arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.9
Based on 480 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 480 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.3
  • Value for Money 9.1
  • Food/Dining 8.6

9.3 Judy T.
Canada
February 27, 2016
Guesthouse on the river
Overlooking the river, the natural lighting in the bathroom, the friendly and helpful staff
It was great. Nice to get out of the business of the town and return to our quiet room.

7.7 Kim N.
Vietnam
February 20, 2016
Great place
Breakfast, staff, garden
Great

9.6 Maximilian H.
Germany
February 12, 2016
Very nice Guesthouse with lovely staff!
The individual houses are spread within a big green garden with some of the houses having river view. The location a little away from the center is no burden as there is a shuttle bus running from the hotel to the city center several times a day. We really enjoyed our stay!

9 Marc L.
Belgium
January 06, 2016
Remarkable stay in Luang Prabang
Staff, Hotel condition, facilities
There is not much to say anymore, both of us had a fantastic stay here.... I recommend this hotel to everybody...

10 Clement A.
United Kingdom
January 05, 2016
Delightful stay!
The friendly staff and incredible service. Wonderful views over the Nam Khan river while dining on your private patio. Everything about it is outstanding!
We absolutely loved our stay at Thongbay Guesthouse. We had a spacious bungalow which overlooked the Nam Khan River and one of our many highlights was having breakfast served on our patio each morning. An absolute delight and a wonderful spread! The staff were of the friendliest and most helpful of all our Asian travels, and just a pleasure to be around. The hotel is situated outside the city centre but there is a complimentary shuttle service to town if you don’t feel up to the 20 minute walk. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it! Thanking all the wonderful staff for the great hospitality.

9.3 Tomer A.
Israel
December 28, 2015
Excellent stay
Vibe, breakfasts and staff
I don't often write reviews, but my experience at Thongbay was absolutely great. Firstly, having breakfasts served on the porch with the river view was priceless. One of the best breakfast experiences I have ever had. Secondly, the staff at the hotel were great. We were there over Christmas, and they invited all the guests to join them for their Christmas dinner. Very kind of them and a really cool experience to mingle with the other guests. I travel in Asia almost every week for business and about once every 6 weeks for pleasure, usually staying at 5* hotels and resorts. Decided this time to try out a lower cost accommodation, and it was absolutely wonderful.

7.3 Sheryl F.
Canada
December 27, 2015
Genuine people
We especially liked the location - a little outside town but easily accessible using the hotel bikes or shuttle. What especially impressed us was the staff. They went out of their way to take care of
The staff is most accommodating. I forgot my charger and phone at the hotel and rushed back from the airport only to find out that they had left the hotel to bring me both! The hotel is close to the airport so you do hear the planes and the local neighbourhood did have some night time parties. The hotel bikes are only just ok - so be sure you check the tires, brakes etc before heading out.

10 Alicja R.
Switzerland
December 01, 2015
Only superlatives
garden space for relaxing, warm and very friendly staff, comfortable logding
I must admit I can only write about Thongbay Guesthouse in superlatives. Our bungalow was spacious, comfortable and nicely arranged with a terrace for breakfasting and reading. The best aspects were the garden and river view sitting spots. Thongbay offers not only the possibility of visiting Luang Prabang, but coming back and relaxing in lovely surroundings. The guesthouse is a bit outside of the city center, and by this I mean a 20 - 25 min walk, but it also offers regular shuttle service as well. Breakfasts are huge and very enjoyable (great pancakes and self-made yoghurt). Finally the staff makes you feel very much at home. Wonderful place, very good price.

10 Jesse V.
United States
October 28, 2015
A little gem!!!
Amazing staff, charming private rooms, delicious breakfast, quick turnaround laundry, and free bikes! Beautiful grounds, airport transfer, must stay!!!
We absolutely loved it. It literally couldn't have been better. 't tried to extend our stay but they were already booked.

8 Natsumi Y.
Japan
October 15, 2015
Nice stay
they bring breakfast to the room upon our request time. Free bicycle rental.
staffs are nice and helpful and nothing to complaining about this hotel. location is not in the city central. we definetly need to ride a bicycle to get there but only takes 5 to 10 mins. so it is just nice riding.