Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1384 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Geoffrey E.
United States
January 16, 2012
A Fine Hotel
Reaonable price, good location (away from the casinos)
If one doesn't want to spend time in the big casinos and mix with the thousands of gamblers, Hotel Guia is a good place to go. It's in an old section of the city so more charm. It's an easy walk (15 min) into the center of the town, though the last part back is up a rather steep hill. Our room was fine, facing the Guia hill, which is a very nice walk around the hill and up to the lighthouse. Only two small criticisms - no western breakfast, not even coffee, is available in the Chinese restaurant, which is out-sourced. There are some small places for coffee below the hotel, however. Secondly, the stairways (fire escapes) are used for storage of extra beds and such, which is dangerous. I've stayed here twice and will stay again.

Yee C.
Malaysia
January 13, 2012
Lovely hotel and friendly staffs.
Convenient location, very quiet and good for rest, efficient services from staffs.
helpful info by the staffs, easy access to public transport, comfy environment.

Neil M.
Canada
January 10, 2012
quiet hotel
price, staff
Nice Hotel, up a hill, close to a few restaurants. Hotel restaurant gave me food poisoning ! Still suffering ! Stuck us in two tiny single beds. Nice bathroom. Small rooms ok for travellers that just need a nice, clean place to crash. Internet service terrible in room, had to sit in the lobby. Good value, walk downhill to eat. Enjoy Macau return to hotel to sleep.

Guo C.
Malaysia
January 09, 2012
Great location
clean and large rooms
hotel guia is a pretty hotel situated near to the historic guia fort. the rooms are clean and well-sized. the only drawback is the wireless internet, which is painfully slow in the evenings.

Gabriele R.
Germany
January 09, 2012
Perfect place near city center
clean nice room
we enjoyed after my sabbatical in Shanghai staying in a place with more "western" style outline. The city center is very interesting and relaxing with nice and calm places.

Pranee W.
United States
January 06, 2012
Great location but small rooms
customer service was good and rooms were cleaned on a regular bases.
the hotel sets in a walking distance to various casino hotels and shopping areas. i stayed at the guia hotel five nights, and everyday we enjoyed walking around town to sight-seeing, shopping, and gambling. we love chinese food varieties available at the guia hotel. we took a chance in ordered a few items that we don't know what they were but turned out to be a delightful and delicious dishes like congee with century-egg, sticky-rice in lotus leaves, and chicken feet dimsum. front desk staff were very helpful with touring information around the city; thus it made this trip more memorable and enjoyable when it is easy to get around without having to spend too much time in taxi to get from point a to point b. the hotel has free maps readily available for customers and also free shuttle to the ferry pier to hong kong. this trip was one of the best vacation we have had in a long time.

Tan L.
Malaysia
January 06, 2012
Macau Superb 3 Stars
Comfort, Clean, Friendly
i'm very particular person and read the advisor review before booking the hotel. at first i was in doubt, but i have change my mind 360' when i reach there. the room is small but the designs and facilities are very complete, especially toiletres they provide 2 sets which other hotel will only give 1 set of comb, toothbrush, shower cap, laundry bag. the room is small but it come with bath tub. clean and feel safe. only reception can communicate in english but they will try all their best to understand your needs. taxi service is very fast too. room service for meal are superb and money value.

TAN K.
Malaysia
January 05, 2012
Location out of the way
Clean and quiet
taxi hardly pass by. no convenient shops nearby. only thing good is 10 minutes walk to guia lighthouse with nice scenery and clean and quiet environment.

Peng Z.
China
January 05, 2012
I would like to stay here when travelling to Macau
location
rooms are small with all necessary facilities. macau is small. you can easily walk around or catch a cab to see around. the hotel is located on the hill. 5-min walk to the peak. on the peak you can see the old light tower and have a birdview of macau. i stayed here twice with satisfaction. it is newly renovated and i heard you can get a very low price on some group purchasing website. i haven't tried.

Kerido E.
United States
January 03, 2012
Good location - out of the fray, nice views.
Friendly staff, near some great walking spots.
The hotel was ok, nice lobby and helpful staff. The hotel had some strange odors, so we had to change rooms. The staff was very accommodating. Location is great, out of the downtown bustle, up on a hill near the lighthouse and some great walking trails through a nearby exercise park. The internet was free, but slow.