arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015

Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang

Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang, Malaysia 11100

Excellent 8.1
Based on 1843 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1843 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Staff Performance 8.2
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8

7.7 chung S.
Malaysia
December 12, 2015
Nice hotel
Room beach and dining
Very good

7.7 Suzanne F.
United States
December 12, 2015
Pleasant hotel by the beach
Comfy bed and service
Upon arriving I felt a little disappointed by the older condition of the hotel and especially the cost that went with it. However the service was so good that as time passes I cared less about my opinion at the beginning. All of the employees greeted us and ensured our comfort. The pool is very nice and it was enjoyable sitting in the lounge chairs. The beach is not the best and we didn't enter the water due to the jellyfish. The room was cozy and the balcony facing the sea was a plus. Breakfast offered lots of options and was very nice. Overall we had a fantastic stay.

6 Rachel W.
Malaysia
December 11, 2015
Not bad
Clean, staff friendliness? Good environment
Good

5 Ali A.
Saudi Arabia
December 11, 2015
Need lots of improvement
Location
Not bad

6.7 Saratha M.
Malaysia
December 11, 2015
A pleasant stay
Private beach
Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Upon check-in, no one helped with our luggage as there were too many guests. The room was not very big but had a great view, overlooking the sea. There was a variety of food for breakfast but unfortunately, almost nothing was tasty. The pools were great though.

7.7 Jocelyn W.
Singapore
December 11, 2015
Great hotel for families with kids who love the b
lovely swimming pool, great beach and view and friendly staff.
Everyone had a lot of fun. Ideal for families with children.

8.3 Tin T.
Singapore
December 11, 2015
confortable and relaxing
cleanliness, staff service and friendliness
when we checked in, one of our rooms was not ready. We had booked 3. But shortly afterwards, the hotel staff called us to inform it is ready. Later on, there was a note of well wishes with a basket of fruits on our table. Other than this, the stay was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and greeted us. The breakfast was good. We especially like the bed. It was comfortable and clean. Overall, ambiance was great.

5.3 edwin N.
New Zealand
December 11, 2015
Disappointed
the beach, the staff and the hallway airconditioning
1980s designed rooms, with shower over bath nonsense, small rooms, smelly and mouldy shower curtains, most housekeeping staff are foreign workers who speak minimal english, hotel is definitely not worth the money. very busy tourist class hotel, belongs in the 3 star category. on the plus side the staff are friendly and the breakfast is passable. the swimming pool is great, lots of lounge chairs, beach is awesome in terms of location but seawater is almost black with dirt. will be choosing the rasa sayang next time i am in penang

9 Man H.
Hong Kong
December 11, 2015
Nice beach view
The location is good. There are good beach view, I can see the sunset over the beach. I order the food inside the hotel, the price is reasonable with a good quality food.
I love there so much.

9.3 NIZAMUDIN H.
Malaysia
December 10, 2015
A relaxing family holiday
The layout of the hotel, the food and the pool!
Stayed with my hubs, an active toddler and a baby and we enjoyed our stay. It was meant to be a relaxing holiday, and it was just that! We ordered room service (food was great and delivery time was quick). We had a good time lazying around the pool area, ordering food which was yummy! The best thing is we got discount for every time we ordered food. All in all, a great resort for family!