Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 2038 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2038 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Chwee C.
Malaysia
November 14, 2015
Overpriced hotel with aged rooms
Beach front, Views and landscape
Please note that the criticism is based on the status and pricing of the hotel and what I would expect from it. Hotel: The hotel is practically next to the airport (but not affected by flyby noises). The location is secluded from the public and yet close enough to the city via a short drive. Facilities: It has great landscaping with a choice of swimming in pools or an enclosed private beach. The Sunset Bar is a wonderful location to soak in the sunset before dinner. The lobby bar is a great place to chill with friendly service staff. Service: Staff is very friendly but probably seen a little too many well heeled travellers to go the extra mile. Meals: The buffet breakfast offers a wonderful spread with good quality food, pity about the taste. The tea and coffee is excellent. The ventilation needed a little work as I finished my breakfast smelling like the restaurant. Room: The rooms are old, and the age shows on the furniture. Although the room comes with full amenities. Unfortunately, by comparison to my previous stays in Shangri-Las, this one is way below par. This is my biggest complaint for the hotel, as they obviously need to refurbish the rooms to deliver value to the guests.

Erik E.
Malaysia
November 12, 2015
Great stay!
views, pool, staff
all is well!!

JOSHUANIKA J.
Brunei Darussalam
November 12, 2015
Relaxing family stay
Ambience, facilities and service.
Very relaxing and fantastic amenities. Great gym and pool. Lots of added value with free activities, free wifi and the complimentary evening light snacks and refreshments at the Kinabalu Lounge. The breakfast buffet selection could be improved though.

Chris W.
Malaysia
November 11, 2015
Unforgettable vacation with family
Hotel compound is tremendously huge. My kids loves the water slides and they swam all day long. Love the swimming pool and the view of the ocean from there. Coco Joe signature 3 seafood is awesome!
Overall a great experience. Kids and wife love it. Supposed to go to town for seafood but we ended up enjoying the hotel facilities. The pool, beach, kids zone, spa, jacuzzi, steam bath and Sauna made our stay an enjoyable experience. We checked out on the fourth day but very disappointed with the duty manager who did not grant our wish to acces the club lounge while waiting for our flight in the evening. We spent so much money including the Star Marina and we didn't acces the lounge when we arrive. He could have been more lenient and accommodative for the small request despite of the strict rules. His face doesn't seems friendly and don't like the tone of his voice. He is the one that made us feel uncomfortable and don't think will return to this hotel next trip. He said will charge RM150 per head (5 of us) which I think is stupid. Eventually I spent the money RM150 at Tatu Coffee House for an evening snack which is more value for money. People like him that will spoil any dream holidays he could have been more polite and greet us with smiling face. The receiptionist girls are all ok, love their smiles. Anyway the hotel is rated 5 star if not for this kind of individual.

stewart M.
United Kingdom
November 10, 2015
another great stay
club lounge: kids club: staff
Couldn't ask for more. The ckub rooms are great value, easily fits family of 4, and 4 hours of club longe access? Sent nply brilliant.

frederick E.
Philippines
November 08, 2015
Views of a Hotel Resirt for Vacation
1. Resort Ambiance 2. Facilities and activities specially wifi 3. Concierge very helpful spcecially James
Food was lousy. You have to change your cooks. Everything was excellent but the food.

David T.
Singapore
November 04, 2015
Best Stay!
Swimming Pool Experience. SeaView Room. Friendliness Of Resort Staff.
It was a great experience staying in TAH, Shangri-La. The swimming pool area was definitely a good place for families with slides and even with the games provided. Staff were friendly, breakfast was great, nearby area (10-15mins walk) to some seafood shops. Of course, not as clean and good a catch as some other restaurants like WELCOME SEAFOOD. I managed to catch rainbows, thunders and storms from my room view (Level 5, Kinabalu Wing). Love it!

bruno L.
France
November 04, 2015
A great place to stay in KK
best 3 things: location / service / facilities for kids
Great stay - we enjoyed the great location and the view at sea from our rooms, the breakfast buffet, the pools and the slides for the kids, the water activities proposed, the easy shuttles to the island, and the great staff.

Yin K.
Malaysia
November 02, 2015
expensive and lots of Chinese
scenery. ambience. beach
Too many China tourists

sunghye K.
South Korea
October 26, 2015
Great place with great sunset view
Facilities, foods, ocean veiw
I strongly recommend Tanjung Aru Resort. It was one of best resorts ever. Nice facilities, clean room, kind staff, fine dining & wonderful sunset view. Good place for all kind of trips!