Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 1249 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1249 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 6.9
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.4
Sort by

Maizianatul A. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
next to holiday villa
confused as there was no signage of Federal Villa Beach resort
we were up and down the road looking for the hotel. Not knowing it was under the same roof of Holiday Villa. Our GPS showed icon of Federal and Holiday Villa next to each other. No signage of Federal Hotel at all!!! It was nice plan, nice room but and spacious rooms. Everything was okay but when we reached there was no electricity and was informed until 8pm. How sure that the electricity will be backed by that hour? Imagined there was no back- up power. As I have small kids we end up staying at Holiday Villa.
Reviewed October 08, 2012

walter P. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
Huge rooms
beach view
Camilla speaking here, Walters brother. We had seperate rooms as sister brother travelers. At first sight I wasn't that impressed but my ears hadn't popped after the flight from Singapore. Once I was more comfortable I did realise how lovely big and comfortable the the room are. Good size balcony with lawn and ocean views. I would go back.
Reviewed October 06, 2012

walter P. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
Terrific to have use of Holiday Villas facilities.
Big clean rooms.
Traveling with my sister (previous review). I have stayinged at Holiday Villas 4 times prior but went to for the more budget option. Knowing the hotels and area I requested one of the older buildings separate from the main Federal building and got want I wanted, 2 rooms next to each other. Beach and lawn views...just lovely.
Reviewed October 06, 2012

Shirley P. from Australia
Groups
Stayed 10 nights in September 2012
Great place for my family to stay, lovely pool
Central location, nice rooms, close to everything
Nice rooms, especially family rooms with 2 bedrooms etc. Double room OK also, enough room for mattress on floor, some rooms had day bed. Fridge in each room. Big pool, on the beach also. Lots of good restaurants over the road, also money changer and grocery store. Hired car and also bikes cheaply. Akl round good place to stay
Reviewed October 06, 2012

Nor M. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
WIFI not free
Near to beautiful beach
Spacious and clean room. Big swimming pool and near to the beach.
Reviewed October 05, 2012

winnie O. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great location but moderate room
Spacious
Connected to Holiday Villa. Good facilities, huge swimming pool and it's very nearby the beach. The hotel is also very near water sports and the jetty for Island Hopping. Transport provided for activities. Friendly staff and good service. However, the room isn't so appealing. Aircond leaks and toilet smells weird. Overall it was quite worth the money.
Reviewed October 05, 2012

SAIXIAN Z. from China
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Overall a great memorable experience
Spacious room, private beach, courteous service, free carpark, great location
We booked a deluxe room at Holiday Villa with garden view but was given one with sea view - which is better than what we expected. Room is very spacious and comes with a sofa which can actually comfortably fit for 3 persons. The room comes with a nice long balcony. There is no distinction between smoking and non-smoking rooms. However, the receptionist is very kind to arrange housekeeping to spray air refresher for us before we moved in. The room is generally clean and smells good but we found food stains on bedsheets and blanket covers - perhaps a more regular change or cleaning of bedsheets is required. Bathroom looks old but is clean and still tolerable. The flushing system for the toilet bowl needs a change. After using the toilet, you may have to pull the handle continuously for 12-15 times in order to flush the waste away. The hotel rooms are 1-2 minutes walk to the beach which is exclusively for the use of the hotel guests. The beach is nice but there are too many sharp objects including broken seashells, bottles, wires etc. which may cut your feet. Both my wife and I got both our foot cut after a few minutes of swim. The pathway easily got flooded after a few minutes of rain. You can expect to get your foot wet easily when returning to your room from outside. Carpark is free but Wifi is available at exorbitant charge. A free safe deposit box (of various sizes at your choice) is available at receptionist counter. Hotel staffs and security guards are very courteous and helpful and to my surprise, they speak fluent English. This hotel mets the expectation of a 3 to 3.5 star. Despite with some minor complaints, we are very happy with our stay here and we will be back again.
Reviewed October 02, 2012

Catherine B. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in September 2012
Great hotel in a beautiful location
Wonderful room within a short stroll to the beach. Staff were helpful and happy. Any maintenance problems were fixed within 15 minutes - e.g. fridge not working - had to turn the power on in a special place. Hairdryer requested and there immediately. Original room had twin beds together but when asked if we could change it to one king it was no problem. We had a wonderful stay and plan on going back.
breakfast at cactus is great value. we didn't eat at the hotel because there were so many other places to choose from. motor bike hire was cheap from t-shop.
Reviewed October 01, 2012

WONG K. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Convenient travel
Near food stalls and tourist spots
It is a clean hotel which is near to food stalls and tourist spots. There are a lot parking spaces with proper security. The facilities are good, e.g. Swimming pool, gym room, SPA centre, etc. the access to the beach is also walking distance.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sharon M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Great location but dirty room
Beach view
The service was nice, the view is beautiful, ..but the room was dirty.
Reviewed September 28, 2012