Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 118 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 118 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 5.9
Sort by

henry F.
United States
July 18, 2013
good inexpensive clean
location, clean room,
You have to remember you get what you pay for. While many people would choose a hostel or guest house for a few hndred kip more, you can get a good sized basic bare bones room that's clean. There or only gym lockers for valuables so bring your own lock with you.

Chris M.
Australia
July 18, 2013
Great for a short stay
Unique converted cinema, central location, nice balcony
Easy cheap place to stay in Vientiene. The hotel is only 150 metres from the night markets by the Mekong and close to many and varied resaurants. If you walk down to the Boulevarde there are some really good local eateries with nice noodle soups. Nothing flash but a comfortable cheap place to stay in the capital of Laos.

Sara E.
New Zealand
July 12, 2013
disappointing
only redeeming feature would be the location
did not enjoy my stay here at all, room was cell like and featureless, third floor up so long walk, air con made loud noises during night. paid for upgrade second night as unfortunately had booked two nights.

Mitchell F.
United Kingdom
July 09, 2013
good value for money / location. standard average
location. quick check in. ensuite.
Fine. a simple place but location was vital for our short stay.

Zi T.
Malaysia
July 07, 2013
Nice and quiet.
Quiet, clean and good speaking staff
The water is not strong and may cutoff time to time. Other than that, it is clean room,

Jennifer A.
United States
June 27, 2013
Good, clean budget hotel
Large, clean rooms with daily housekeeping
Nice stay at this hotel. Large, clean rooms, although the walls could've used a coat of paint. Comfortable bed with daily housekeeping, A/C worked well. No internet in the rooms, though -- available from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. in the lobby. Also, not a lot of power outlets. Otherwise, good value.

Ernest S.
Australia
June 07, 2013
Good location
Close to everything, good room, nice staff
We were quite happy here. As usual we wanted a clean comfy bed,air con, a good hot shower and tv to watch so it fitted the bill. The riverside park is just down the road and places to eat close by. It is a grand old hotel that's seen better days but it's still a good place to stay.

Eva B.
Kenya
June 06, 2013
Awesome!!
The best 3 things about the hotel; a great owner, central location and clean room
I enjoyed my three day stay at this hotel. Cannot recommend it highly enough!! I will definitely return to Lao PDR and when I do, I will stay here. No second thoughts about it! Since Vientiane is such a small city, everything is "centrally located" but this hotel is near the Mekong, where you can visit some temples and some monuments to the leaders of Laos. The Night Market is in that area too. from the hotel, there are multiple places to eat Lao food or international cuisine in every direction you turn. I also enjoyed chatting with the owner of the hostel and we are now friends :-) Stay at the hotel, it is worth the money.

Elizabeth G.
United States
May 31, 2013
Clean, affordable, centrally located, comfortable.
Comfortable bed, easy check in/check out service, centrally located.
I stayed at Seng Lao Hotel only for one night to do my visa run. The staff were quite nice and good English. The room was small with no windows, but the bed was comfortable as well as the pillow. I had just come from the Embassy and an overnight van ride that took about 12 hours. I was exhausted, so the windowless room was perfect for me. The hotel is close to many nice restaurants and the river. It was a no fuss room, but for only one night, that's all I needed. I felt safe too. I have to do another run in about two months, I'm going to stay at Seng Lao again.

tung P.
Australia
May 22, 2013
nice cheap hotel
handy to historical site,convenient to the shopping areas and cheap and friendly owner
cheap,nice and cosy hotel,the owner looked a bit unfriendly but she was very friendly,helpful once you have got to know her