arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Ambong Ambong Langkawi Rainforest Retreat

Jalan Pantai Tengah, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia 07000

Excellent 9.0
Based on 257 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 257 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.5
  • Service 9.6
  • Value for Money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 7.9

SITI R.
Malaysia
May 25, 2016
Great place, great hospitality
Seriously guys! Just come here! Great place, great people! Definitely value for money. :) Great job Ambong Ambong!

Judith M.
Australia
May 18, 2016
Lovely stay at Peaceful and Serene Villa's
My husband, adult daughter and myself stayed at Ambong Ambong for two nights on a short stay in Langkawi. How I wished it had been a long stay - I just loved the small retreat hotel, it was a haven really. We had a two bedroom villa which was appointed so in tune with the feel of the place and more than spacious enough for us with a lovely big balcony to sit and relax on morning or night - with a view of the ocean. The room was surrounded by the rainforest and sound of the birds which just added the ambience of relaxation and peacefulness. Anna and all the staff from the front of house, housekeeping, gardeners and the driver were so friendly and helpful. On arrival Anna explained everything we would want to know from sites to visit, the surrounding area, best beaches and places to eat. Nothing was any trouble at all and the driver was available in a moment to drive you to and from your unit snuggled into the hill. We had a car to get us around the island's towns and attractions which is a must if you don't want to take taxi's in Langkawi. The resort is secludedly tucked away in the forest but we were in flat walking distance to shops and wonderful restaurants and just over the road from a lovely uncrowded beach. The breakfast was cooked fresh as ordered in a relaxing dining/sitting area but there was options for in villa dining. Comfy beds and pillows and a sheet as well as the doona was much appreciated. We would recommend couples or families to stay at Ambong Ambong for a relaxing, unhurried and peaceful time.

Mary-Anne L.
Australia
May 13, 2016
Pure tranquility
This resort is located in the forest amongst the monkey and birds, with beautiful views from your room. If that isn't enough, than you have the amazing staff that go out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible. My husband and I have just spent our anniversary at Ambong Ambong and I can't thank them enough for making it so special.

rodney M.
Malaysia
May 09, 2016
Fantastic Holiday.
Staff was great helped with everything and more. Rooms very clean and well maintained. Fantastic view from our room. Was a very relaxing trip will return again.

Erik M.
Sweden
May 03, 2016
Labour day weekend
Great resort very friendly staff and very good location. And gives you a good exercise to walk up and down the stairs to the room :) The rainforest location is peaceful and quiet - still central and near to the beach. We will return on our next trip to Langkawi.

Zhenwei M.
Singapore
April 20, 2016
Superb Service!
I will definitely go back to Langkawi, just for this place! I like Ambong Ambong a lot, although I am not really a kind of person who enjoy nature because I am scary of some animals. I didn't feel scary here at all! Rather, I enjoy the trees, sea views, and monkeys jumping ups and downs! A fun experience while having breakfast on the balcony! I must say I can sit there for a whole day, enjoying the different scenes and sounds around. Most importantly, the staff there are the best! Nizam (if I spell correctly) is the guy who serve us mostly. He even prepared ice and mat for our picnic, picked up us in the heavy rain from the pier. Other staff (sorry I cannot recall all the names) are also always glad to help with anything. What else I can say? Everything is greatly appreciated! The owners are also nice persons! We are invited to have a drink with them and other guests on our last night. The Margarita is so nice! And I like the atmosphere that people from different countries chatting about human kind vs. machines, marriage and life, etc. ^^ That is the meaning of travelling! Bonus points: As a guest of Ambong Ambong, there is a discount at the Japanese restaurant and Spa just down the hill. They are good too!

Daniela D.
Germany
April 14, 2016
nice place
Very steep territory, a bit tiring to get back from the beach and to move on the premises.

EFFENDY E.
Malaysia
April 14, 2016
Love this place
Booked this place solely based on others reviews. Well...that's true guys..believe me.. Feeling so relax here with my wife..we enjoy it!!

Alei Z.
Malaysia
April 13, 2016
Superb
For those looking for quiet and privacy holiday, I would absolutely recommend here..

FAZIAHTUN O.
Malaysia
April 02, 2016
Anniversary
We are very happy to stay at Hotel Ambong Ambong Resort. The employees are very helpful and friendly as Ms. Sharena, En. Li & Malay women who served at the Coffee House is good, service is excellent and they are very concerned with guest there. Anyone who would like a vacation, honeymoon or wedding anniversary the day we recommend selecting this resort. Indeed very satisfied.