and not the size or quality of the room, or the quality of the service, then you'll have a great stay. Keep your expectations low for this one! The staff were very nice and the room was very clean. On the other hand, the staff were not very knowledgeable about the area and my Single Non-smoking Room was was tiny, I mean, really, really tiny! Aside from a capsule hotel, it's the tiniest room I've ever stayed in--there was hardly enough space to lay my suitcase open. I didn't have a bad stay--I have to say it was actually pleasant--but I think it's a bit over-priced for what you get. You are paying for the location, as I mentioned, but it's not the only hotel in the location in the same price range . . . .
Reviewed June 26, 2015