Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 4512 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 4512 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 6.2
Sort by

Yap K. from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
AWESOME
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME
Reviewed January 12, 2016

Selvaraj M. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Overrated hotel with underrated facilities
Location, Location & Location
We had a terrible experience! No.1 Room smells stale and musty badly needs refurbishing. No. 2 The shower knob came off while attempting to turn on and the hot water kept pouring instead of showering and the response time was like ages before the maintenance team arrived. No. 3 The balcony railing badly needs repair as the concrete support for the railing attachment has come loose and anybody leaning on it might fall off.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

SHAFFIEE A. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Jakarta / Malaysia family holiday
Near to city
overall is ok , but little tied due to the parking at basement and walking up and down is frustrating , the glasses at the restaurant not well clean during breakfast. The reception is not welcome the customer .The extra bed provided with very poor condition the spring very soft due to aging .
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Noraini A. from Singapore
Families with older children
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Disappointing......
Beautiful ocean view.
Was unable to get rooms at other 4-star hotel so ended up staying for 5nights here over the year-end holiday period. Was unimpressed with cleanliness; room was not vacuumed throughout our stay and even our used cups were unwashed on 2-different days. Bedsheets were never changed throughout our stay. Depleted toiletries and even coffee-tea were not replenished on daily basis. Mini-fridge was totally disgusting to use & the absence of in-room safe is an inconvenience. Even puddle of rainwater on our first day at balcony was not swept/dried for 4days that we're certain invited mosquitoes. Daily buffet breakfast was a letdown, limited & almost similiar everyday. Customer relation is lacking in staff that we felt not welcomed there..just imagine staff were not really friendly or approachable. We even never had the opportunity to meet up with any Duty/Front/Floor Manager there even though we spent time at the pool, beach, lobby & coffeeshop everyday. Will not go back again.
Reviewed January 06, 2016

how Y. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in January 2016
not that good
smelly bed
Reviewed January 06, 2016

Hansen S. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
It is good very clean and very memorable
Room, bath room, very clean and comfortable
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Scherezade S. from Bangladesh
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Disappointed
The rooms, distance from the city and view
The reception area is very well done and the front desk personnel efficient. The rooms were comfortable, but the bathrooms need renovations; the tiles are chipped, drain covers do not work. The overhead light in one of the bathrooms did not work over the period of our visit of three nights. Dirty dishes lay in the corridors all day. Bedsheets in one of the rooms were dirty and housekeeping was not available. The housekeeping personnel were overall very inefficient.
Reviewed January 05, 2016

Anila F. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Old, inconvenient and not maintained
Location
Less than average for the price we paid - it's old, not updated and badly maintained. Buffet breakfast was a waste of money, food wasn't fresh and the restaurant was smelly. We stayed three days and couldn't bring ourselves to go back for breakfast second and third day! Wash basin was clogged and service wasn't the best. Wifi didn't work and there is no lift access from the car park or from the front of the hotel. Older people and people with disabilities wouldn't be able to stay here...
Reviewed January 04, 2016

Angeline L. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in January 2016
Good place with affordable price and convenient lo
Location, have a beach, good and friendly staff
Overall was a good experience and enjoyed the Staff's warm welcome. I would like to thank the Reception staff (Devi) who checked me in and help me where necessary. Keep the good job. I've been frequenting Copthorne everytime I'm in Penang (consider myself a loyal customer). My parents were impressed with the bright lightings despite the hotel has been quite old itself.I will look forward to my future stay with some suggested improvements as following (as I understand it's due to old age of the hotel which causes maintenance to more difficult and some things just will not work out the way you would wish that it would) 1) Ensure the bathtub plumbing and water basins taps are working well (a customer would not want their feet soaked in the bathtub with dirty water while trying to shower and clean themselves) 2) keep the room well ventilated before arrival of guest, a little musky during our stay. But good strong air conditioning. 3) Better maintenance of the beach side, probably put some "solar lightings" along the beach area with some deck chairs. It is a lovely small beach which I don't mind sitting there and enjoy or even if its a little brightly lit at night..good place to catch a nature's night nap before the actual sleep :D Otherwise, it's an enjoyable stay. Good work keep it up!
Reviewed January 04, 2016

Fredinand F. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
The breakfast was only OK
The beach was clean
It was ok nothing to complain.
Reviewed January 04, 2016