arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Good 6.8
Based on 50 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 50 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 5.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 5.6

Edgard C.
Australia
March 19, 2013
Good rooms and quiet.
Location, staff and room.

Vy H.
Vietnam
March 02, 2013
Nice hotel with friendly and smiling staffs
Reasonable rate and nice staffs
happy with the service and condition there. only one thing that a little bit troublesome on communication. most of staffs speak chinese and not fluent in english, however, they try their best to serve.

Jon J.
Denmark
February 14, 2013
Nice hotel but wrong area
Reception area
From the outside the Lily hotel looked big and nice. When I entered the reception area I thought wow big and beautiful and clean. I went to the reception to check in, but the staff couldnt speak english so they had to call a manager before we colud communicate. Then we went up to the room which was nice with a big double bed, but a little dirty in the at the floor. But a nice hotel compared to the price.

PITCHAYA V.
Thailand
August 07, 2012
Faraway and hard to find
Cheap
Far and hard to find, nobody knows this hotel No elevator, have to walk upstairs No view out of windows Strange decoration (simply eleglance) Dangerous to walk outside, there are a lot of drunk teenagers outside Very far from travelling sight Anyway, staff are very nice

Nicole W.
Australia
May 28, 2012
Lacks decent customer service!
Nowhere near any attractions, restaurants or landmarks!!
We did not have a very enjoyably stay at the Lily Hotel. The Hotel is located near the Chinese markets which means it is a significant distance from any of the local attractions. When we booked this hotel the description indicated that it was close to places to see, places to eat and significant landmarks - it is not!! When we were checking in, the staff at reception had great difficulty in providing any information about the hotel facilities, the local area or even how we would go about getting ourselves to landmarks or somewhere to eat. The lack of English speaking staff members who were able to assist with any questions meant that we were frustrated from the moment we arrived through to or departure. The room was ok although it has not been cleaned properly before our stay. The floor was covered in hair and the toiletries they provide for guests were already used and the remainder of these products were scattered throughout the shower. There was a homemade pipe on the window ledge above the shower as well!! The room had only been provided with towels and water for one guest as well. There was no wifi reception as the router is located far away from the room. Given that we had such difficulty obtaining information upon checking in, we were certain that we would be unable to rectify these room issues with the staff at reception easily. We tidied the room ourselves and emailed the administration of Lily Hotel to inform them of the difficulties we were experiencing. We received no response to this email. Overall, the experience at the Lily Hotel was not pleasant. A severe lack of decent customer service let down the facilities provided. We would recommend that if you want an enjoyable stay in this city where you will be close to more than just shops selling car parts and machinery you look elsewhere!!!

Darren G.
United States
May 18, 2012
Simple Hotel
low cost
Selected hotel as I had seen before when I was staying near by. It is basically a chinese hotel so english is near non-existent. There breakfast is very simple. The location is not so near the main mekong river area. Quiet most of the time. wifi internet ok

Kevin D.
United Kingdom
April 08, 2012
Comfy hotel with staff that make you welcome
Value, cleanliness, friendly staff with good advice, breakfast is worth waking for.
Enjoyable stay that was going to be short, but I extended it to ten (10) days. I'll be back.

Kevin D.
United Kingdom
March 26, 2012
Good Hotel with beautiful decor in wood.
Quiet, close to things to see, helpful staff.
I extended my stay a number of times as I was impressed by the hotel and what I was able to achieve whilst based there. The staff mainly spoke Lao (and Chinese as a second language) as it seems most guests are Chinese or Lao. Enough of the staff spoke English well enough that my communication was achieved(with a smile). Included breakfast was a chicken rice soup, fried eggs and toast with jam. Good value in my opinion, breakfast was tasty. I will return to this hotel when I next visit Laos as I found it clean, the staff friendly and good value.

David W.
New Zealand
March 26, 2012
Good hotel and the outskirts of town
Lovely restored villa
We stayed here for 2 nights. Its a nice hotel, which is well kept and is in a quiet location. Downfall to the hotel is the distance from town (about 30 mins walk) and the limited English spoken by staff.

Daniel S.
United Kingdom
March 21, 2012
Big, fancy hotel in the middle of nowhere
Quiet, clean and comfortable
The hotel itself was great, the room was big with everything we needed, tv etc. It was also very quiet, which was great as we were knackered after a very long bus journey. When we popped out to get some dinner however, we discovered that there is very little around and to get to the main riverside, the tuk tuk drivers completely over charge you, due to the location. The staff are friendly but speak very little English, which would normally be ok, but when you are so far out and would like to arrange a taxi, it's not ideal. We only stayed one night, so it was ok, but had we stayed in Vientiane longer, we certainly would have had to move somewhere closer.