Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 972 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.7

jaeeun H. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Good location
Good location, good breakfast, and garden
Good location, good breakfast, garden, but there are mosquitos,dirty smell from beak of bathroom. room need to be cleaned.
Reviewed February 03, 2015

Piyolos N. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Good location with small courtyard in the hotel
Small courtyard, Location
It's located in a good location, easy to find and most TukTuk knows the hotel. The small courtyard inside the hotel makes it peaceful and lively to stay. However, the room on the G-floor can face a lots of mosquito from the garden. The staff are helpful. Breakfast are very standard.
Reviewed January 25, 2015

Ffion W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Perch
Location. Breakfast included. Garden setting for breakfast.
Basic but adequate. Would not return however at the hotel price rate.
Reviewed January 21, 2015

John C. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Convenient and helpful. Room a bit small.
Location, convenience, helpful.
Good.
Reviewed January 15, 2015

Alex H. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2015
Basic and does the job
Location, courtyard,a la carte brekkie
On the plus side, the location is great and an a la carte breakfast is included. The courtyard is a lovely little spot. Also nice that the rooms have a couple of helpful extra things like a desk, wardrobe and mini fridge. However, the sheets were filthy, there were mosquitos absolutely everywhere in and out of rooms, the internet was very patchy outside of the lobby and courtyard, and the staff weren't particularly helpful (not rude or anything, just not overly keen to help out). This is probably all very standard for a 2 star place though, but the prices were slightly more than would be expected for a 2 star hotel in Laos. You could probably do better than this hotel for the same price point, but you could certainly do worse too!
Reviewed January 13, 2015

THOMAS W. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Not Well maintained
Good Staff, breakfast, location
Things never seem to get fixed at Malinamphu Drain in bathroom not working Fan in bathroom did not work, will probably never get fixed No hangars for clothes Every time I stay there something is not maintained This was my last stay here Overpriced !
Reviewed January 11, 2015

Minoru I. from Japan
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Quiet and good location
location, quiet, garden
If I compare the price with other two star hotel in Vientiane, it is quite expensive for their service. No hair dryer, no hand towel and bed sheets or towels were sometimes worn out and ... Our first room sink had running water whole night and day... and second room... no hot water on the last day. Though, it was quiet and garden had a peaceful energy. Nice to have breakfasts in a garden. We found different hotel with better service, cleaner and cheaper!! in the city area and we did regret for not moving earlier.
Reviewed January 02, 2015

John H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Charming but basic hotel
Lovely courtyard in quiet location with cheap price
The Malinamphu was one of four hotels of similar price that we stayed in over a two week period and it was the worst of the 4. That said, it is not too bad but had a few issues. The location is in in the road that runs down to Nam Phu (the fountain) where all the tailors are located and this is a good area to stay although a little further from the river than other places. The street front is deceptive - it is only about 3 meters wide, but you walk down a long reception area which opens to a lovely courtyard which is where all the rooms open up on to. Our room was on the ground floor. It was of reasonable size, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was Laos style (no separate shower area) with warm (not hot) water, the air con good and it had a fridge and some storage area. The TV had limited English cable channels and was awkwardly placed in the room, there is no safe and the Wifi very poor. This is the main reason I would not stay here again. The free breakfast was good - with the choice of 2 out of 8 items on the menu, which changed a little each day. The tables spread throughout the courtyard made it a nice start to the day.
Reviewed December 27, 2014

Raedel B. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed one night in December 2013
Good value
Location, price, helpful staff
Reviewed December 20, 2014

Kriangkrai K. from Thailand
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2014
wow
location
good
Reviewed December 17, 2014