Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.9
Based on 3366 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3366 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.1
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.7
Sort by

badrul H. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
not really good as expected before
good staff, food and facility
1. Broken desk lamp 2. Broken door lock 3. Inconsistent how newspaper delivery 4.old design room
Reviewed October 02, 2013

Federico D. from
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Very good, but not quite 5 stars
Good value for money, great room service standard, good location
This hotel is centrally located, walking distance from 2 monorail stations and KLCC underground. It has a nice swimming pool which you can use until 10PM with quite impressive views of the Petronas Towers. It also has a very well equipped fitness center (with as much equipment as any mid sized commercial gym) and an OK sauna/steam room/jacuzzi which you can use for free. The sauna area was not well kept when I went, a bit dirty and messy with no one around to take care of towels on the floor and such. Showers did not work perfectly, definitely needs some maintenance and better care. The room that I stayed in and the hotel common areas in general look a bit dated with normal wear and tear signs which are understandable for its age, but detract from its 5 stars rating. Definitely not impressed by looks. Staff is friendly and helpful, but not quite 5 stars. I got the impression that the concierge had a kickback arrangement going on with the taxi people, from his eagerness to recommend a MYR 100-something taxi ride to Batu Caves instead of the MYR 10 train option. He might just have mistaken me for another kind of traveller and I may be paranoid, but that was my impression. The service at Shang Palace was among the best I experienced for a Chinese restaurant, but the food was not excellent and there was an event going on that had all the room enclosed between wooden panels, so no view of anything at all. The room service was indeed 5 star league in quality of food and presentation, found it worth the price. I was considering staying at Traders or Shang, and after checking out the Traders I'm happy we stayed at the Shang. Next time, however, I may try the Mandarin Oriental which appeared to be a notch or two above. Overall, a very nice hotel to stay for the price, but do not expect 5 shining stars.
Reviewed October 01, 2013

Waruth V. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2013
Room very clean, safe and bed comfortable
good location not far from KLCC. Comfortable room and wifi in the room
This hotel room very clean and confortation bed. Location is not far from KLCC just 5 minutes walk but not recommend to walk in the night time Breakfast very good more variety and japanese restuarant food very delicious.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Sameer Z. from Pakistan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
It was excellent
Atmosphere, Staff and food
It was a great experience. The location is right in the center of KLCC. 10 mins walk to petronas towers. Surrounding are good with lots of places to eat. Night life is also very good. Hotel itself was excellent, superb concierge who help you with anything and everything. you just have to ask. All in all, Shangri la was one of the best hotel experiences. My wife was very happy to see the welcome bouqet! :D
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Yaw L. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed one night in September 2013
Wonderful stay, truly 5 stars .... speechless !
Quiet room, comfortable bed and first class buffet bf and dinner
Everything is good, only thing all come with a price. The only draw-back to me is that the room has too many mirrors. I tried the seafood buffet dinner and also the breakfast .... top notch food and service.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Zhi C. from China
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
A little disappointed this time
Nice gym, nice food, central location
It should be more than 10 times I stayed in this hotel. But this time I was a little disappointed. The housekeeping quality is not good as previous time. Such as missing to provide shower gel, or some towels. Even water bottles we need to ask for more.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Racine B. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Comfortable and Relax Stay
Comfort, Convenience and Reliability
The experience was pleasant. The room is comfortable and the staff are reliable.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Natalie C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2013
Wow! What an experience!
Great staff, food and room.
We stayed in a club room, our first experience of a club lounge and I fear it may have ruined all future experiences! We fortunately were upgraded to a suite, which, with its fully equipped kitchen, dining room, lounge, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom, was magnificent. The afternoon tea served in the lounge was good, sandwiches, cakes, cheese and fruit. Soft drinks and teas galore. The canapes that accompanied cocktail hour were also great. Unfortunately some of the other guests were a little loud and rude to the staff for my liking. Room service was quick and delicious and breakfast the next morning was a very impressive spread (try the jam doughnuts). We only stayed one night as a treat, but probably had access to enough food to feed us for 3 days. An excellent experience.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nicolas G. from France
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Efficient and well located. Excellent buffet
Location, buffet
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sin G. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2013
Comfortable. Met expectation.
Buffet. Comfort. Food.
The buffet dinner was fantastic. Room is comfortable.
Reviewed September 25, 2013