arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.9
Based on 1915 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1915 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.5
  • Food/Dining 8.4

Peter R.
New Zealand
April 09, 2016
5*peope
Sometimes things go wrong even in 5* hotels. How it's handles is what makes the difference. The staff here did a triumphant job in turning what could have been a bad experience into an amazing one. Can't wait to go back

nicholas M.
United Kingdom
April 08, 2016
Fantastic time
We had a 5 day break at the E&O. All of us had a great time. The facilities were very good and good value for money considering it is a 5 star hotel. Great Happy Hours in the Farquahar bar and great 1 hour free flow in the evening. Rooms were very nice and spacious and more importantly very clean. The big difference between the E&O and other hotels i have recently staying is has been the service. From the time we arrived to the time we left the service was above and beyond. Look forward to going back some time

Rene M.
Switzerland
April 07, 2016
very nice hotel
we enjoy our stay

Temple S.
Australia
April 07, 2016
Fantastic hotel
Worth a trip to Georgetown just to stay at this hotel. Did not want to leave

Ng H.
Malaysia
April 06, 2016
Friendly staff/spacious room/good services
I had been staying at the Victoria annex one and a half years ago, when I checked in E & O again this April, the staff great me by saying "Welcome back to E & O" and upgraded my room to the corner suite! With a very spacious room, good sea view, complimentary evening cocktail, I and my family really have a very enjoyable time at E & O. Thank you!

Lien Y.
Singapore
April 05, 2016
Colonial style of stay
Stay was wonderful and comfortable. The hotel is well-maintained with well-kept lawn and facade. The breakfast spread has a good international selection including local delights like Roti Canai and Char Kway Teow both freshly prepared when you order. Hotel is a short walk to many cafes, bars and restaurants.

Suzanne R.
United States
April 03, 2016
The E & O is the best
Nice sized hotel and very well appointed. Staff is fabulous. The facilities are top drawer. Enjoyed cocktail reception every evening. Breakfast was gorgeous with many, many selections. Best hotel on the island!

ZHI L.
Malaysia
April 03, 2016
Fantastic
If you're looking for an unforgettable hotel stay experience , you've come to the right place .

Steven W.
United Kingdom
April 02, 2016
I stay in a lot of 5 star hotels in Asia and this is one of my favorite
Really loved this place. Great location and view. My room in the Heritage Wing overlooked the pool which was incredible. Convenient location for walking around George Towns sights and close to many bars and restaurants too. All staff from driver to reception to bar staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Spacious and beautiful rooms with everything you need and more but the mini bar is one of the least stocked I've seen in a long time.... Just 3 cans of soft drinks? No beer or other alcohol which i found odd. Nothing major but thought tv would be better placed in the bedroom than the sitting area as i imagine most people if they watch tv at all it would be in bed. Not much of an issue. Breakfast has a great choice and everything i tried was decent standard. Bar snacks and cocktails at the pool also very good. Highly recommended.

mark H.
Singapore
March 31, 2016
Review of E&O
Location, location, location
The hotel seems trying to retain the old world charm. But the furnishings are too old. It's well kept, but updated furnishings and amenities would be more welcome. The musty smell on the room was not pleasant. The food in the restaurants needs to be far better. There should be a clear separate halal and non-halal foods offered. Making all food halal just spoils the quality of the offerings.