arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4728 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4728 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

osman A.
United Kingdom
May 14, 2012
really this hotel is top teen very good location
yes
wow the best hotel in kuala lumpur this hotel is very good hotel for everything the top great anyway a2z

Teo J.
Singapore
May 11, 2012
Good Hotel with decent smile
The welcome smile
The room is spacious and I like the seperate Shower and bath tub which makes life easier . However though old , is still worth staying based on what you pay . The service are good and best of all the Monorail is 5mins walk .

NAZLI A.
Malaysia
May 11, 2012
Great Hospitality
Warm welcome
it's a pleasure staying in istana hotel. staff are so friendly.

Sarhan R.
Singapore
May 08, 2012
Convenient location and nothing else
Accessible and centrally located
Istana Hotel is around 20 years old (opened in 1992 according to the plaque in the lobby) and in desperate need of a revamp. The lobby area is fine but the rooms leave much to be desired especially for an establishment priding itself on its 5 star status. The staff who checked us in couldn't even muster a smile upon our arrival. The courtesy of the other staff appeared forced. Maybe that's just me. Though I was there for pleasure and not business I still require an internet connection at all times. The hotel offers decent internet connection but it's LAN only.

Belinda H.
Australia
May 08, 2012
From the moment they open the taxi door.........
Lovely foyer, Service everywhere you look and great breakfast
We stayed in a club room and it was perfect. Excellent seperate lounge area, spare toilet, very confy king size bed and big bathroom. Only negative thing which is very very minor, bathroom showed aging a little, but nothing short of 4stars in my opinion. Breakfast was amazing as was room service, nothing was too much trouble. Service everywhere you looked and everyone was ever so friendly.

Earl A.
Singapore
May 07, 2012
Great location with nicely appointed rooms
Location location location
Overall a pleasant experience. I enjoyed the room and the ambience.

Rudy S.
Australia
May 05, 2012
Great Location
Location
We stayed at Hotel Istana for one night for transiting purposes. As we did not have much time the hotel was perfect location for shopping, restaurants and nightlife as it was around the corner from Jalan Bukit Bintang. The hotel was clean, central and met all our requirements for a one night stay. The hotel also had easy access to public transportation being very close to the monorail to get to the bus/train station.

Kirk C.
Singapore
May 03, 2012
Great hotel with good location and excellent svcs
Good service, very large suite room
Checked into the club room which has a diff. recep place to the main lobby. Very service oriented staff who upgraded me to a suite room. Lovely spread of food and drinks at the club room, you can literally have your breakfast lunch and dinner at that place without going out of the hotel. Only grub is facilities in the rooms are a bit old esp. the TV, still the old style CRT.

SOO S.
Singapore
May 03, 2012
Terrible Hotel
no pros
I doubt this is a 5 star Hotel? fridge spoil! kettle is short circuit, toilet door no lock and create noisey sound when door close and open, floor tile is 100x100mm sq. ceramic tile. Oh my god! is terrible!

yeow H.
Malaysia
May 03, 2012
Good services with smiles always
Staff always served with smiles and and a simple greeting by the guest name surprise me
Hotel can improve their billing sytem , I was booked via agoda , when the checked out dated , the staff prompt me i have to pay for the duratuion stayed. I was surprised and agrued with the staff and finally they verified and apologies to me that there is no payment required since i booked with agoda because the payment have deducted from my credit card.