Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1384 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

NG P. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
Lovely hotel but location not so convenient
hotel rooms not bad
hotel room bed too hard, back pain a lot after sleep...
Reviewed November 16, 2011

joshua L. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
difficult to reach location with unhelpful staff
hard to think of any
this hotel was in a hard to reach location and not convenient at all. there are very, very few restaurants in the area and it is almost impossible to get a stay. the hotel staff are not helpful and blatantly lied to me on at least one occasion.....can't say very much positive about this place...
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Kong S. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in November 2011
Nice hotel
we love the roof top cafe
nice hotel with reasonable price. especially love and enjoy the free drinks at the roof top cafe.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

william H. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in November 2011
Excellen value/
Liked the location. Smaller Hotel with more personal attention
friendly staff. liked the location with easy access to the old historic parts of macau. no western breakfast available,only chinese. not a problem as western breakfast available near by. clean bright rooms.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Geoffrey E. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
I'll Return to the Hotel Guia
location for older Macau, comfortable room
for years i've stayed at the royal hotel just below the guia, but as the prices there keep going up, i decided to give the hotel guia a try. i'm so glad i did. it's a friendly place with a good location because i like to walk around guia hill and also be able to walk into town. the room was a bit small for two but considering the price, that's okay. it had all the comforts i like - though the windows cannot be opened (both for 'fresh' air and in case of fire). the fire exit staircase opposite my room was blocked by a bit bunch of folding beds. the restaurant in the hotel, which is not run by the hotel, only serves chinese food. for breakfast, i should think they could at least make eggs, toast and coffee for guests who like that. still, i will definitely book this hotel next time i head for macau (and macau can be a delightful place for history and good portuguese and french food. one can avoid the casinos and hoards of tourists completely). taxis are a big problem, however. buses are good - though the hotel guia is on a hill and requires a hike up, not so nice in the hot summer, i'm sure. still, worth it.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pei L. from China
Families with older children
Stayed one night in October 2011
value for money and decent location
quiet and relaxing
The hotel has a good location, it is located near the Guia Fortress and lighthouse. Also roughly a 15 minutes walk to the St. Paul ruins, and from there the casinos like Grand Lisboa. No nearby restaurants from the hotel, but there is a restaurant in the hotel itself on the ground floor that is both not expensive and the food has big servings. The hotel amenities are a bit lacking, but overall, we enjoyed our stay on the hotel, especially since the place is quiet.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Khang G. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2011
Friendly staff hotel
Friendly and helpful staff, shuttle bus upon request, clean and tidy, good lighting
The hotel is at the hill side and is a bit far from the city. You still able to reach the city within 15 minutes walking distance. However, if you are traveling with elder/senior citizen, please make sure they able to hike a little hill. Also beware that the shuttle bus picking up from terminal is provided upon request. Some hotel lighting is too dim, but this hotel lighting is superb.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Chin C. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2011
Hotel Guia
Nice View
Hotel had a nice view, clean, reception very helpful, u can go to the roof top garden to enjoy the view, but hotel itself a bit fare from town center, it also provide free shuttle bus to & from either port or hong kong border.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

xin T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2011
location no good but service not bad
nth
actually i wan to booking 3 double room, n i got contract them few day before i checking the hotel, but at last them give me 3 twin room, i am unhappy as i am the one booking people n 1 of room booking is from honeymoon couple
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wee L. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Good rooms but bad location
features of the hotel is great
I had a good sleep in Hotel Guia. You don't have to bring stuffs but only clothes for yourself, everything you can found in Hotel Guia.
Reviewed November 08, 2011