arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 1243 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1243 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Staff Performance 7.3
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.7

5.3 Soo C.
Malaysia
November 11, 2015
Spacious but old room and old furniture.
It is close to the beach and the room is spacious. The buffet breakfast not bad but lack of variety.
The reason of selecting Damai Beach Resort is because of its location. It is near to the beach. The room is spacious but quite old. Everything in the room is old. Furthermore there was weird smell came from the sink.

10 Amira N.
Malaysia
November 11, 2015
love to staying here..
nice view,more place to eat and delicious,good staff
Its privacy..clean..fresh air..nice view..clean swimming pool for my kids..

5.7 SHEAW F.
Malaysia
November 08, 2015
Cultural beach side hotel
Beach, cultural and big bed Ang room
Reach hotel near sunset time, pool say close at 7pm but actually the guide chase people out from 6.40pm. Room has no shower adjuster able head rather inconvenient to bath small baby. No hand towel or face towel to wipe hand off in room. Big bed can occupy us couple with baby on bed to sleep soundly. Air cond is cool is a benefit to a hot day at beach.

2.7 KIING H.
Malaysia
November 02, 2015
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel, Rest Place, Boring Place
Boring place, very far, the hotel not very good like what you imaging.

7.3 Chee L.
Malaysia
October 31, 2015
nice stay
spacious, good loccation, nice view
nice stay with good environment

8 Andrey K.
Russia
October 29, 2015
Get away place
Big rooms, two pools and Damai Central nearby
Our stay was real get away, especially on the week days (on the weekend the hotel get crowded with people coming from the nearest town). Hotel area is big and nice, arranged in two levels - next to the beach and upper one. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We've arrived bit earlier than the checking time but the same time we were checked in and provided with the room without any problems. There is Sarawak village and Mountain trek right next to the hotel - good places to spend your time. Also Damai Central is a good place to have you lunch or dinner - food court there is very good and great value for the money. The transfer to the places of interest though (i.e. Bako, Caves, Semengoh reserve) are rather pricy comparing to the same from Kuching - please mind this taking an opportunity to stay long. When the water in low in the sea, you'll probably get very little chances to swim in it - first of all it will be muddy and very shallow - please check the moon cycle for the low water before you come. If this comes during the day, you'll definitely have to swing in the pool or take some other activities.

7 Bruce I.
Australia
October 28, 2015
Stay at Damai Beach Resort
1.Staff attentiveness and professionalism 2. upper pool 3. view of Sth China Sea and Mt Santabong
All my requests for a non smoking, upper level and quietly located room were met. Management provided safe keeping of valuables in safety security box in secured room in reception. The staff were very attentive.The AC worked well.My transport to the airport was organized for 6 in the morning and it all went well. The booking was made on arrival and a packed breakfast was provided. This resort is owned by the Sarawakian Govt so you are directly supporting the people by staying here. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed for an upgrade and the resort menu was pared down and limited and we had to dine in an outside unairconditioned restaurant. Due to the haze and heat, management should have done better than this. The rooms are in need of paint and some repair. It is not a 4 star hotel by any stretch but worth staying at as it is such a beautiful place and the staff make you relax and feel happy. I would go back for sure.

6 Yiam L.
Malaysia
October 28, 2015
Maintain programs needed
beach hotel
Kindly to maintain the room since it's too old

7.7 Jenny S.
United Kingdom
October 24, 2015
Great facilities but room need some upgrading
Swimming Pool, Location and Friendly / Helpful Staff
The location and proximity to everything at Damai was great. However the chalets were tired and water pressure was an issue - we didnt have any water from the shower if another room was using their water. Childrens facilities were good - pool and kids room as well as being right on the beach. Breakfast buffet was limited but okay. Would stay again, knowing all the above.

8 HENG N.
Malaysia
October 21, 2015
comfort room
room,staff,beach
bringing our 2yr and 1yr son for their first beachside stay with my parents and parents in law. though its weekend,but we get checked in at 1pm, so that our young and old family members can have a rest after a long journey from samarahan. the room are really big and comfortable, little boys run around happily when they get into the room, they love the swimming pool so much, and also the long and clean beach we really enjoy our stay btw, damai centre is so convinient for us for our lunch and supper