Back to hotel info

Above average 6.0
Based on 52 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 52 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 4.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.1
  • Service 6.0
  • Value for Money 6.1
  • Food/Dining 4.7
Sort by

deane W.
United States
November 17, 2013
Large rooms
Large rooms,comfortable bed, refrigerator, elevator
Booked mainly because of the elevator. Hotel is a little old and outdated but about average from what I expected in Vientiane. Coffee was good.

Will M.
United States
September 28, 2013
Decent older hotel priced right
Quick checkin, clean room, downtown location
I enjoyed my stay at Anou Paradise. The building is older and has that ambiance of an older hotel. Wood structure, wood floors in rooms (which were very well cared for; shiny; only a bit creaky here or there). Staff were friendly enough, with most having enough English ability to answer some basic questions, give directions, etc. Someone earlier mentioned Anou's old elevator; I'm not sure it's all that old, it's just slow; I never felt unsafe in it. I usually take the stairs down in any building and I did so at Anou; the stairs were wide, carpeted, had a nice wooden banister; had an older, colonial feel. The breakfast that came with the reservation I made through Agoda was certainly nothing to write home about: a bowl of porridge or an omelet were the options, along with bread that you could toast and add some margarine and jam to, . . which, really, is about on par with what most lower-priced hotels in Southeast Asia offer. The hotel is in the downtown area right near a large (for Vientiane)shopping center that has a supermarket; that was useful; I picked up some pretty good English muffins and toasted them back at the hotel's breakfast table toaster. It's also near a lot of restaurants of all kinds, and within walking distance of the night market at the park that runs along the Mekong River. All in all, I was quite pleased with my stay at Anou Paradise.

Denis I.
Malaysia
September 05, 2013
Loa PDR is not so good for holidays
Large Room, Centrally Located and outside food.
Not so good so we just stayed for 1 night. The Anou Paradise hotel is definitely not a paradise.... it was really pretty bad. There are much better places to go for a holiday if you are looking for good value holidays ie. Phnom Penh, Cambodia much better for value holidays. I was really disappointed with my holiday in the Lao PDR but luckily for me it was only for 1 day.... I was travelling to Thailand from Malaysia so it was the nearest entry to this part of Thailand from Malaysia.

Mike M.
Germany
May 19, 2013
Ok for 1 or 2 nights..
good and friendly staff, well located, value for money

venus V.
Australia
March 04, 2013
Reasonable Hotel & Services but good location
No features at the Hotel
Room is not upgreded to fullfill the advertisement photos; Shampoo & conditioner not provided. Hotel need to upgrade

PHILLIP T.
United Kingdom
February 25, 2013
Basic but Acceptable Vientiane Hotel
Large Rooms
Anou Paradise Hotel Vientiane Laos. My office booked me in this Hotel as all other Hotels we use were fully booked due to some ASEAN Major conference going on in the Capital. Am not sure what star rating this is but would maybe put it as a 2 Star. Located centrally with fairly easy access to anywhere you may want to go, the Building is pretty old and a little run down, slightly difficult to converse with any stay in English, so speak slowly and repeat yourself. I was booked into a VIP room which sometimes is referred to as a Suite online, $40 a night. Have to say the room is pretty large and spacious which is something I like, the bed was fairly comfy not like many of the Asian beds which are like sleeping on a concrete floor!! Rooms are cleanish, not spotless and many little areas not given the attention they should do in this customer orientated business, but again, not too bad, acceptable really but nothing special. Bathrooms as the main rooms are pretty outdated and need some attention, but again scrape by inspection. Very small TV in room which is difficult to see from the Bed, a few English language channels which are ok, HBO, AXN and a few news Channels and also a couple of Sports Channels. Not sure how the Laundry actually works, yes they do laundry, but I think one of the Cleaning ladies does it as a side-line! No receipt or written bill, but it is very cheap and she does a good job, you will need to pay her cash though, 1 Pr Trousers, 2 Shirts, 2 underwear and 2 socks only 20,000 Kip !! And nicely done and pressed! Breakfast is very basic, American = 1 two inch sausage 1 egg and tiny bit of Ham, but at least you get something, Coffee, Tea and Toast also available. They also have a small in room food service of basic Asian food, Rice, Noodles etc, and they have the Restaurant downstairs with a slightly better selection of food, it is ok but nothing special, and again it is fairly cheap. Lots of great places to eat in Vientiane though if that is a

TAKESHI S.
Japan
February 08, 2013
Location is good ,but..
Location is good
Location is good,but shower didn't work.They are not used to capitalism,so sometime someone feel they cannot understand what is survice.But I think it's not so much problem.I am bag packer.Lao people are kind.

Christof S.
Germany
December 04, 2012
Practical hotel which has seen it's best days
Close to the Riverfront
the hotel simple by western standards. you can guess, that it must have been quite impressive some decades ago - now, it is a bit run down. however, i like the charm, that it has. it has a restaurant, wifi in the public areas (free), a restaurant and - just opened - a night club, which could be nice, once it gets running. the hotel is located in the chinese part of vientiane - an ideal starting point for your walking tours.

PHILLIP T.
United Kingdom
November 10, 2012
Anou Paradise Hotel Vientiane, Low to Mid Budget
Large Room
Anou Paradise Hotel Vientiane Laos. My office booked me in this Hotel as all other Hotels we use were fully booked due to some ASEAN Major conference going on in the Capital. Am not sure what star rating this is but would maybe put it as a 2 Star. Located centrally with fairly easy access to anywhere you may want to go, the Building is pretty old and a little run down, slightly difficult to converse with any stay in English, so speak slowly and repeat yourself. I was booked into a VIP room which sometimes is referred to as a Suite online. Have to say the room is pretty large and spacious which is something I like, the bed was fairly comfy not like many of the Asian beds which are like sleeping on a concrete floor!! Rooms are cleanish, not spotless and many little areas not given the attention they should do in this customer orientated business, but again, not too bad, acceptable really but nothing special. Bathrooms as the main rooms are pretty outdated and need some attention, but again scrape by inspection. Very small TV in room which is difficult to see from the Bed, a few English language channels which are ok, HBO, AXN and a few news Channels and also a couple of Sports Channels. Not sure how the Laundry actually works, yes they do laundry, but I think one of the Cleaning ladies does it as a side-line! No receipt or written bill, but it is very cheap and she does a good job, you will need to pay her cash though, 1 Pr Trousers, 2 Shirts, 2 underwear and 2 socks only 20,000 Kip !! And nicely done and pressed! Breakfast is very basic, American = 1 two inch sausage 1 egg and tiny bit of Ham, but at least you get something, Coffee, Tea and Toast also available. They also have a small in room food service of basic Asian food, Rice, Noodles etc, and they have the Restaurant downstairs with a slightly better selection of food, it is ok but nothing special, and again it is fairly cheap. Lots of great places to eat in Vientiane though if that is a priority.

Tai S.
Malaysia
October 03, 2012
Friendly staff with good location
Helpfull staff.
The hotel is located in the china town of Vientiane, a good location to find some massage parlor, restaurants & a modern shopping mall is beside. It's 5 minute walk to the Mekong river bank & nearby has a few Wat to be visit. The down side is the building condition is a bit old & the breakfast is an a la crate style with bread & porridge, without fruit nor dessert serve. The staff is very keen to help me with what-ever I request on/ask about. The suite room I booked & stay is on the 4th floor, without any Wifi/internet, I choose downgrade and move to 2nd floor to get a Wifi connection. The nightclub at the back of the hotel is close down for renovation, due later as told by hotel staff. Overall, within these price, I will said it's a good accommodation.