arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4761 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4761 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

poay O.
Malaysia
May 28, 2012
good location and comfortable rooms
size of rooms and location
I am a regular at this hotel which I stay whenever I am in KL for business. The location is very convenient being near to Raja Chulan mono rail station. Some of the staff are very friendly but a few new ones are not well trained and lack the hospitality attitude. Other than that, everything else about the hotel is fine as it is great value for money expecially for business travellers.

Felix B.
Indonesia
May 27, 2012
Nice Location
Easy Access
The hotel reception and lobby is slendid and hotel staff were just great. The excellent Pavillion shopping centre is about a 500 m walk. Excellent location for shopping, Menara and Petronas Towers.

Caleb H.
Malaysia
May 26, 2012
Traditional With A Touch of Class
Wonderfully spacious room, surprisingly spacious bathroom, friendly staff and a good spread of food at the buffet.
My first impression of Hotel Istana is that it's a traditional styled hotel with all the perks of a modern 5-star hotel and it goes some way to fulfilling that. I love the classic decor. I felt I was living in a modern palace. For some reason, I just love the elevator. All the shiny glass and silver makes me feel like I'm travelling in a space shuttle. Haha. But seriously, the food at the buffet during breakfast was pretty good and the staff who serve you are friendly. I like the Malay guy who did my eggs at the omelette stand was in a good mood all day. I really enjoyed watching him cook. The staff were friendly and helpful all-round. I can hardly have any complaints and if you're driving, parking is complimentary for guests, though I assume this is same at most 5-star establishments.

mahlindayu T.
Malaysia
May 26, 2012
nice hotel
good location and easy for food access
nice roome, but not fully supply for toiletries. no tooth bursh and tooth paste. but very near to monorail station

Cheong Y.
Malaysia
May 25, 2012
lovely hotel
nice bath room!
comfort room, large bed, good location, staff friendly,

Avinash P.
Mauritius
May 25, 2012
Service with a smile
Location
The hotel is decent and convenient quite colonial and hotel of the 1990's needs a bit of doing up so far as carpets are concerned and beds are quite hard

Agop A.
Australia
May 24, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smil
clean,nice place to stay
i like this hotel,clean,quiet position,but good value for money when you book it thru agoda,you can walk to shoping centre from hotel,or restaurants in bukit bintang open till late,clean hotel ,staff friendly,love the shower pressure ,

Mohamed G.
Egypt
May 22, 2012
great locatian
near every thing u like
nice and clean hotel the price i paid in it is waw,the hotel deserve more

HAN T.
Singapore
May 21, 2012
Very big and nice room
fridge not working
Great location, near to all major shopping malls and restaurant. Easy to take a taxi and friendly staff to assist. Buffet breakfast is not so fantastic. Room is huge with nice shower room etc. Free internet in room with LAN cable.

Wong M.
Malaysia
May 20, 2012
Great location but need renovation
Near golden triangle, but still prefer driving due to worrying about security
the reception was slow, staff hide in the office,only come out when other staff went in and called them. This happened twice during my 1 night stay.Swimming pool is very disappointing, I thought I could have enjoy admiring the great 5-star facilities.Also disppointed with the breakfast, it was too common. The TV set was old, at least need a flat screen TV. The TV programe was poor. The air-cond temporature was unadjustabe--on-off button not functioning. The room is spacious, but high time for renovation.