arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 2523 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2523 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Marilyn H.
Singapore
January 07, 2013
Common hotel with normal service
Nothing
Still disappointed as no 'wifi'. It's so inconvenient for business traveller. As for the suite room, the hotel should provide 'Twin-bedded' accommodation upon request. It's confused n time delay - no proper cashier counter for room check-out. Poor service as no conceriege bother to help in transportation. Feel transparent after check-in tipping.

Stephanie Y.
Philippines
January 07, 2013
Value for money
price
Surpassed my expectations. I expected less upon reading reviews about them but I was very satisfied. We also stayed at Galaxy Hotel, will rather stay here next time. Easy to cross to Galaxy.

Nathan L.
Australia
January 07, 2013
great price near bigger hotels
price
The grand Waldo is across the road from the Galaxy casino complex and is a short walk to the rear of the venetian. The rooms are reasonable without being lavish. The room prices are quite reasonable for Macau and the breakfast is ok. If you want to stay near the Venetian area but not spend a lot of money on accommodation, then I would stay at the Waldo

LEE Q.
Malaysia
January 07, 2013
Nice hotel and clean
clean room
a very nice hotel with clean room. friendly staff and quick service. breakfast ok. not easy to get a taxi, no taxi standby.

herry H.
Indonesia
January 05, 2013
lovely hotel
excellent service
Nice staffs. Nice breakfast. Hotel's casino not as luxury as galaxy or Venetian. And not too crowded too. I like this hotel very very much. personally, I prefer staying in this hotel and if I wanna go to galaxy's casino and venetian's casino, I would go by walk. Coz it's really near.

Benard P.
Indonesia
January 05, 2013
good hotel overshadowed by Galaxy Hotel
price and availability for the new year eve, good location in the new Cotai area
the hotel is located in the cotai district just next to galaxy hotel, which towers above this relatively small (albeit five star) hotel. it is an easy walk to galaxy, venetian casinos; for other hotels or to go to the macau city it requires a shuttle bus or taxi. hotel rooms and amenities are good. casinos were relatively empty, no players as people flock to bigger casinos or to the city. recommended for travelers who are willing to pay the price and then go around other parts of the city/casinos to enjoy macau.

Surya L.
Indonesia
January 05, 2013
Awesome hotel with nice service
Clean, quiet and good service
Its a hotel for whom seek a cheaper room in macao. The location was not far from the Galaxy and the Venetian, the two biggest hotel and casino in cotai, Macao. They have a big spa and sauna for men. Small casino

Kai F.
Germany
January 05, 2013
Clean Hotel with Casino
Clean and large rooms
Clean Hotel which i would recommend for business travel

Siegbert K.
Germany
January 05, 2013
Not "grand" in all respects, but okay if ...
Proximity to the huge and luxurious hotels "The Galaxy" and "The Venetian"
To begin with, there was nothing really serious to criticize. Everything was there what you should expect from a good hotel, esp. one with five stars (why five?) BUT: Although completed in 2006, the architecture and interior design of the lobby, corridors, breakfast hall etc. remembered me of East European or Soviet tastes and styles before the fall of the wall. - The Grand Waldo definitely caters for Chinese guests much more than for European tourists, clearly to be seen from the breakfast (very limited choice of bread, cereals, fruits, cheese etc.) and events (although New Years´ Eve, there was nothing going on in the hotel ...) "Ordinary" staff members (housekeeping, room service etc.) do hardly understand any English. (When I ordered ice cubes because the fridge did not work properly, I was given the menu ...) A "harbour view" room is not worth it because there isn´t hardly any harbour or anything else worth looking at. Indoor pool would have been nice for a five-star hotel ... Staff members at the reception desk are friendly and helpful. But: Checking in was a little bit laborious and bureaucratic (common practice to pay a deposit before being allowed in?) Although there is a taxi stand at the hotel, there was no help to get one. We simply had to wait, sometimes for 15 minutes or longer. Would have been nice if ... Farewell tea set before leaving (on the hotel), however, was a nice gesture and appreciated.

christina Y.
Malaysia
January 04, 2013
Grand Waldo ( nothing grand)
Near airport
The superior suite hot promotion was just lousy. The only good thing is the room is much bigger. No wifi in the rooms though. The daily breakfast was ok. The fruit platter were miserable an orange n 2 apples only. The minibar has nothing to shout about. No daily newspaper were given to us. There were no such pressing service in the hotel. We were told its not free as mentioned in the promotion. The seafood platter was served cold. It was very difficult for me to swallow. We were promised of late check out in the promotion. But the receptionist chased us out at 1.30pm. The shuttle bus service is very limited only to the border gate n macau ferry terminal.