arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 576 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 576 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Staff Performance 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.5

9.7 Kerry C.
Ireland
November 23, 2012
Relax in the city
Warm atmosphere, friendly staff, good layout
As always a very pleasant stay at the Basaga. A homely feel and value for money!

10 Kerry C.
Ireland
November 23, 2012
An Oasis
Calming Oasis just off a main road
Love the Basaga. Everything from the chilled atmosphere to the friendly dedicated staff. There is also free parking and the restaurant is a nightspot for locals!

9.7 joseph P.
United States
November 20, 2012
Nice Place
Big rooms, historic house, outdoor swimming pool
excellent value for the price. don't come expecting 5-star resort and service. this is a budget hotel, but a very good one. i stayed in several rooms in the main house. all were similar. large room, double bed, windows overlooking the courtyard. towels and 2 bottles of water per day are provided. breakfast is provided. i tended to choose the omelet and wedge-fried because it was the most filling. there is a bar and restaurant. try the lamb shishkabob - it is really good.

7 ONG S.
Malaysia
November 20, 2012
Scenic Hotel
Romantic enviroment
The romantic scenery boost my mood to relax and stay in this lovely hotel. The decorative green, the poolside and the restaurant make you feel you are in a resort hotel where in actual fact you're in a city centre with booming passing traffic and a bussiness centre right next door. It's place to distress yourself.

7.3 aminuddin A.
Malaysia
November 20, 2012
Great concept, greens in the city
Hotel in the garden
Wish we could have stayed there longer as we really felt at home

7.3 Siaw K.
Malaysia
November 19, 2012
Small & cozy hotel with great western wine & dine
Good bed mattress, nice surroundings with trees & flowers
this hotel has very nice bed which you can fall asleep very easily with the wooden based room structure and surrounded by a lot of green. we checked in a bit late around 6pm and our originally booked room at the mainhouse was occupied and automatically upgraded to a bigger room by the hotel staff. our room was equipped with air-cond and also ceiling fan which make the room very airy, cold and nice. there is a small fridge and a small bath room with hot water. everything is in good order and clean. the lcd tv has limited channels but the restaurant was okay.

7.3 marcel J.
Switzerland
November 13, 2012
Small but good hotel with friendly staff
Nice interieurs and furnitures. Decent architecture.
I stayed four nights. First two nights in a room facing the street. A bit loud during traffic peak hours. Nights 3 and 4 in the second building, facing the pool. Generous room. Biggest disadvantage of the hotel is the location a bit outside of the city center. You have to take a taxi, if you want to go downtown. Taxi fares are quite high... Apparently the nice courtyard restaurant is attracting a lot of people from the outside, specially during weekends. It cant be just because of the food. Its rather average... Staff is really friendly and helpful, but rather inexperienced. Good for families.

8.7 Melanie B.
United States
November 02, 2012
very nice hotel, helpful staff & nice restaurant
spacious clean rooms
The buttered prawns were delicious and a fresh coconut was a refreshing drink at the end of the day. Don't order wine, as it is very expensive!!

9.7 Yavor D.
Bulgaria
October 31, 2012
Lovely hotel, great service
Location, hotel itself, management, service
I live in KL but my girlfriend is currently stationed in Kuching so I travel quite often and since I discovered Basaga for the first time around 2 years ago, I stay there every time I go to Kuching. It's a great place, a former barracks and school converted into a lovely low-rise, country-type hotel with very nice bar & restaurant + a lovely small swimming pool. I like everything about this hotel and I have some great memories from there. One con I noticed recently is the quality of their WiFi which has been OK till some months ago. I had trouble accessing it and browsing during my last 2 stays in the hotel.

9.3 Tetty T.
Indonesia
October 31, 2012
great hotel
Good size room and very nice exterior
great hotel, antique exterior but the location is very far from town area. need to travel to the city back and foward by cab, cost min rm12 per trip to waterfront and sunday market.