arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1033 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.0

Maurice W.
Australia
March 22, 2014
Lovely hotel close to the city with lousy internet
Beautifully appointed rooms, close to the river and city, friendly staff
This is a beautiful hotel in a central location but the internet is lousy. I sort of expected this as Lao is a developing country. However I have since stayed in the Ibis Hotel which has great internet. When travelling for work good wifi is very important. Consequently if travelling for work I'd stay at the Ibis but if I wanted a special hotel for a romantic or special weekend this hotel would be fantastic

Kenneth H.
Denmark
March 12, 2014
Nice quit city
location staff beds
Great hotel with good central location and with very nice and friendly staff, Clean rooms, good beds, quick check in and check out.

Justine F.
United Kingdom
March 08, 2014
Excellent Hotel in central location
Spotless, comfortable room, friendly staff with good English, central location
Very comfortable Hotel in central location. Room spotlessly clean & comfortable though pillows rather hard. Excellent shower. Lovely touch of chocolates at late afternoon 'bed turndown'. Surprisingly no wifi in either room or reception area, despite presence of several 'locations'. Only negative: 4th floor Bar looks very comfortable with sofas, books etc but isn't staffed till 4pm and air conditioning is only turned on by request, making it uncomfortably hot and therefore seldom used. A waste of a potentially comfortable area where it would be nice to relax in the heat of the day. Otherwise a perfect stay and would definitely recommend.

Michael F.
United Kingdom
March 03, 2014
Luxury in the world's cutest capital
staff; room standard: 4th floor public area
This hotel is of international standard, yet small enough that all staff members remember your name, and you can appreciate a personal interaction. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and clean. The public areas are well furnished and pleasing to the eye. The staff are friendly, efficient and polite. The buffet breakfast is of a good standard and served in a pleasant dining room. The hotel is situated in a quiet area yet within a short walk from restaurants and bars of all kinds, and just across the road from an impressive Wat. The Mekon river and night market is an easy 5 minute walk from the lobby. Really, there's nothing more you could ask for. This is truly a delightful oasis in a quiet city (by Asian standards)

Susan L.
United States
February 27, 2014
This hotel made our stay in Vientianne wonderful
Beautifully decorated, lovely staff, great breakfast, quiet, clean
Great. Centrally located, quiet rooms, helpful staff, breakfast was yummy, easy to get a jitney or taxi. Beautiful plumbing fixtures, much nicer than in my house.

Rey C.
Philippines
February 25, 2014
Relaxing. Worry-free
Location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.
What we loved about the hotel is its location. It is centrally located. The tourist sites were within walking distance. And so were good, rated local restaurants and shops that sold local products. The area was quiet. The room was big, and clean. The bed was big and comfortable.

Steve D.
United Kingdom
February 18, 2014
Very nice hotel
Good location, comfortable rooms, helpful staff
Hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of most of the tourist sites and many restaurants. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is fairly decent. Coffee is great, better than the 'Laos coffee' served in many other places. Staff were really nice and very helpful. Overall found Laos expensive though for what you get.

Pamela M.
United States
February 12, 2014
Delightful stay
Friendly and attentive staff; attractive room and lobby; good restaurant with nice breakfast
The hotel's spa experience was less than stellar, but overall it is a wonderful hotel and I would definitely stay there again if I travel to Vientiane.

Stanley O.
United States
February 06, 2014
Enjoyable Stay -- Highly Recommended
Breakfast buffet, customer service, hotel attractiveness and comfort
I was totally delighted with this hotel, the Salana Boutique Hotel in Vientiane, Laos. The staff at the Salana are very polite, professional, and frankly quite charming. They are helpful, informative and go the extra mile to answer your questions and ensure you enjoy your stay and see the city while you are there. I was very pleased with the driver that the hotel arranged for me, as I took a half-day city tour, plus went out to the Buddha Park in the afternoon. The hotel staff can speak English in most cases, and certainly the front desk staff with whom you transact business are English-fluent. Booking through Agoda and check-in / check-out went very smoothly. My guest room, while not large, was of adequate size. The room was well-appointed and had everything I needed. The bathroom was clean, modern, and the fixtures were in good shape. There was plenty of hot water for showers. The air conditioning worked well. The bed was comfortable and clean. I used the laundry service twice and was totally satisfied. I also had the Lao massage at the hotel's spa, and was very pleased with that service. My favorite aspect of this hotel is the breakfast buffet. I loved it. The selections were very good, the food was of high quality, and I liked the fact that you could also order a la carte items off the menu along with your buffet breakfast, and those were included with the breakfast. The fresh fruits, juices, breads, cereals, crepes and other hot items were all good. The large corner window view of the street activity outside the hotel is a nice way to begin your day in Vientiane. I also ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner just one evening, and it was a good meal. The Salana is a very attractive hotel. The housekeeping staff do a great job, and the hotel is nicely decorated and maintained. I highly recommend the Salana Boutique Hotel for your stay in Vientiane, the capital city of the Lao People's Democratic Republic.

Jose T.
Philippines
February 04, 2014
Higher Rating Without Tour
location, food quality
I had been prepared to give this hotel a higher rating, probably even 5 stars. For one thing, it has a great location. It was only 10 minutes from the airport, and it is walking distance, not only to the riverside night market, but also to most of the major sightseeing spots in Vientiane. The monks started their alms-giving at 5am in the temple right across the hotel. The room was tastefully designed, and my only complaint would be the pillows (which were a bit hard and lumpy for me). I simply loved the breakfast! Make sure to try the congee with the spices, condiments, Chinese sausage and sesame-encrusted anchovies beside it. They also did a very good omelette and waffle. Having said that, I was very disappointed when I saw the bill upon check-out. I had been quoted a city sightseeing tour for $15, and it seemed reasonable at that price. However, I was shocked to find out I had been charged $45, because apparently it was $15 PER HOUR! It simply wasn't worth it, considering the "tour" had no guide, only a non-English speaking driver who would drop me off at 3 spots and have me wander off on my own with a map. And having said earlier that most of the major sights were within walking distance of the hotel, I would have been better off just taking a cheaper taxi or tuktuk to the Patuxay Monument and Pha That Luang. Another thing, I only found out upon checkout that I would be charged an additional 3% if I used my credit card to pay. Had I known about that earlier, then it would have been cheaper for me to just withdraw money from the ATM.