arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.3
Based on 2618 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 2618 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.5
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.7

7.3 Loi L.
Singapore
August 17, 2015
Good location, nice room.
Next to shopping, very near to Gurney Drive hawker, sea view.
The hotel is located along Gurney Drive facing the sea with Gurney Plaza shopping mall beside it. There is another shopping mall on the other side. The hawker is just about 100m away where you can get all the local food in one place. Although the hotel is rated 5 star, it doesn't have any landscaping. The gym is pretty big and quite well equiped. The swimming pool is decent. The superior room is quite big and luxurious. Overall, had a good stay though the hotel rate is high.

8 Jacky T.
Singapore
August 16, 2015
Good hotel in a good location, but pricey
Location, amenities, service
Generally a good experience, but spoilt by poorly managed renovations at the lobby/reception area and other areas. Noise starts at 8am, preventing us from resting much. Noise in the lobby made us want to get out of the hotel asap. I think it might have affected the staff as well... Their service seems less attentive than one can expect from such a hotel.

8.7 Boon L.
Singapore
August 14, 2015
One of the high-end hotels in GeorgeTown
Breakfast Spread was good, superb location, excellent service staff
While the hotel was a tad pricey, it was worth it as it is just right in the smack of 2 big shopping malls. Room was clean and spacious for a superior room. Loved the fantastic view from the gym. swmming pools are great for kids too! The only downside was the ongoing renovation in their main lobby which was noisy, but did not affect the rooms. Their hotel staff delivered good service too, except the security guards who were less approachable. Overall, my family had an enjoyable experience and would try out their newer sister hotel, G Hotel Kelawi, during my next visit.

9 Yohana W.
Indonesia
August 13, 2015
Could be improve but mostly is good
Location, room size, friendly staffs
Check in was a breeze. But then our room is not yet ready, I don't know why since we didn't arrive too early. I think my room is dusty because I kept sneezing, especially around the nook where the 'office' is. Unfortunately I slept on an extra bed there. And they didn't give us towels ! Then the next day I was suprise because when I returned to our room from sightseeing I found our room wasn't yet made up. Later I found out because my Dad accidentally pressed the 'do not disturb' sign. So yes this time is our own mistake. But then we kept waiting but our laundry which suppose to come back to us at night never come back. I called the housekeeper and they said because we press the 'do not disturb' sign again but I checked we didn't. I don't get it. They could have call us. Anyway we get our laundry back not at 8 PM but morning the next day. All of the staffs are super friendly though. And do try their Japanese restaurant. I was in Japan a week before and this Japanese restaurant really bring back memory. They taste and look just like back in Japan. Location of this hotel is also great, next to two malls so finding food is quite easy. Right before we go home, they are doing noisy renovations which I like because I think they need it. Try their gym as well. Awesome because complete and it has sea view.

10 LEONG K.
Malaysia
August 12, 2015
I will sure be back again and waiting for staying
Comfortable, Clean and Good for Staying, for sure I will be back when I have time for my holidays to come again! Looking forward to my next trip there to stay again!
Excellent

10 Michael V.
Australia
August 12, 2015
Lovely room great view and close to shops
Room was lovely and the hotel close to all shops which was very handy. The eating was good and a geat varience of options made the stay even better. Location is excellent and well presented.
One of the most memorable of our holidays and well worth the money it cost. As they say location is the key to a successful business model and the GHotel certainly has that. Great hospitally and amenities such as the fantastic pool and exercise areas does take this hotel to another level and when the dining area is finished I would not stay anywhere else as the G has a personal touch I cannot find anywhere else

9.3 CHIA H.
Singapore
August 11, 2015
Good Location with great service
Location, Service, Facilities.
Great, 2nd stay with G Hotel Gurney. Location is great, in between of 2 big malls. 3 mins walk you can have local hawker food which open during dinner time. We book the executive room which can access to the executive lounge for breakfast as well as complimentary evening cocktail. Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Penang.

9.3 Sai L.
Singapore
August 11, 2015
Family Hols
location and upgrading of room
Good. Of our two rooms one was upgraded. A staff on check out remembered me from our previous stay.

6 Chi L.
United States
August 10, 2015
OK hotel
decor, bathroom, staff

9.7 KHASIAH R.
Indonesia
August 09, 2015
Good location
Clean, good , excellent
comfortable stay at this hotel