arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 4728 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4728 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.7

5.3 Alex K.
Sweden
April 21, 2012
Great location but rooms are run down
Location and the Buffe
Me and my friend stayed here for 1 nights. This hotel is in a great location close to the shopping malls. However if you are looking for a 5 star quality inside the rooms then you will be disappointed. Built between 15-20 years ago this hotel have low standard inside the rooms with carpets,old tv, run down bathroom etc. For the price it is not worth it. Location is the only thing good with this hotell

6.7 hik L.
Malaysia
April 19, 2012
A friendly hotel
Good environment hotel
Staff good manner and friendly, good music at the lounge

7 Jennifer F.
Australia
April 19, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Good service, large room
the service is good and with nice food at the club lounge. the room is large but is worn and need some touch up.

8.7 Cynthia T.
Germany
April 19, 2012
Very nice hotel and well located
great location, friendly and welcoming staff, nice lobby
The Istana is very well located. Just a few minutes to walk to the Petronas & Times Square in the other direction. There are nice restaurants closed by & the Monorail station just opposite the hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. All in all I had a very comfortable & pleasant stay.

9.3 Kirsten P.
Australia
April 19, 2012
Great hotel, Great location
Location
few issues on check in as i didnt have a paper copy of the agoda receipt, but offered to email to front desk or use their business centre, but they couldnt get passed that i didnt have a paper copy. spoke with supervisor, and finally was able to checkin and provide paper copy later that evening. arrived at our room, and was upgraded to a suite.. amazing room.

7.7 Mark W.
United Kingdom
April 19, 2012
Nice staff - austere rooms
very friendly staff and good location
very exasperating check in due to the receptionist not reading my special requests about a quiet room and giving me a room with connecting door to someone else's room - it was better when the manager stepped in but then we had a bit of a dingdong about the 450 ringgit deposit they wanted in case i used the dining facilities. i dont want to run up a tab i insisted - just let me pay as i go. i think guests should be given this as an option. who wants to lose out on changing money into ringgit and then back again for no good reason. once in the room it was reasonably quiet if a bit austere - it feels quite dated in the bathroom especially - similarly in the fitness room, steam room and sauna - in my estimation this is definitely not a 5 star hotel - 4 star ok. but the staff are super friendly and the location is perfect - so i would stay again - especially if they offer free internet in the lobby and include breakfast in the room rate.

7.7 Haliah I.
Singapore
April 19, 2012
Spacious and private
For a quick getaway
If you like to get away from your country yet stay highly urbanised, you can tuck yourselves in Istana. Walking distance to major shopping malls

7.7 Paul G.
Australia
April 18, 2012
Lovely hotel with friendly staff
breakfast included and centrally located in shopping precint
We were disappointed with the extreme bar prices and WiFi charges. There is also a major shortfall in tourist information unless it is booked through the hotel at an elevated prices. Room floor also needed a vacuum.

7.3 Shuk F.
Australia
April 18, 2012
Great Location
Good location and staffs were helpful.
The hotel had my booking records wrong, fortunately, the receptionist were helpful and reconfirmed my room.

8 Terry G.
United States
April 17, 2012
Good but not great
Centrality to shops, foodstalls, markets
Got there 4pm and waited an hour for a room with a double bed. Got to room and internet was down; reported it came back 3 hrs later, still down, Then fixed in 5 mins. Iron in room didn't work had to be replaced. No ironing board in room. Clearing waiters could not understan English very well - I joined my friends 20 mins late and asked for hot tea - waiter siad there was already pot tea on table and, depsite me asking for fresh, hot tea, he poured the dregs into my cup and walked away saying "tea there". Alcoholic drinks were very expensive (and not served in dining room). Having said all above, buffet was best I've seen in long time and chefs, maitre de and concierge outstanding. Great 4 for 2 dinner offer for hotel guests.